Fireworks Ready For Rolling Wheels Only Super DIRTcar Series Stop On July 4

Date: 6/12/2010 1:21:00 PM

Fireworks Ready For Rolling Wheels Only Super DIRTcar Series Stop On July 4
Come for the races, stay for the fanfare in Empire State’s famous Finger Lakes Region
Weedsport, NY – June 12, 2010 – Independence Day comes around only once a year and on July 4 this season Rolling Wheels Raceway Park is slated to host its lone 100-lapper for the mighty Big-Block Modifieds in a fireworks-filled Sunday night shootout.
The Super DIRTcar Series ‘Stars & Stripes 100’ at Rolling Wheels will provide both racers and fans the perfect getaway to spend their holiday vacation in New York State’s world famous Finger Lakes Region, as the biggest Modified event of 2010 at the storied Elbridge oval takes center stage during the festive Fourth of July celebration. Race time is 6 p.m.
The Stars & Stripes finale at Rolling Wheels will be round number seven in the 2010 Super DIRTcar Series with racers converging on the ‘Fast Track’ from Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Canada looking to carry on the holiday tradition in the backyard of DIRTcar Northeast.
Centrally located in the heart of DIRTcar country, the list of 100-lap feature winners at Rolling Wheels encompasses the best Big-Block chauffeurs ever to ply their trade in the region’s grassroots stock car division. From inaugural victor ‘Wiley Will’ Cagle to last year’s titlist ‘Super Matt’ Sheppard, 23 drivers have taken checkered flags in the century grinds run almost annually since 1971.
Cagle recorded all eight of his 100-lap wins during the 1970s, while Sheppard joined Northeast Modified Hall of Famer Chuck Akulis with his only victory scored in a rain-shortened event. Akulis was declared the winner just past the halfway mark in the 52-lap Petrocci Memorial run in 1980 while Sheppard only needed to complete 68 laps to earn the lucrative World Series Weekend triumph in autumn of 2009.
Legendary pilot Mert ‘Socks’ Hulbert tallied his 100-lap wins in back-to-back fashion while Jack Johnson copped three of the five century shows held in 1979. Bob McCreadie (2000), Brett Hearn (2002) and Alan Johnson (2003, ‘06) even hold the distinction of winning races that were extended beyond the scheduled 100-lap distance following late race yellow flags.
All-time RWR 100-lap feature win leader Jack Johnson joins McCreadie, Hearn, Alan and Danny with victories posted during three different decades, while ‘Jumpin’ Jack (1979-80) and ‘Barefoot’ Bob (1993-94) share the track mark with four straight wins in the marquee events staged at the ‘Fast Track.’
Alan and Danny Johnson are also the only brothers to cop 100-lap main events at The Wheels, with Bob and Tim McCreadie the lone father/son tandem to perform the feat. To this day, the ‘Canadian Blast’ Davey Moore remains the one driver from north of the border to pocket first-place cash after outlasting eventual 100-lap winner Jimmy Horton in the Syracuse qualifier run over the Bicentennial.
Who will be the next driver to find his niche in Rolling Wheels’ exclusive 100-lap club on the Fourth of July? Will it be one of today’s touring stars, an outside invader in search of the $6,000 payday, or a local talent pulling off the biggest upset of his career? The answer will come in less than a month when the mighty Modifieds arrive for their biggest event of the year in Elbridge.
Adult general admission grandstand tickets for the Stars and Stripes 100 are $22 each, Senior Citizens (65 yrs + over) $20, Students (10-18 yrs) $9 and Children (9 yrs. + under) Free. A special Family 4-Pack ---2 adult & 2 student GA tickets, 4 hot dogs or 4 hamburgers, 4 soft drinks--- is the best deal going at $50 apiece.
For more super DIRTcar Series information, contact DIRTcar Racing Northeast Director of Competition & Track Sanctioning Joe Skotnicki (704/796-4566) or log into for additional news & notes. Be sure to sign up on and receive updates anywhere at anytime. The speedway office can be reached by phoning 315/834-6606 and the track website is
All-Time 100-Lap Big-Block Modified Feature Winners (1971-2009)                                
Wins   Driver                          First                Last
13        Jack Johnson            7/4/73             9/4/95
12        Bob McCreadie        6/18/85           9/4/00
11        Brett Hearn                7/4/83             9/7/09
9          Alan Johnson 7/4/80             9/4/06
8          Will Cagle                  7/21/71           6/19/79
6          Danny Johnson          6/19/84           7/4/00
3          Tim Fuller                   7/5/04             7/4/05
2          Mert Hulbert               8/12/75           6/22/76
2          Kenny Brightbill         9/4/72             6/21/77
2          Merv Treichler            9/13/74           8/13/84
2          Steve Paine               9/5/88             8/20/00
1          Budd Olsen                7/4/72
1          Davey Moore             8/10/76          
1          Tommy Hager            8/9/77
1          Jimmy Horton            6/20/78          
1          Frank Cozze              9/4/78
1          Chuck Akulis              9/1/80
1          Dave Lape                 7/5/82
1          Gary Iulg                     9/6/82
1          Kenny Tremont          6/23/87          
1          Tim McCreadie         7/4/01
1          Gary Tomkins            9/5/05
1          Matt Sheppard          9/26/09          
DIRTcar Racing Northeast main office is located in Weedsport, New York on the Cayuga County Fairgrounds, home of DIRTcar All-Star Weekend in July. DIRTcar Northeast’s crown jewel event ---Super DIRT Week at the New York State Fairgrounds in Syracuse runs annually in October featuring Hoosier Tire-VP Racing Fuels Mr. DIRTcar Championship Series events for Big-Block Modified, 358-Modified, Sportsman and Pro Stock divisions. Ticket and schedule information is available by contacting the Weedsport office (315/834-6606) during the day or logging into and anytime.
The Big-Block Super DIRTcar Series is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Hoosier Racing Tire and VP Racing Fuels Promotional partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio and Chizmark & Larson Insurance, and contingency sponsors are Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Ignition, Penske Shocks,, Racing Electronics, Vicci Racing Apparel and Wrisco Industries

Return-to-Rolling Wheels Speedway News and Results