Date: 9/1/2013 7:29:53 PM

Woodhull Raceway Race Story and Quick Results

August 31st, 2013

Kibbe Oil and Gas Night

VanPelt the other feature winner before rain called the rest of the evening

By Paul Harkenrider

(Woodhull NY) The 2013 points season was nothing short of magnificent as two of the most competitive classes to grace the high banks this year went to the very lap to determine the 2013 track champion.

                In the S&W Awards and Photo’s 360 Late Models, Glen Whritenour had a one point advantage going into Saturdays evenings racing festivities. In the heats, John Waters easily ran away with his qualifying event and picked up the 3 bonus points. Glen Whritenour only finished 3rd which gave Waters the nod going into the 25 lap feature. Writenour drew the position 3 pill while Waters drew the 6th position. It did not take long before two of the premier drivers in the entire northeast were both out front with Whritenour with the slight advantage. Waters gave everything he could to get around the Jasper native but it was not enough. At the Line, it was Glen Whritenour picking up his 6th career track championship at the Woodhull Raceway.

                In the Joe Wilcox Performance Street Stocks, the qualifying heats and 20 lap feature was just as thrilling as Teddy Morseman picked up yet another heat win to give the three bonus points. Brett Marlatt finished third in his heat which gave Morseman a 3 point advantage going into the A Main. In the redraw, Marlatt drew the number 2 chip which gave him the outside pole. Morseman drew the position 11 chip. Once the green flag dropped, Marlatt jumped out of the gate quickly, but here came Teddy Morseman who gained 6 positions in a matter of two laps, three laps later, Morseman caught the race leader which resulted in a very exciting 15 laps, which it was as two rivals battled it out for the 2013 track championship. Numerous cautions kept the two race leaders close but at the end it Brett “The Jet” Marlatt winning his 10th feature of the year and his first ever track championship at the Woodhull Raceway.

                In the Insinger Performance 370 Modified’s, it was Billy VanPelt picking up win number 4 in 2K13. Frank Dunning finished in the runner up spot followed by Eric Fisher, Ron Cartwright and Mike Bills. Donnie Lawson finished in 18th but clinched his first ever track championship in Modified action after winning a number of Sportsman track championships at both Woodhull and Black Rock Speedway.

                The NAPA Crate sportsman got 4 laps in until heavy rain came through and called the 3 remaining features with Connor Brown the race leader.

                Next Week, a jam packed Saturday will be in store as the Annual Lyle Sherwood Memorial will be on hand, along with the Bicknell Race Products Can Am Series, Open street Stocks, Open mini stocks and Open Front wheel drives along with a Non-Feature Winners event in the NAPA Crate Sportsman Division.  Also, gates will be opening at 3:30 and not 4:30 as racing will start at 5:30 and not 6:30. Presented by Griffith energy.


Quick Results & Extra Notes


Insinger Performance 370 Modifieds

                Cars: 22

                Heats: Mike Bills, Donnie Lawson, Eric Fisher

                Feature: BILLY VANPELT (4),  Frank Dunning, Eric Fisher, Ron Cartwright, Mike Bills, Bryan Worthing, Bob Davis, Kenny Peoples Jr., Stacey Jackson, Brian Doolittle, Don Lawson, Ron White, Lee Bills,  John Hargrave, Art Goodier, Tim Guild, Kevin Chilson, Donnie Lawson, Joe Dgien, Dale Welty(NS), Casey Pavlick(NS), Steve Hartman Jr. (NS).

S&W Awards and Photos 360 Late Models

2013 Track Champion: Glen Whritenour (6)

                Cars: 19

                Heats:  Jared Hill, John waters, Bruce Miller

                Feature: GLENN WHRITENOUR(6), John Waters, Bruce Miller, Jerry Wilson, Steve LaBarron, Mick Seeley, Jaye McConnell, Cecil LaBarron, Jared Hill, Carl Hughes, Brad LaBarron, Jason McGregor, Josh Smith, Ray Bliss, Mike Tubbs, Carl Cleveland, Barry Payne, Fred Amann, Frank LaBarron(NS).

Joe Wilcox Performance Street Stocks

2013 Track Champion: Brett Marlatt (1)

                Cars: 16

                Heats:  Teddy Morseman, Jeremy Potrzebowski

                Feature: BRETT MARLATT (9), Teddy Morseman, Tracy Dunn, Kurt Stebbins, Corey Costa, Gary Archer, Kane Stebbins, Bill Shea, Jeff Smith, Trevor Tompkins, Henry Miracle, Matt Hamilton, Allison Pierce, Alan Crooker, Russ Morseman.  DQ.  Jeremy Potrzebowski

NAPA Crate Sportsman

                Cars  26

                Heats: Bob Buono, Brett Buono, Connor Brown, Russ Morseman

                Feature POSTONED

Signs Plus Mini Stocks

                Cars  12

               Feature: POSTPONED

LaBarron Brothers Front Wheel Drives

                Cars  16

                Feature POSTPONED


Extra Notes

                Race Start (Approximately): 6:35

                Race End: 9:30 (Rain)

NAPA Driver of the Week: Brian Doolittle

                Joe Wilcox Jr Fan of the week : Ronnie Joshua Sawyer

                                Favorite Driver: Josh Sawyer

                American Racer Tire Award: Mike Bills

                American Racer Tire Certificate

                50/50: $611.00

Return-to-Woodhull Raceway News & Results