35 Drivers, 78 Cars Enter 94th Indy 500

Date: 4/27/2010 2:53:23 PM

April 26
35 Drivers, 78 Cars Enter 94th Indy 500
By Walter Elliott
 SPEEDWAY, Ind. -- 35 drivers, including four previous
Indianapolis 500 winners, have been named to 78 cars that
have been officially entered for the 94th Running of "The
Greatest Spectacle in Racing" as of April 23.
 Defending victor and three-time winner Helio Castroneves,
courtesy of car owner Roger Penske, has been named to
the Team Penske No. 3 Dallara-Honda in his first step
towards a bid to become a fourth four-time 500 winner. The
Sao Paulo, Brazil native and Coral Gables, Fla. resident
would join the elite company of A.J. Foyt, Al Unser, Sr. and
Rick Mears should he finish first some three hours after the
race's scheduled May 30 1 p.m. local time start.
  Fellow 500 winners Dan Wheldon, Scott Dixon and Dario
Franchitti have been named before Indianapolis Motor
Speedway posted its entry list here 9 a.m. April 23. Each
one of the trio are vying to become the eighth two-time
500 winner.
 The foursome head a list of 35 drivers from eight states
and 13 countries, including five 500 rookies, paired to 68
cars. Half of those cars are "T" cars - spares or backups
Some may be used to field an extra driver once the
originally-named pilot has qualified - or are phantom cars
for the want of extra Gasoilene Alley space.
 William Rast and Bryan Herta is fielding a sole No. 29
car for Firestone Indy Lights Series race winner Sebastian
Saavedra. There is also a No. 27, with a driver to be
announced, entered by AFS Racing.
 A.J. Foyt, Bobby Rahal/David Letterman, Dreyer & Reinbold
and CURB/Agajanian/Team 3G have entered eightcars -
four primaries and four T cars - for tba drivers.
 Saavedra, Takuma Sato, Mario Romancini, Betrand
Baguette, Jay Howard and Simona de Silverstro are
anticipated to take the IMS Rookie Orientation Program, to
be scheduled 2-6 p.m. May 15-16. 
  FIL driver De Simona joins Danica Patrick, Milka Duno and
Sarah Fisher as a record fourth woman driver to be entered
for the 500. The quartet, should de Simona pass ROP and
all four qualify before 6 p.m. May 23, may be also poised for
a record four woman drivers among the 33 starters.
  The entry list deadline, which usually closes at 5 p.m.
April 15, had been extended to April 22 this year. Pole
Day has also been scheduled a week later to 11 - 6 p.m.
May 22.
Bump Day is set for noon-6 p.m. May 23, leaving entrants
two days to qualify instead of the traditional four.
 Most other events - from the 7:30 a.m. May 8 Centennial
Era Balloon Festival Founders Race to the anticipated 1:12
p.m. green flag May 30 - remain in their traditional places.
INDIANAPOLIS 500 (By Car No., Driver, Team):
 2, 2T Raphael Matos, De Ferran Dragon Racing.
 3, 3T Helio Castroneves (W), Team Penske Racing.
 4, 4T Dan Wheldon (W), Panther Racing.
 5, 5T Takuma Sato (R), KV Racing Technology.
 6, 6T Ryan Briscoe, Team Penske.
 7, 7T Danica Patrick, Andretti Autosport.
 8, 8T E.J. Viso, KV Racing.
 9, 9T Scott DIxon (W), Target Chip Ganassi Racing
10, 10T Dario Franchitti (W) Target Ganassi.
11, 11T Tony Kanaan, Andretti.
12, 12T Will Power, Verizon Team Penske.
14, 14T Vitor Meira, A.J. Foyt Enterprises.
15, 15T Paul Tracy, KV Racing.
16 TBA, Foyt Racing.
17, 17T TBA Rahal Letterman Racing.
18, 18T Milka Duno, Dale Coyne Racing.
19, 19T Coyne Racing.
20, 20T Ed Carpenter, Panther.
21, 21T Davey Hamilton, De Ferran Dragon.
23, 23T Tomas Scheckter, Dreyer & Reinbold.
24, 24T Mike Conway, Dennis Reinbold.
25, 25T TBA, Dreyer & Reinbold.
26, 26T Marco Andretti, Andretti Autosports.
27 TBA, AFS Racing.
29 Sebastian Saavedra (R), Bryan Herta Autosport.
32, 32T Mario Moraes, KV Racing.
33, 33T Bruno Junqueira, FAZZT Racing Team.
34, 34T Mario Romancini (R), Conquest Racing.
36, 36T Bertrand Baguette (R), Conquest.
37, 37T Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti.
41, 41T A.J. Foyt IV, A.J. Foyt.
43, 43T John Andretti, Richard Petty/Andretti Autosport.
66, 66T Jay Howard (R), Sarah Fisher Racing.
67, 67T Sarah Fisher, Fisher Racing.
77, 77T Alex Tagliani, FAZZT.
78, 78T Simona De Silvestro (R), HVM Racing.
98, 98T TBA, CURB/Agajanian/Team 3G.
99, 99T Townsend Bell, Ganassi/Sam Schmidt Motorsports.
06, 06T Hideki Mutoh, Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing.
NOTE: W = Former 500 Winner. R = 500 Rookie.
         Oldest Driver: Davey Hamilton, 47.
         Most Starts: John Andretti (10).

Return-to-Walter Elliott Press Releases