Rookie Battle Tight at the Top of the Standings

Date: 10/4/2015 11:34:50 PM

October 4, 2015

For Immediate Release
Blu Metz



Rookie Battle Tight at the Top of the Standings

By: Blu Metz
October 4, 2015

The coveted ATQMRA Rookie of the Year Battle has come down to a two driver race between Mike Glaser and Patrick Force. The pair are separated by 28 points with one points race on the schedule at Mahoning Valley Speedway in Lehighton, Pa on Saturday October 24th with the Vintage TQ midgets on the card. The overall Points championship will be decided at Mahoning between Ryan Tidman and Buddy Sload who are separated by only four points. The season finale is the Turkey Derby at Wall Stadium Thanksgiving weekend.


The rookie racers at the top of the standings vying for the coveted 2015 ATQMRA Rookie of the Year Title come from divergent backgrounds. Mike Glaser who is leading the rookie standings first turned a lap on an oval last fall at Borger's Speedwy in a TQ midget after a long and successful NHRA Drag Racing career. Force's first laps in a TQ midget also came at Borger's Speedway a few years ago but he comes from a family background that has a heritage of oval track racing that goes back to his father Bill Force Sr. the racing Artist who heads the American Three Quarter Midget Vintage Association. Both drivers made their first laps in Metz Racing cars.


The pair of rookies is of divergent ages. Force who is an avid hunter graduated high school in 2011 while Glaser has college age children.


Patrick spent time in his formative years in Quarter Midgets on the Dirt track at ATCO and later did some Vintage "Racing" with the ATQMVC before purchasing a TQ midget to contend for ATQMRA Rookie of the year honors. He is teamed with his Brother Bill Jr. who recently purchased a sister car to Patrick's Drinan Chassis. Force led the rookie standings for the early part of the season but fell behind as a result of a few weeks of bad luck. He remains within striking distance of Glaser with only one race remaining sitting 28 points back. That works out to 7 positions on the track to earn a tie. Force's plans for 2016 remain uncertain.


Mike Glaser who is a drag racer at heart with a very competitive drive is trying to learn the oval track racing trade. Glaser saw his first TQ midget race at the Battle of Trenton in 2014 and contacted Metz Racing through mutual friend Andy Simon Jr. and started racing the Metz Racing F8 toward the end of the 2014 season at a handful of races at the now defunct Borger's Speedway. Glaser decided he wanted to pursue the ATQMRA rookie of the year title in 2015. After missing the season opener Glaser made up for lost ground quickly and overtook Force in the season long race at Oswego where the pair made contact with Force getting the short end of the stick. The rivalry heated up that day but Force and Glaser have not only been racers on the track but have become friends off of it. Glaser's on track highlight of the season was a fourth place finish at the First sanctioned race at Borgers where he survived to just miss a podium finish. Glaser says jokingly he intends to continue racing TQ midgets as long as Metz Racing will put up with him as a driver.          


Mark Yoder sits third in the Rookie standings but only ran a limited number of races with the ATQMRA in 2015. Yoder is a seasoned veteran in the world of Micro Sprint racing.


Pat VanVarrick sits fourth in the standings. VanVarrick is a seasoned veteran in many divisions of racing including Modified stock cars but changed his focus to the smaller lightening fast open wheel pavement cars to race at Borgers speedway with success over the years earning numerous wins. He had a season best finish on the flat track at Wall rolling across the line second.


Ron Mullen sits fifth in the Rookie standings and is similarly not a true Rookie having earned his stripes in the Stock car divisions of Wall Stadium.  Each of these drivers will be able to carry rookie eligibility into the 2016 season since they haven't competed in enough races to loose their ATQMRA rookie eligibility.


ATQMRA Rookie Point Standings

  1. Mike Glaser 524          R
  2. Patrick Force 496        R
  3. Mark Yoder 344          R
  4. Pat VanVarick 300       R
  5. Ronnie Mullen 208       R
  6. Avery Stoehr 192         R
  7. Larry Hoagland 160     R
  8. Brianna Page 120         R
  9. Nick Ladyga 120         R
  10. Shawn McCaughey 112           R
  11. Dylan Martin 92           R
  12. Alex Greenzweig 72     R
  13. Kerry Irwin 60             R
  14. Jordan Tittle 60            R
  15. Kurt Bettler 60R
  16. Greg Richardson 52      R
  17. Bill Case 48                  R
  18. Darren SchulerR
  19. Andrew Krause 0         R
  20. Matt Guadagno 0         R