Oswego Classic up Next for Hoosier Tire ATQMRA

Date: 8/30/2015 11:05:41 PM

August 30, 2015

For Immediate Release
Blu Metz





Oswego Classic up Next for Hoosier Tire ATQMRA

By Blu Metz:  August 30, 2015;

Next up for the American Three Quarter Midget Racing Association is a trip north to the Steel Palace Oswego Speedway for the Bud Light Super Saturday in their part of the International Classic at the fabled speedway. With the season winding down each point race remaining is increasingly important in determining the season long Champions of the organization. Buddy Sload rides a hat trick of three in a row and the points lead heading into

Oswego. Ryan Tidman sits second in the standings and was the winner at Oswego when the ATQMRA was there on June 13. A host of invaders will be challenging the ATQMRA regulars in the Classic.


Sload holds a 32 point lead heading into the Classic at the SteelPalace. Ryan Tidman is within striking distance but needs to make up ground over the final races of the season to earn another club title. Geoffrey Sutton, 2014 ATQMRA Rookie of the year sits third with a mathematical chance at the championship but in reality its pretty much a two horse race between Sload and Tidman.


Sload will carry the momentum of winning each of the last three races into Borger's Speedway on July 11th and pocketed the first ever feature win on the inner flat oval at Wall Stadium. He backed up his win on Wall's inner oval with another Victory on August 22nd over a hard charging Geoffrey Sutton.


Sutton has had a hot hand across the last three races dominating the action at Borger's on the 11th only to loose the lead on a late restart. He followed that up by leading the most laps at the inaugural race on the flat track at Wall only to loose the power plant. Again on the 22nd Sutton led until lap 21 of 25 when he lost the brakes and succumbed to Sload's race long pressure. After three front running efforts only to come up short Sutton is hungry to park the Metz Racing 46 in Victory lane.


Matt Roselli has quietly been running at the front of the pack notching a third place finish at Wall and a fourth at Borger's and has historically been fast at Oswego where his brother Michael owns a Feature win in a Midget with the NEMA midget organization. Matthew has been extremely fast on Oswego's inner loop but hasn't been able to be there at the end to get the win. Roselli will surely be in contention when the TQ Midgets put the wings on to hit the SteelPalace.


Joey Bailey sits fifth in the standings and will be hungry to improve on his first trip to Oswego by one position. He finished second to Flying Ryan Tidman that day and wants to add the prestigious Classic Trophy to his mantle.


Hot Rod Jon Gambutti will be back behind the wheel of the Alan Mollot 51 Badger at the Classic. Jon is a Supermodified veteran and a past ATQMRA Champion and consistent winning driver on the tour. He is looking for his first win of the season. The car he is driving surely knows the way to Victory lane in the Classic. Don Adams the perennial ATQMRA Champion a decade ago wheeled the 51 to Victory in the ATQMRA's inaugural Classic. Joey Payne, also a past ATQMRA Champion and an established Supermodified and Midget Star also parked the Mollot 51 in Victory lane in the Classic. He also owns a Midget Classic Victory and is looking to complete the cycle and add a wingless Supermodified Classic victory to his impressive resume.


The rookie battle between Mike Glaser and Patrick Force is only separated by 24 points as we head into the Classic. The two tangled at Oswego in June and heated up the battle for top rookie honors.


Limited Super Modified Star Ray Sand Jr. will try his luck in the TQ Classic once again in his Laffler Chassis Mount. Nick Ladyga also in a Laffler car will make his third start of the season at Oswego after posting top five finishes in his first two starts. Chiropractor Greg Richardson of Rochester, NY will be making the trip back to his hometown of Oswego to compete with the ATQMRA in the Classic for the second season. He is expected to be in a different car than he raced at the June race sporting the former Justin Mapes ride that won the NYPA Midget titles in 03 and 04.


2014 ATQMRA Champion Matt Janisch is making his return to the Classic with his 13 inch car for the Classic. Janisch is always a threat to visit victory lane and hopes to add another Oswego win to his resume. Janisch won the club opener at Mahoning Valley where the club has one more race on October 24th, also winning at Borger's Speedway and the Open race at Chapel Hill Speedway in New York earlier in the summer.  



ATQMRA News and Notes: The pair of Pat VanVarick cars is scheduled to make their appearance at Oswego after some strong runs on the flat tracks. Both the TQ and 600 are expected to run the Classic. Dylan Martin has been learning the ropes in the number 17 Hyper Hugger TQ. This past Monday 2014 ATQMRA Rookie of the year Geoffrey Sutton returned to his roots by racing on the dirt at the West End Fairgrounds where he won regularly in quarter midget competition with a ride in the Fred Delibero Micro Stock where he once again found his way to Victory Lane. 34 different drivers have earned points with the ATQMRA in 2015. The drivers include 4 past ATQMRA Champions, 4 ATQMRA Rookies of the year, and drivers with experience and Championships in every division ranging from quarter midgets and Go Karts to Midgets, SpeedSTR's, SuperModifieds, Street Stocks, Sprint cars, Dirt and Pavement Late models and Modified's, Legends cars, Micro Sprints and a drag racer or two sprinkled in for good measure.

2015 ATQMRA Hoosier Tire Points Standings

  1. Buddy Sload  716
  2. Ryan Tidman  684
  3. Geoff Sutton  624
  4. Matt Roselli  600
  5. Joey Bailey  492
  6. Mike Glaser  468
  7. Patrick Force  444
  8. Pat VanVarick  284
  9. Don Zrinski  260
  10. Matt Janisch  244
  11. Rob Vivona  236
  12. Mark Rogers  232
  13. Mark Yoder  196
  14. Avery Stoehr  172
  15. Larry Hoagland  160
  16. Nick Ladyga  160
  17. Jeff Kot  156
  18. Ronnie Mullen  152
  19. Chad Parks  116
  20. Shawn McCaughey  100
  21. Dylan Martin  92
  22. Jon Gambuti  92
  23. Steve Whitt  80
  24. Alison Cumens  80
  25. Alex Greenzweig  72
  26. Chad Jones  68
  27. Kerry Irwin  60
  28. Jordan Tittle  60
  29. BJ Mcdonald  60
  30. Kurt Bettler  60
  31. Brianna Page  56
  32. Bill Force Jr.  52
  33. Brett Conklin  44
  34. Darren Schuler  32




Remaining 2015 Race Schedule

Saturday, September 5
Oswego Speedway

Saturday, September 19  
Wall Stadium Speedway

Saturday, October 24
Mahoning Valley Speedway


Saturday, November 28
Wall Stadium Speedway TURKEY DERBY