Dupree, Wood, Pelkey winners at Airborne

Date: 5/25/2010 7:14:16 AM

Airborne recap Saturday May 22, 2010

Dupree, Wood, Pelkey winners at Airborne

South Plattsburgh – Patrick Dupree held off Martin Roy and Patrice McGraile to earn his second victory of the season in the Marsha Homes Night Modified 30-lap main event Saturday. Early leader Michael Viens, with Leon Gonyo in tow, built a long early lead, but it was erased by a caution flag on lap nine.

The restart brought Dupree a dozen car lengths closer to the front row. He took the lead to stay on lap 14. Roy got as close as Dupree’s rear wheel in the closing laps, but came up two car lengths short.  McGraile passed Gonyo for third on lap 25. Don Scarborough was fifth.

“The oil light came on a few times and that worried me,” Dupree said, “but it turned out okay.”

McGraile, from Candiac, Quebec had his best Airborne finish. On the fourth of five restarts with 12 laps to go, Dupree and Gonyo were on the front row and McGraile was 12th. “I had a good car and picked up some ground on Dupree and Roy at the end,” he said. “That’s good, because they’re the best cars here.”

Positions 6-10 went to Jason Durgan, George Foley, Greg Atkins, Marc Johnson and Mike Reyell. Viens ran in the top five until sidelined with a flat tire.

Robin Wood used the low lane to advance from 11th to 1st in 15 laps to win the Sportsman features in the Rent-A-Wreck/Melissa’s Barber Shop No.61. Tylor Terry and Bill Sawyer had a race-long battle for second that went to Terry. Jim Bushey and Jamy Begor were next in line.

The Versatile Trailer Sales Renegade win went to Keith Pelkey of Clintonville in the Fast Automotive/Perkins Excavating No. 24. Pelkey dominated the race from start to finish. Kevin Boutin caught Ken St. Germaine with 10 laps remaining to finish second. When St. Germaine failed tech inspection, point leaders Lance Rabtoy and Lonnie Rivers moved up to 3rd and 4th respectively.

Randy Martin of Keeseville won the NAPA Mini-Modified feature. Steven Bresette was a close second. Bobby Lavair of Gabriels was third.

Josh LaPorte of Peru became the official winner of the Monster energy Bomber feature after apparent winner Bill Joyal failed tech inspection. Josh Durivage, Mike Whalen Jr, Curtis LaGrave and Scott Richner completed the top five.

The Modified Racing Series featuring teams from all six New States and New York make their first-ever appearance at Airborne this Saturday. Post time 5 p.m.

DIRTcar Modified 30-lap feature
1. Patrick Dupree 2. Martin Roy Andy Heywood 3. Patrice McGrail Don Scarborough 4. Leon Gonyo 5. Don Scarborough 6. Jason Durgan 7. George Foley 8. Greg Atkins 9. Marc Johnson 10.Mike Reyell 11.Mike Wells 12.Matt Woodruff 13.Chris Cayea 14.Craig Reyell 15.Todd Ormsby 16.Chad Blair 17.Jim McComb 18.Andy Heywood 19.Craig Ormsby 20.Pierre Berthiaume 21.Bryant Trim 22.Michael Viens 23.Maxime Viens 24.Dan Brown 25.Jim Introne

Return-to-Airborne Speedway News & Results