Roy Regroups at Airborne

Date: 5/16/2010 10:39:20 PM

Roy Regroups at Airborne

For immediate release                                                                   AS-051610-1

          South Plattsburgh, NY – Martin Roy drew away from the field on a restart with seven laps to go and went on to win the Econo Lodge Modified 30-lap feature convincingly at Airborne Saturday.

          The win was redemption for the 2009 track champion from Napierville, Quebec, who was first to the finish line on opening night, but failed post-race inspection.

          Roy took the lead from Andy Heywood on lap 16 and held it the rest of the way. Heywood, driving the Gioiosa’s Wine & Spirits No. 80, held off Don Scarborough for second.  Patrick Dupree raced from 10th on the starting grid for fourth place. Jason Durgan finished fifth.

          Twenty-nine Ernie’s Tools DIRTcar Modifieds took the green. Positions 6-10 went to Patrice McGrail, Maxime Viens, Jason Sawyer, Bryant Trim and Mike Reyell. Trim came from18th for his eighth place finish.

The wrecker crews were out twice to pull away cars from the wall. Leon Gonyo backed into the first turn wall after contact with George Foley and Cameron Grady. Foley appeared to lose power as the cars were trying to swoop to the outside of lap traffic. Chad Blair wound up in the fence near the flag stand on lap 23.

          Apparent J&S Steel Sportsman winner Jim Bushey was ruled to have an illegal carburetor.  Saranac’s Rick Frenyea became the official race winner. Robin Wood was second. Jamy Begor placed third.

Bushey took the lead on lap five and withstood two red flag restarts. The first red flag came out for a crash that eliminated Bucko Branham and Travis Bruno. The second red flag was for Bill Fountain of Plattsburgh, who took a vicious hit into the first turn wall.

          Frenyea and Wood survived door-banging bouts with hard-luck Bill Sawyer, who spun into the infield as he neared the finish line.

          Defending Versatile Trailer Sales Renegade champion Lonnie Rivers of Cadyville was well positioned to win the Renegade 25-lap feature after Cody Benoit and Ken St. Germaine collided at the front of the pack trying to negotiate lapped traffic. Benoit and St. Germaine careened into the high groove and took out third-place Keith Pelkey, opening the door for Rivers. Lance Rabtoy was the runner-up, a car-length ahead of Keith O’Neil in third.

          Steven Bresette of Keeseville won the NAPA Mini-Modified feature with Rick Doner parked on his bumper. Randy Martin of Keeseville was third.

          Cody Meyers of Plattsburgh won the Monster Energy Bomber feature.

Econo Lodge Night 30-lap Modified feature

1. Martin Roy 2. Andy Heywood 3. Don Scarborough 4. Patrick Dupree 5. Jason Durgan
6. Patrice McGrail 7. Maxime Viens 8. Bryant Trim 9. Jason Sawyer 10. Mike Reyell
11.Greg Atkins 12.Mike Wells 13.Chris Cayea 14.Michael Viens 15.Matt Woodruff
16.Craig Reyell 17.Richard Tisseur 18.Todd Ormsby 19.Terry Hayes 20.Jason Bruno
21.Jim Introne 22.Chad Blair 23.Dan Brown 24.Jim McComb 25.George Foley 26.Leon Gonyo
27.Cameron Grady 28.Ben Shova 29.Craig Ormsby

Return-to-Airborne Speedway News & Results