JOE DGIEN WINS 9TH ANNUAL LYLE SHERWOOD MEMORIAL!! Wonderling, Jackson, Marlatt, Kreidler also victorious

Date: 9/29/2013 11:20:42 AM

Woodhull Raceway Race Story and Quick Results

September 28, 2013

4th Annual Bull Ring Challenge

Bully Hill Vineyards Night #2


Wonderling, Jackson, Marlatt, Kreidler also victorious

By Paul Harkenrider

(WOODHULL NY) Patience and car setup was the secret to wining the biggest Modified race of the 2013 season up on the high banks.  Brady Fultz brought the 25 car starting field to the opening green flag, but it was Dan Pompey out of Nicholson, Pennsylvania jumping into the early lead where he would stay until the 2013 Modified Track Champion, Donnie Lawson would take over the lead on lap 18. Then as laps ticked away and with the help of several caution flags,  Joe Dgein, who had to win a consolation race to even qualify into the 50 lap special got himself all the way up into the runner up position. Then on lap 43, mechanical issues on Lawson machine forced him go pit side. On the restart, it was the Avoca native, Joe Dgien picking up his first ever feature win at the Woodhull Raceway and the 9th Annual Lyle Sherwood Memorial. Dan Pompey finished in second, followed, Mike Bowman, Brady Fultz and Kenny Peoples Jr.

In the ISKY Cams BRP Can Am 360 LM Championship race, it was Jeremy Wonderling, leading all 50 laps. However, he came up just short to John Waters in the series finale as John Waters was able to take home his first career BRP Can Am Series Championship after a very impressive month of racing in September. Glen Whritenour finished in second, followed by Waters, Mike Wonderling Jr, and Ray Bliss, the 2013 Rookie of the Year for the series.

The GRIT 602 Carte Sportsman series put on a 30 lap show and the winner was Mike Jackson who started on the pole and led a majority of the race to pick up his second feature of the year, despite only running four races during the limited season. Bob Buono finished in second followed by Boyd Mactavish and Ray Bliss. In the Crate Sportsman Non Winnerís Race presented by NAPA, it was Chris Fisher picking up the win.

In the First Annual Joe Willcox Performance Street Stock 50 lap special, it was Brett Marlatt picking up yet another feature in 2013 which brings his feature total to 11 after the winning the 2013 Track Championship. Marlatt took the lead on lap 18 over Jeremy Potrzebowski and Teddy Morseman. Morseman was able to finish in second, followed by Gene Balmer, Jeff Smith with Jeredd Dennis rounding out the top five.

In the Quad C 4 Cylinders, it was James Kreidler who swept the weekend, wining on both Friday and Saturday night shows. Wendell Washington, Mike Koser, and Kenny Underwood also finished at the front pack of the field.

That concludes the 2013 racing season at the Woodhull Raceway.   Up next will be the Annual Awards Banquet set for Saturday, November 2, 2013 at the Watson Homestead in East Campbell, NY..  Plans are already underway for the 2014 season which will kick off in March with the Annual Arnot Mall Car Show. Plans also call for an April 2014 race kick off to start year number 50 at the Woodhull raceway.



Quick Results & Extra Notes


Small Block/ Big Block Modifiedís ( LYLE SHERWOOD MEMORIAL-50 LAPS)

                Cars: 33

                Heats: Brady Fultz, Alan Rudalavage, Donnie Lawson, Stacy Jackson

                Consolations: Joe Dgien

                Feature: JOE DGIEN(1), Dan Pompey, Mike Bowman, Brady Fultz, Kenny Peoples Jr, Alan Rudalavage, Casey Pavlick, Frank Dunning, Brad Rapp, Brent Wilcox, Stacey Jackson, Ron White, Kevin Chilson,  Jim Holden, Brian Doolittle, Donnie Lawson, Mike Bills, Bryon Worthing, Bryce Davis, Randy Chrysler, Ray Bliss, Steve Hartman Jr, Ron Cartwright, Dale Welty, Steve Paine 

ISKY Bicknell Race Products Can Am Series  

                Cars: 24

                Heats: Glen Whritenour, Jeremy Wonderling, Ray Bliss Jr.

                Consolation: Anthony Stockman, Bobby Peoples

                Feature: JEREMY WONDERLING, Glen Writenour, John Waters, Mike Wonderling, Ray Bliss, Brian Knowles, Jason McGregor, Jay McConnell, Buck Payne, Steve LeBarron, Tracy Dunn, Mick Seeley, Bruce Miller, Jason Knowles, Josh Smith, Cecil LeBarron, Jerry Wilson, Mike Wonderling, Jarred Hill, Wally Wade  


Joe Willcox Performance Street Stocks

                Cars: 23

                Heats: Teddy Morseman Jr, Chuck Winslow, Brett Marlatt

                Feature: BRETT MARLATT (11) Teddy Morseman Jr, Gene Balmer, Jeff Smith, Jeredd Dennis, Jeremy Potrzebowski, Terry Thompson, David Matellejo, Rich Sharpsteen, Nick Robinson, Chris Fisher, Jason Dobson, Bubba Vancise, Matt Hamilton, Allison Pierce, Jay Deming, Dan Babcock, Frank Chapman, Corey Costa, Jeff Hellwig, Chuck Winslow, Dan Gordon, Dylan Ceccee, Tracy Dunn

GRIT SERIES Crate Sportsman

                Cars: 34

                Heats: Roger Williams, Boyd Mactavish, Ray Bliss Jr, Jeff Powell

                Feature: MIKE JACKSON (2) Bob Buono, Boyd Mactavish, John Hargrave, Ray Bliss, Ryan Olsommer, Chris Daugherty, Ron White, Dale Welty, Another Stockman, Brett Buono, Jim Johnston, Bobby Peoples, Collin Brown, Dave Marcucilli, Geoff Powell, Dillon Groover, Cory Costa, Roger Williams, Josh sawyer, Donnie Knowles, Ray Smith, Steve Hartman Sr, Chris Fisher

QUAD C 4-Clynders

            Cars: 30

                Heats: Ron Hill, James Kriedler, Kenny Underwood

                Feature: JAMES KREIDLER (4) Wendell Washington, Keith Shay, Kenny Underwood, Mike Loser, Ron Hill, Joe Birdsall, Rick Amidon, Rick Simstaugh, Ben Haulander, Ray Hyer, Jeremy Tank, Ron Dailey Jr, Jr Bush, Mike Navone, Brian Grant Sr, Doug Colton, David Scourin, John Hand Jr, Was Houghtalin, Eric Simmins, Derek Puryear, Adam Metarko, Ryan Austin,


Extra Notes

                Race Start (Approximately): 6:10

                Race End:  12:51

Total Car Count:  144

                NAPA Driver of the Week: Brian Doolittle (From 8/31)

                50/50: $1,032

Return-to-Woodhull Raceway News & Results