Lance Yonge, Nick Cooper, Dave Marcuccilli, Dan Searles And Nick Werner Take Wins On Winged Warrior Night At The New Cayuga County Speedway; Open Tire Rule For Sportsman July 17

Date: 7/11/2011 10:27:41 PM

Lance Yonge, Nick Cooper, Dave Marcuccilli, Dan Searles And Nick Werner Take Wins On Winged Warrior Night At The New Cayuga County Speedway; Open Tire Rule For Sportsman July 17
WEEDSPORT, NY – July 10, 2011 (By Dave Medler/ Dean Reynolds) – Lance Yonge who used to race Modifieds early in his career at the New Cayuga County Speedway made his trip to the Weedsport oval pay off Sunday night as he won the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprint 25 lap A Main on Winged Warriors night.
Other winners Sunday night were, Dave Marcuccilli Pit Stop Convenience Stores Sportsman, Nick Cooper Pizza Logs 600 Sprint Tour, Dan Searles Stock Cars and Nick Werner Four Cylinder Stocks.
Yonge led from the drop of the green but the win was anything but easy as he held off repeated challenges from Jason Barney and lapped traffic actually losing the lead for a lap on his way to his first victory since August of last year.
At the drop of the green flag Yonge got the jump on Barney but the race was quickly red flagged when Dylan Swiernik lost a wheel and with the field checking up Shayne Ely had contact with another car and ended up rolling over in turn three. That red flag was the only time any light other than green we to be used for the A-Main.
On the restart Yonge again got the lead over Barney and held to plan by sticking to the bottom. With the preferred line taken, Barney’s Schneider Packaging #87 tried to use a higher lane in turn three to make his moves.
“I saw Jason (Barney) up there, he had a good run on me a few times especially when we got to the lapped cars.” Yonge noted. “But, If I could get off the corners, especially turn four I thought I would be ok.”
Barney’s lane did work as he took over the lead when lap 13 was scored but Yonge got him back going into turn one. After that Yonge seemed to get through the slower cars just a little bit quicker and on to the important win.
“We needed this, it’s been a tough start to the season but tonight it all worked out. The car was good, the motor ran well, we didn’t have any troubles at all.” Yonge said. ‘To win at one of my home tracks where I ran a modified and to have so many friends here makes it mean even more.”
For Barney, the second place finish was welcomed as well. He was to tackle the full ESS tour for the first time but a hurt motor in the very first event put a damper on the plans.
“It just feels good to even finish a race, but to finish second to Lance means we had a good race.” said the quiet Brewerton, NY chauffeur. “I think we even might have had a better car. I could get runs on him, especially turn three but when my front wing broke I really had no chance after that.”
However, there was smiles afterwards in the Barney camp. “It’s still a very good run for us, to have my sponsors and friends here makes it special. We will get on the tour here and see if we can keep the luck going.”
It was a quiet third place finish for Jeff Cook with the battle up front but it was big monkey off his back. Cook had tour championship hopes back in April…what has transpired was a string of bad luck and bad finishes. This was his first top five all year.
“I’m not going to lie, the confidence was taking a hit. I was going to be happy just to go over the scales for once (ESS weighs the top 5 after the A-Main).” said the driver of the Northcountry Welding #10. “To actually go to victory lane in third was a bonus. It has been just a horrible year and I just hope this will get us going.”
Shawn Donath and Steve Poirier rounded out the top five. The next five were Chuck Hebing, who holds a slim lead over Donath in the overall point fight, Charlie Donk, Matt Tanner, Tommy Wickham and Jared Zimbardi.
For the second week in a row the Pizza Logs 600 Sprint Tour put on a great show. Two-three wide racing was found throughout the feature field. Nick Cooper and Mark Tychoniewicz had a battle royal at the front of the pack running nose to tail and side by side battling through lapped traffic.
After hounding Cooper, Tychoniewicz made a pass for the lead and looked like he was heading for a narrow win, but a late caution spelled the difference in the race. On the restart it appeared Tychoniewicz missed a shift that let cooper get by and go on to win. , Tyler Walker, Mark Tychoniewicz, Mike Livechi and Ben Kyser rounded out the top-five.
Dave Marcuccilli made a bold move at the start of the 25 lap Pit Stop Convenience Stores Sportsman feature. Marcuccili darted from the second row and had the lead by time the field reached the first turn on the opening lap. Once in the lead Marcuccilli out ran Tim Sears Jr. to the checkers. Tim Schneider, Jim Spano and Justin Wright finished third through fifth.
Dan Searles held off early challenges from Andy Fisk till Fisk ran into mechanical problems that sidelined him. Late in the going Searles outran Mike Welch for the 15 lap Stock Car win. Joe Reeves, Tim Hettis and Nate Peckham rounded out the top-five.
In the 15 lap Four Cylinder Stock feature Jerry Herbert looked to be heading to victory lane till 3 laps to go when his right front collapsed ending his bid for the win. Over the remaining laps Nick Werner put his No.I1 in the winner’s circle. Jeremy Werner, James Werner, Bill Werner, Tom Weaver, Jerry Herbert and Karl Werner chased Nick Werner across the line.
Next Sunday July 17 it will be Family Autograph Night. The Pizza Logs Big Block Modifieds return on Patriot Tank Lines Night. Also on the race card will be the Pit Stop Convenience Stores Sportsman, Stock Cars and Four Cylinder Stocks.
The Sportsman will have an open tire rule this Sunday. You can run Hoosiers or American Racers, Steel or aluminum wheels. Steel wheel cars will get a 50 pound weight break.
(LUCAS OIL EMPIRE SUPER SPRINTS) – LANCE YONGE, Jason Barney, Jeff Cook, Shawn Donath, Steve Poirier, Chuck Hebing, Charlie Donk, Matt Tanner, Tommy Wickham, Jared Zimbardi, Alain Bergeron, Bryan Howland, Mike Stelter, Paul Habeck, Dave Wickham, Kevin Ward Jr., Cory Sparks, Jared Fink, Tyler Rand, Michael Parent, Dylan Swienik, Shayne Ely.
(PIZZA LOGS 600 SPRINT TOUR) – NICK COOPER, Tyler Walker, Mark Tychoniewicz, Mike Livechi, Ben Kyser, Alysha Ruggles, Kevin Carlson, Dan Kuhn, Megan Allen, Matt Smith, Joe Trenca, Dan Naegele, Keith Gramholm, David Ferguson, Matt Franham, Alex Mosher, Tyler Hill, Darren Flowers, AJ Bogino, Dan Knoll, Adam Brum, Cody Shurgot.
(PIT STOP CONVENIENCE STORES SPORTSMAN) – DAVE MARCUCCILLI. Tim Sears Jr., Tim Schneider, Jim Spano, Justin Wright, Tom Juhl, Ben Wheeler, Fran Hilton, Justin Thompson, Scott Ford, Brian Freese.
(STOCK CARS) – DAN SEARLES, Mike Welch, Joe Reeves, Tim Hettis, Nate Peckham, Andy Fisk.
(FOUR CYLINDER STOCKS) – NICK WERNER, Jeremy Warner, James Werner, Bill Werner, Tom Weaver, Jerry Herbert, Karl Werner.

Return-to-Cayuga County Fair Speedway News and Results