Bobby Powell Makes Late Race Pass for 1st FASTRAK Northeast Tour Win at Roaring Knob Saturday Night

Date: 6/28/2009 4:20:56 PM

Media Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223
June 28, 2009
Bobby Powell Makes Late Race Pass for 1st FASTRAK Northeast Tour Win at Roaring Knob Saturday Night

MARKLEYSBURG, PA (June 27) - The Brooks Auto Group FASTRAK Late Models were in the limelight as the Northeast Touring Series invaded Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex for the first time on Saturday night.
Waterford, PA’s Bobby Powell came away the winner in his first visit also. Vic Vandergrift (South Fayette Nursing Center Modifieds), Jim Bendishaw, Jr. (Dick Rugh’s Auto Parts Street Stocks) and Marty Spade, Jr. (Ft. Necessity Garage Chargers) were all victors in their respective divisions.
The 12-lap Chargers feature hit20the track first.
Farmington’s Marty Spade Jr. made good use of his pole starting spot to grab the lead at the drop of the green. Spade never relinquished it to win his first feature since opening day. Brad Jenkins was able to hang with Spade but could not mount a pass and had to settle for second. Kyle Burkholder, Kenny Burkholder and Ryan Newman were the top five. Six through ten were Jerry Walters Jr., Russell Baird Jr., Bus Matthews, Justin Howell and Terry Teets. Newman and Spade claimed the heat wins. 

A slim field of Modifieds were up next and lady racer Deana
Groves jumped out front to start the 15-lap feature. Groves drove a steady race and led the first 13-laps before Fairmont, WV’s Vic Vandergrift, who hounded her the second half of the event, went high to the outside and passed Groves to lead the final two laps for his second win this season. Groves wound up second over Bobby Bennett, Be Thorn and Lou Ennis. Ennis won the lone heat. 

It was now time for the main event as the touring FASTRAK Late Models came trackside for their 25-lap feature. Local racer Garry Sisson powered into the lead at the start. Sisson was still the leader when the first caution came out on lap 15. The double file restart saw
Waterford, PA’s Bobby Powell starting outside of Sisson, but Garry took off and continued to lead through two more restarts before the final yellow flew on lap 20. This time Powell was able to out drag Sisson into turn one to take the lead. Powell then led the final five laps to take his first tour win of the season. A strong run for Ricky Meglaye placed him second over Daniel Angelicchio (from 15th), Bud Watson, and Sisson to complete the top five. Max Blair, Josh Holtgraver, Kyle Thomas, Carl McKinney and Tommy Schirnhofer rounded out the t op ten. Derek Doll, Blair and Powell grabbed heat wins for the 30 cars on hand, while Roger Laughlin won the B-Main.
Closing out the feature events for the night were the Dick Rugh’s Auto Parts Street Stocks, and what a show they put on. Tom Newman started on the pole thanks to an invert ten draw and looked like he was on his way to victory for the second time this season. Newman led for seven laps before eighth starting Jim Bendishaw Jr., of Uniontown, pulled off a clean slide job coming out of turn four to take the point. Bendishaw went on to lead the final eight laps to claim his second feature of the year. Newman kept second over Chris Lucy, Todd Dennis and Bob Nelson. Completing the top ten were Mike Duritsky, Fred Spiker, Charlie McClain, Sam King and Matt Rishel. Dennis and Bendishaw were the heat winners. 
Coming Events:
July 4 – Holiday 5-Division Action Event plus Fireworks presented by Cossell’s Auto and Truck Sales.
July 11 – Special Event / UFo Race Championship Super Late Model Mega-Blitz 2009 / 41 Laps / $3000 to Win / plus FASTRAK Late Models, Street Stocks, Modifieds and Chargers
Brooks Auto Group FASTRAK Late Models
Heat Race Winners:  Derek Doll, Max Blair, Bobby Powell
B-Main (10 Laps):  Roger Laughlin
Feature (25 Laps):  1) Bobby Powel l, 2) Ricky Meglaye, 3) Dan Angelicchio, 4) Bud Watson, 5) Garry Sisson, 6) Max Blair, 7) Josh Holtgraver, 8) Kyle Thomas, 9) Carl McKinney, 10) Tommy Schirnhofer, 11) John Watson, 12) Mike Howell, 13) Bryan Force, 14) Troy Shields, 15) Mike Pegher Jr., 16)  Garrett Mott, 17) Cody Hardesty, 18) Roger Laughlin, 19) Dave Scott, 20) Joel Prosser, 21) Chris Force, 22) Gary Knollinger, 23) Daniel Hill, 24) Derek Doll.  DNS:   Dan Karalagas, Greg Tressler, Bobby Cossell, Tom Copeland, Jayme Beck, Tom Sieger
Dick Rugh’s Auto Parts Street Stocks
Heat Race Winners:  Todd Dennis, Jimmy Bendishaw Jr.
Feature (15 Laps):  1) Jimmy Bendishaw Jr., 2) Tom Newman, 3) Chris Lucy, 4) Todd Dennis, 5) Bob Nelson, 6) Mike Duritsky, 7) Fred Spiker, 8) Charlie McClain, 9) Sam King, 10) Matt Rishel, 11) Marshall Coleman, 12) George Kelley, 13) Barry Faris, 14) Lee Mansberry, 15) Bob Miller, 16) Russell Baird Sr., 17) Joe Wrona, 18) S cott Herring, 19) Jim Byers, 20) DNS Brian McFadden
South Fayette Nursing Center Modifieds
Heat Race Winner:  Lou Ennis
Feature (15 Laps):  1) Vic Vandergrift, 2) Deana Groves, 3) Bobby Bennett, 4) Be Thorn, 5) Lou Ennis, 6) Josh Cramer, 7) DNS Josh Revels
Fort Necessity Garage Chargers
Heat Race Winners:  Ryan Newman, Marty Spade Jr.
Feature (12 Laps):  1) Marty Spade Jr., 2) Brad Jenkins, 3) Kyle Burkholder, 4) Kenny Burkholder, 5) Ryan Newman, 6) Jerry Walters, 7) Russell Baird, 8) Bus Matthews, 9) Justin Howell, 10) Terry Teets, 11) Bob Matthews, 12) Shane Wheeler, 13) Roscoe Higbee, 14) Nick Cornich, 15) Clint Peyton, 16) Joey Tomasek, 17) DNS David Wallace, 18) DNS Ed Vogel Sr., 19) DNS Chad Peyton

Return-to-Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex News & Results