Bolland, Lynch, Hess and Schneider win Mid-Season Championships 6.18

Date: 6/19/2010 8:04:41 AM

Contact: Eric Westendorf
Lernerville Speedway Public Relations | 724-664-1075
Dave Hess Jr. wins Mid-Season Championship and Firecracker Provisional
Ed Lynch Jr. wins first feature of 2010, Locked into Silver Cup
Kevin Bolland Wins Second of the Season
Chris Schneider beats Joe Kelley!
Sarver, PA (June 18, 2010) The Mid-Season Championships were settled Friday Night as Kevin Bolland (Diehl Auto Group DIRTcar Modifieds), Ed Lynch Jr. (Ti22 Performance DIRTcar Sprints), Dave Hess Jr. (DIRTcar Late Models) and Chris Schneider (Charapp Route 28 DIRTcar Sportsman) claimed Feature wins.
“Power of Bowser” Night started with the Diehl Mods, as Brian Swartzlander and Dean Pearson led the field to the green flag. Del Rougeux Jr. took the lead on lap three and looked like he was the car to beat until he was involved in a wreck on lap 20 while trying to clear lapped traffic.  Jeremiah Shingledecker had passed Rougeux just on lap earlier, but Kevin Bolland quickly took the lead on the restart.  Once out front, Bolland checked out, but had to hold off one last charge from Shingledecker to capture his second win of the 2010 season and his 49th career win.  Shingledecker, Swartzlander, Dave Murdick, and Tom Winkle made up the rest of the Diehl Top Five. National Guard Heat Races went to Del Rougeux Jr. and Dave Murdick.
The Ti22 Performance DIRTcar Sprints pushed off second with All Time Sprint Wins leader Ed Lynch Jr. on the pole.  He took the lead at the drop of the green flag and started his quest to lap the entire field.  When the checkered flag waved, he had put everyone except the top six a lap down as he dominated the 25-lap feature and secured a track provisional for the Don Martin Memorial Silver Cup XIX Twin 30s on Tuesday, July 20.  Bob Felmlee finished a distant second, followed across the stripe by Kevin Schaeffer, Rod George and Carl Bowser.  Ed Lynch Jr. and Danny Holtgraver won National Guard Heat Races.  Holtgraver picked up an extra $50 for the National Guard Heat Race Challenge.
Dave Hess Jr. entered the night as the Budweiser Points leader in the DIRTcar Late Models, and as such, was in line for a track provisional for next weekend’s 4th Annual Firecracker 100 presented by regardless of the outcome of the 25-lap Mid-Season Championship Feature.  By the time the feature rolled on to the Action Track, he was locked into the Firecracker 100 Feature by virtue of being the Bud Points leader with more than a 30-point lead.  But being locked in did not stop his assault on the loaded field of Late Models. 
After starting seventh, Hess took the lead from Hall of Famer Lynn Geisler on lap 12 and never looked back.  Despite the wealth of talent behind him, Hess checked out to claim his second DIRTcar Late Model Feature win of the season.  Geisler finished second and held off a furious charge by both Gregg Satterlee (third) and Jared Miley (fourth).  Matt Lux rounded out the DIRTcar Late Model Top Five.  With Dave Hess Jr. locking in the Mid-Season Championship provisional, Jared Miley is locked into the Firecracker 100 Feature by virtue of being second in points.  John Flinner and Lynn Geisler won their respective National Guard Heat Races.
Jim Fosnaught and Paul Shreckengost led the Charapp Route 28 DIRTcar Sportsman to the green flag and traded the lead a few times amidst a bevy of cautions.  Six-time feature winner Joe Kelley took the lead on lap 12 and appeared to be headed to feature win number seven, until SS Chassis guru Chris Schneider zipped past on lap 17.  In a race that saw nine cautions and seven lead changes, Schneider pulled out the win. The rest of the Charapp 28 Top Five rounded out with Kelley in second, Jim Fosnaught in third, Paul Schreckengost in fourth and Wayne Carbo in fifth. National Guard Heat Race winners were Ryan Moyer and Joe Kelley.
The 4th Annual Firecracker 100 presented by is now less than a week away!!  The best Late Model drivers in the country and the thousands of Dirt Late Model racing fans will converge on Lernerville Speedway for the Three-Day Mega-Event that is the 4th Annual Firecracker 100 presented by 
Buy your Advance Three-Day Package for just $59 today and receive free pit pass upgrades for Thursday and Friday Nights.  Log on to and click the “Buy Tickets” icon or call the speedway office at (724) 353-1511!!
Mid-Season Championships 6.18.2010
Ti22 Performance DIRTcar 410 Sprint Car Feature (25 Laps)
(2L) Ed Lynch Jr., Apollo
(6F) Bob Felmlee, Seneca
(9) Kevin Schaeffer, Kittanning
(4) Rod George, Kittanning
(10) Carl Bowser, Sarver
(23JR) Jack Sodeman Jr., N. Jackson OH.
(D4) Danny Holtgraver, Pittsburgh
(08) Dan Kuriger, Freedom
(0) Andy McKisson, Strattanville
(24S) Brian Steinman, Lucinda
(16) Gary Rankin, Renfrew
(33) Brent Matus, Wampum
(51P) Doug Kekich, Sharon
(96) Lindsay Enscoe, Petrolia
(11) Scott Priester, Rimersburg
(21) Jack Whitmore, Brookfield OH.
(70X) Mike Bertolini, Creighton
(3) Pete Miller III, Port Vue
(13) Brandon Matus, Wampum
(B6) Bobbi Rankin, Renfrew
DNS: (40) Cory Good, Bairdford
National Guard Heat Race Winners: Lynch, Holtgraver

