Date: 11/8/2009 9:22:38 PM


For Immediate Release                                                                   AS-110709-1

South Plattsburgh, NY – Airborne Speedway honored its 2009 track champions in five divisions before an enthusiastic gathering of more than 450 racers, their relatives and friends, sponsors and officials at the Rainbow Banquet Hall in Altona, NY Friday.

          “Thank you all for helping to make Airborne an exciting and fun place to race,” promoter Mike Perotte said. “We had the third highest weekly Modified car count within DIRTcar Racing Northeast. We are a true North Country success story.”

          Martin Roy of Napierville, QC, Airborne’s first lead-division Canadian champion in 38 years (Denis Giroux ’71), thanked Perrotte and track owners Steve and Denise Fuller for “giving me the chance to race at such a great track.” Roy also praised his crew chief Steve Morin for “making the Gamache Truck Center No. 90 very competitive every week.”

          Roy’s car owner and father-in-law, Jean-Claude Fortin, told the crowd, “I want to thank the Airborne staff and officials for providing very tight, clean competition and for being so respectful of the racers. To Patrick Dupree (’09 Modified Runner-up) and Wes Moody – you made us suffer sometimes while we were trying to win out first championship just like we did to you the year before. We will enjoy racing with you in 2010.”

          Championship trophies were presented to J&S Steel Sportsman Bucko Branham of Plattsburgh and Versatile Trailer Sales Renegade Lonnie Rivers of Cadyville, who both successfully defended their 2008 titles. Keeseville NAPA Auto Parts Mini-Modified champion Bill Thwaites and Monster Energy Bomber champion Jayson Blondo were also honored.

          Rookie of the Year awards were presented to Mike Wells of West Chazy – Modifieds, Travis Bruno of Plattsburgh – Sportsman, Josh Terry of Morrisonville- Renegades, Randy Martin of Keeseville – Mini-Modifieds and Josh Durivage of West Chazy – Bombers.

          Mike Reyell of West Chazy was named Most Improved Modified Driver. Howard Stoner of Altona received the Most Improved Sportsman Driver award. Ernie Coulombe of Ernie’s Discount Tools received the Airborne Award of Excellence. Airborne Sportspersons of the Year honors went to Jim and Debbie Pulsifer of Lewis, NY. J&S Steel Sportsman Runner-up Robin Wood of Plattsburgh was chosen the 2009 Driver of the Year. Wood drove the Ganienkeh Territorial Bingo/Rent-A-Wreck No. 61 to seven feature wins.

Contact: Tom Herzig

Return-to-Airborne Speedway News & Results