Gordon, Hardesty, Jeffries, Wrona & Newman Light Up Roaring Knob’s Victory Lane

Date: 7/5/2009 2:07:07 PM

Media Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223  jdgocar@aol.com
July 5, 2009
Gordon, Hardesty, Jeffries, Wrona & Newman Light Up Roaring Knob’s Victory Lane
MARKLEYSBURG, PA (July 4) - Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex celebrated Independence Day with five first time winners. Cody Hardesty, of Oakland, MD, earned his career first win in the Brooks Auto Group FASTRAK Late Models while Smithfield’s Joe Wrona won his first Roaring Knob feature in the Dick Rugh’s Auto Parts Street Stocks. First time winners for 2009 included Bob Gordon (Commonwealth Marketing Group Super Late Models), Phil Jeffries (South Fayette Nursing Center Modifieds) and Ryan Newman (Fort Necessity Garage Chargers). The big Fireworks display celebrating the Fourth of July was courtesy of Cossell’s Auto & Truck Sales in Uniontown.
Montrose, WV’s Phil Jeffries took advantage of a straight up start and wasted little time as he grabbed the lead from the pole.   Jeffiries was pulling away from the pack until Vic Vandergrift worked his way into second.  A caution then bunched up the field and Jeffries had Vandergrift on his back bumper the rest of the way, but he was up to the challenge and held off the two-time winner to get his first since July 26 of 2008. Vandergrift was second over Be Thorn, Ron Parrish, Bobby Bennett, Deana Groves, J. D. Johnston, Mike Errett and Frank Billie. Jeffries also won the heat.
Following the Modifieds, it was time for the Super Late Models to light it up.
Keyser, WV’s Bob Gordon shot past Jeff Fer guson to take the lead at the start while Billy Holbert followed Gordon into second. Holbert was all over the back bumper of the #31 and stuck his nose under Gordon many times. Soon, Tim Senic worked into third and made it a three car battle for the lead. Defending champion Gordon was not to be denied and held them both off for his first Knob win of 2009. Holbert settled for second over Senic, Keith Jackson and Mel Minnick, Jr.  Six through ten went to Doug Horton, LC Powers, Jim Kutas, Matt Cosner and Ferguson. Horton and Chuck Harper won the heats.
An invert six draw put Cody Hardesty on the pole for the FASTRAK Late Model feature. Hardesty, looking for his career first win since moving out of Go-Karts, was on rails pulling away to a near straightaway lead. A caution with two laps to go, gave veteran Dave Groves the chance he was looking for. However, Hardesty was hungry for a win and took off on the restart to earn his crowd pleasing career first win.
Groves was second followed by Daniel Hill, Troy Shields, Garry Sisson, Mike Cuthbert, Stanley Spooner, Jayme Beck, Mike Howell and Tom Seiger. Groves and Sisson won the two heats.
Joe Wrona has been close a few times and Saturday he finally put it all together to lead all 16-laps of the Street Stock feature. Wrona, of
Smithfield, was never seriously challenged even when the caution waved on the final circuit to set up a two-lap shootout. On the restart, Wrona took off and Todd Dennis blew past Tom Newman to take second but could not muster a challenge. Behind Wrona at the checker it was Dennis, Mike Duritsky, Newman and Jim Bendishaw, Jr. to make up the top five.  Bob Nelson, Josh Bendishaw, Jim Byers, Marshall Coleman and Chris Lucy completed the top ten. Nelson and Jim Bendishaw Jr. were the heat winners.
Shane Wheeler, Sr. took off at the start of the 12-lap Charger feature. Wheeler held the point for five laps before he got hung up behind a lapped car and 17-year-old Ryan Newman blew by staying on the gas while Wheeler had to brake. Newman was on a mission to get his second career win, and he definitely earned it as the Burkholder brothers, Kenny and Kyle, didn’t give Newman time to breathe. At the checkered it was Newman taking the win ahead of Kenny Burkholder, Kyle Burkholder, Jerry Walters, Jr. and Wheeler. The next tier of five included Justin Howell, Bob Matthews, Bus Matthews, Marty Spade, Jr. and David Wallace. The two heats went to Kenny and Kyle Burkholder.
Upcoming Events:
July 11:  Special Event – Super Late Model UFo Race Championship “Mach 41” Mega-Blitz 2009, 41 Laps, $3000 to Win,  plus regular show for FASTRAK Late Models, Modifieds, Street Stocks and Chargers.
July2018:  Five Division Action Event plus Racing Bingo
July 25:  Dick Rugh’s Auto Parts Street Stocks Special plus regular show for Super Late Models, FASTRAK Late Models, Modifieds and Chargers. (no increase in General Adm.) Kenworth of PA Night. 
Heat Race Winners:  Doug Horton, Chuck Harper
Feature (25 Laps):  1) Bob Gordon, 2) Billy Holbert, 3) Tim Senic, 4) Keith Jackson, 5) Mel Minnick Jr., 6) Doug Horton, 7) LC Powers, 8) Jim Kutas, 9) Matt Cosner, 10) Jeff Ferguson, 11) John Garvin, 12) Chuck Harper, 13) Freddie Zeigler, 14) Bob Hershman, 15) Danny Pugh, 16) Mason Zeigler, 17) Ron Delano, 18) Scott Spade
Heat Race Winners:  Dave Groves, Garry Sisson
Feature (20 Laps):  1) Cody Hardesty, 2) Dave Groves, 3) Daniel Hill, 4) Troy Shields, 5) Garry Sisson, 6) Mike Cuthbert, 7) Stanley Spooner, 8) Jayme Beck, 9) Mike Howell, 10) Tom Sieger, 11) Ricky Meglaye, 12) Bobby Cossell, 13) Greg Tressler, 14) DNS Derek Doll
Heat Race Winner:  Phil Jeffries
Feature (15 Laps):  1) Phil Jeffries, 2) Vic Vandergrift, 3) Be Thorn, 4) Ron Parrish, 5) Bobby Bennett, 6) Deana Groves, 7) J.D. Johnston, 8) Mike Errett, 9) DNS Frank Billie
Heat Race Winners:  Bob Nelson, Jimmy Bendishaw
Feature (15 Laps):  1) Joe Wrona, 2) Todd Dennis, 3) Mike Duritsky, 4) Tom Newman, 5) Jimmy Bendishaw, 6) Bob Nelson, 7) Josh Bendishaw, 8) Jim Byers, 9) Marshall Coleman, 10) Chris Lucy, 11) George Kelley, 12) Scott Herring, 13) Fred Spiker, 14) Matt Rishel, 15) Barry Faris, 16) Russell Baird, 17) Bob Miller, 18) Charlie McClain, 19) Willie Porter, 20) Vince Kaider
Heat Race Winners:  Kenny Burkholder, Kyle Burkholder
Feature (12 Laps):  1) Ryan Newman, 2) Kenny Burkholder, 3) Kyle Burkholder, 4) Jerry Walters Jr., 5) Shane Wheeler, 6) Justin Howell, 7) Bob Matthews, 8) Bus Matthews, 9) Marty Spade Jr., 10) Dave Wallace, 11) Russell Baird Jr., 12) Mark Sullivan 13) Chad Peyton, 14) DNS Eric Miller, 15) DNS Brad Jenkins

Return-to-Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex News & Results