DIRTcar Late Models Feature (25 Laps)
(44) Dave Hess Jr., Waterford
(1C) Lynn Geisler, Cranberry Twp.
(22) Greg Satterlee, Rochester Mills
(H1) Jared Miley, South Park
(21) Matt Lux, Franklin
(99B) Rick “Boom” Briggs, Bear Lake
(1JJ) Davey Johnson, Greensburg
(4) Alex Ferree, Saxonburg
(9K) Mike Knight, Ripley, NY
(1J) Dave Murdick, Slippery Rock
(111) Brian Swartzlander, Leechburg
(88) Chuck Sarver, West Sunburry
(J4) John Garvin Jr., Sarver
(3) Dan Swartzlander, Freeport
(48) John Flinner, Zelienople
(29) Ken Schaltenbrand, Sarver
(16*) Dereck Frank, Jamestown, NY
DNS (7X) Herman Bertolini, Creighton
National Guard Heat Race Winners: Flinner, Geisler

Diehl Auto Group DIRTcar Modified Feature (25 Laps)
(777) Kevin Bolland, New Brighton
(37MD) Jeremiah Shingledecker, Polk
(83) Brian Swartzlander, Leechburg
(61) Dave Murdick, Slippery Rock
(28) Tom Winkle, Mars
(96) Mike Turner, Butler
(31) Jim Weller Jr., Hubbard OH.
(8J) Dean Pearson, Harrisville
(29E) Erik Martin, Evans City
(6) Carl Murdick, Butler
(10) Jeff Schaffer, Fombell
(45) Steve Feder, Butler
(88) Shawn Fleeger, Butler
(11B) Brian Bailes, New Castle
(71B) Don Brown, Butler
(27R) Dave Reges, Butler
(20D) Del Rougeux Jr., Frenchville
National Guard Heat Race Winners: Rougeux, D.Murdick

Charapp Route 28 DIRTcar Sportsman Feature (20 Laps)
(8B) Chris Schneider, Creighton
(66) Joe Kelley, Mt. Pleasant
(20J) Jim Fosnaught, Bairdford
(3S) Paul Schreckengost, Creighton
(54) Wayne Carbo, Saxonburg
(13X) Ryan Moyer, Portersville
(29B) Scott Byers, Butler
(28Y) Terry Young, Butler
(2) A.J. Flick, Apollo
(21) Jeff Miller, Natrona Heights
(00) Cory Bish, Oakdale
(25) Brett McDonald, Saxonburg
(30) Bob Egley, Kittanning
(81) Mike Miller, Chicora
(24) Jim Bills, Portersville
(02) Joseph Heinl, Prospect
(78) John Watson, Apollo
(8C) Fred Casagni, Vandergrift
(J19) Jason Fosnaught, Creighton
DNS (32) Mark Sanders, Lowellville, OH
DNS (55L) Bob Lipinski, Pittsburgh
National Guard Heat Race Winners: Moyer, Kelley
Car Count Total: 73
Ti22 Performance DIRTcar Sprints: 21
DIRTcar Late Models: 18
Diehl Auto Group DIRTcar Modifieds: 17
Charapp Route 28 DIRTcar Sportsman: 21
Upcoming Events:
6/24/10 – Firecracker 100 Qualifier $6,000-to-win Night #1
6/25/10 – Firecracker 100 Qualifier $6,000-to-win Night #2
6/26/10 – $30,000-to-win Firecracker 100 & $3,000-to-win Uncle Sam 30
7/2/10 – Fab Four Racing (Charapp Route 28 Night) (Youth Sports Night)

Return-to-Lernerville Speedway News & Results