Date: 7/3/2011 4:11:57 PM

July 1, 2011
By Jim Dutko
FRANKLIN PA.. On a week where our country celebrates its independence, H&H Motorsports Tri-City Speedway had some "Big" celebrations going off in victory lane. Picking up the feature wins are: Dan Stone (4 Your Car Connection ULMS Super Late Models), Brent Rhebergen (M&D Paving E-Mods), Jackson Humanic (Northwestern Heating Open Pro-Stocks), and Jace Ferringer (R.K. Virgile Thunder Cars).

The first feature of the night was the ULMS Super Late Model Firecracker tour. Leading the field to the green was the 2007 World of Outlaw Labor Day Classic winner Dan Stone and the pride of Cooperstown Wally Fox. At the green it was Stone breaking out on top, by Lap 5 Stone had over a 4 second lead on Mike Knight. With the track very heavy and FAST some drivers had some problems with overheating during the event causing some attrition. The first caution of the race came out for Bud Phillips who made contact with Darrel Bossard in turn 4, then Denton Boyer went up in smoke ending his evening. On the restart the was contact in the middle of the field resulting in a 4 car accident on the front stretch with Matt Lux, Chris Hackett, Pete Alspawgh, and John Lob. On the restart Russell King started coming to life moving into a strong third position. Also on the move was 2011 WoO rookie of the year contender Ron Davies coming to fifth by lap 9. There were two more cautions slowing
the field during the race for Fox spinning and Brent Rhebergen broke on lap 14. On the restart a battle would ensue between Davies and Bump Headman with the two trading positions each lap for the next 7 laps. At the finish it was "Big Brother" Dan Stone winning the race by over 6.2 seconds over Knight, King, Davies and Headman. To say that the track was fast is an understatement with Stone turning his fastest lap of the night lap #8 feature at 17.687 which is over 102 mph average! Rob Blair, Stone and Fox won the 3 heats over the 22 car field.

The coming to the speedway was the Northwestern Heating Open Pro-Stocks with Cutis J Bish and Dave Baker on the front row. On the Green it was Bish leading the first lap until Jackson Humanic would take the lead the next lap. As the race continued it looked as though it was going to be a classic battle between Humanic and Randy Wyant. This battle would end early as Wyant broke on lap 6 leaving Humanic to win the race. Following him to the finish was Bob Sloss, Tom Fox, Dave Ferringer, and Bish. Heat race winner was Wyant. In victory lane Humanic said a "special thanks to Wally Fox for sponsoring this division and the track for providing a great place to race each and every week. We have been just a tick off and tried everything and tonight we finally hit the right set-up." With the win and double points for the night he took over the point lead by only4 points.

Next the M & D Paving E-Mods came the surface for their 15 lap feature. On the start it was Carl McKinney and John Boardman leading the field. The first yellow would come out early as Rich Michael Jr. and Ron Roncaglione would spin in turn 1. On the restart it was Brent Rhebergen on the move to second and then taking the lead for good on lap 3. The last caution came out after David Atkinson made contact with Boardman and spinning down front stretch. At the finish it was Rhebergen winning is 50th E-Mod win at Tri-City Speedway!! Rounding out the top 5 was Shawn Shingledecker, McKinney, Ron Roncaglione, and Andy Buckley. Rich Michael Jr., and Rhebergen won the heat races. With the win it made the 6th different winner in six races! Who will be the first to repeat? Rhebergen said in Victory Lane" I think we will keep having different winners for a while the competition here is the best in anywhere". When asked about the win total he said "this is just amazing to say I won 50
E-Mods races here at Tri-City, wow! I have to thank everybody that I have raced for there have been some great owners that let me do what I love".

Rounding out the evening it was the R.K. Virgile Thunder Cars with their 12 lap feature. It was Josh Seippel and Patrick Fielding on the front row. Leading the first lap was fourth place starter Jace Ferringer taking control and never looked back in the non-stop race. Following Ferringer to the finish was Seippel, Fielding, Rod Laskey, and Curtis J Bish. Ferringer continued his dominance of the class with his 4th career feature event. Can anybody beat Ferringer and Charlie McMillen?

Next Friday Night, July 8, will see a Meet and Greet the Super Late Models along with the FASTRAK Late Models, E-Mods, Open Pro-Stocks and Thunder Cars. Gates open at 5:30 Hot Laps at 6:45 and Racing at 7:30. General admission for ages 13+ is just $10 and Kids under 12 will be admitted FREE.

Tri-City Speedway is owned and operated by H&H Motorsports, which has promoted
racing at the popular facility since in 2009. In 2011, Tri-City will host Friday night
competition featuring the Super Late Models, FASTRAK Late Models, E- Mods, Open
Pro Stocks and Thunder Cars at the Venango County half-mile dirt oval. Tri-City is
located seven miles north of Franklin, Pa., off State Route 417.

ULMS FIRECRACKER TOUR SUPER LATE MODELS (30 Laps): 1. DAN STONE, 2. Mike Knight, 3. Russell King, 4. Ron Davies, 5. Bump Headman, 6. Dick Barton, 7. John Lobb, 8. Jason Dupont, 9. Pete Asbawgh, 10. Wally Fox, 11. Darrell Bossard, 12. Rob Blair, 13. Alex Feree, 14. Chad Valone, 15. Brent Rhebergen, 16. Chris Hackett, 17. Matt Lux, 18. Andy Boozel, 19. Denton Boyer, 20. Derek Frank, 21. Bud Phillips, 22. David Scott

E-MODS (15 Laps): 1. BRENT RHEBERGEN, 2. Shawn Shingledecker, 3. Carl McKinney, 4. Ron Roncaglione, 5. Andy Buckley, 6. Mike Eschrich, 7. Clayton Kennedy, 8. Jim Frontz, 9. John Boardman, 10. Mike Potosky, 11. David Atkinson, 12. Dustin Eckman, 13. Rich Michael Jr, 14. Matt Lux, DNS: Tim Peterson

OPEN PRO-STOCKS (15 Laps): 1. JACKSON HUMANIC, 2. Bob Sloss, 3. Tom Fox, 4. Dave Ferringer, 5. Curtis Bish, 6. Dan Lewis, 7. Dave Baker, 8. Chad O'Brien, 9. Randy Wyant, DNS: Bruce Smith

THUNDER CAR (12 Laps): 1. JACE FERRINGER, 2. Josh Seippel, 3. Patrick Fielding, 4. Rod Laskey, 5. Curtis E Bish, 6. Garrett Calvert

Return-to-Tri-City Speedway News and Results