Shawn Davis Wins Modified Special at Roaring Knob; Dalton, Doll, Duritsky & Newman Also Take Wins

Date: 8/16/2009 9:43:43 PM

Media Contact:  Judy Gower  724-853-7223
August 16, 2009
Shawn Davis Wins Modified Special at Roaring Knob; Dalton, Doll, Duritsky & Newman  Also Take Wins
MARKLEYSBURG, PA (Aug. 15) – The Modifieds were in the limelight Saturday at Roaring Knob running extra laps on Driver Autograph Night which was sponsored by the South Fayette Nursing Center. Taking his second Modified feature win in a row was Salem, WV’s Shawn Davis.  Also collecting exciting wins were Gary Dalton (Morgantown WV) for his third Commonwealth Marketing Group Super Late Model feature event and Lemont Furnace’s Ryan Newman who picked up his second Ft. Necessity Garage Charger main.   Mike Duritsky (Uniontown) won his first Dick Rugh’s Auto Parts Street Stock feature of the season and Greenwood, WV’s Derek Doll found victory lane for the first time at the Knob in the Brooks Auto Group FASTRAK Late Models.
Deana Groves took the lead at the start of the 20-lap South Fayette Nursing Center Modified Special. Groves looked strong l eading the first seven laps before Bobby Bennett took over. Bennett led for three laps then first time visitor Darren Glover forged ahead on lap eleven. Glover appeared to be headed to the win when Shawn Davis blew past with just three laps to go, and Davis went on to score his second feature in as many visits. Louie Krushansky rode home second over Glover, Vic Vandergrift, Groves, Be Thorn, Bruce Dreistadt, Josh Cramer, Jeff Hess and Frank Billie. Grabbing heat wins were Krushansky and Vandergrift.
The Super Late Models found LC Powers leading lap one before the high flying Chad McClellan took over on lap two. McClellan and Doug Horton then put on a show for the fans. The two went back and forth swapping the top spot through the traffic before a lapped car spun in front of the pair collecting McClellan and ending a great run. On the restart, Horton took off from the field and had a commanding lead built up as tenth starting Gary Dalton moved into second and tried to chase him down. A caution with five to go closed up the field and on the restart
Dalton tried to hold onto Horton, but lost some ground. Then as the two to go signal was shown, Dalton20suddenly propelled like a launched rocket and caught Horton passing him for the lead coming out of turn four. Dalton
maintained the point for the final two laps to take his second win of the weekend. Horton held on for second over Tim Senic, LC Powers and Jeff Ferguson. Six through ten were Jim Kutas, John Garvin, Donnie Dotson, Danny Pugh and Bob Gordon. Horton and McClellan were heat winners.
The Street Stock feature provided another great finish. Joe Wrona led the field at the start of the 15-lap feature. Wrona was fast and steady, leading all but the lap that counted. While Wrona held off some tough competitors during the event, Mike Duritsky made his move count, diving to the inside and he blew past race long leader Wrona on the final lap to take his first win of the season. Wrona was second followed by Bob Nelson, Jim Bendishaw, Jr., Jim Byers, Todd Dennis, Marshall Coleman, Charlie McClain, Barry Faris and Bob Miller. Tom Newman, Bob Nelson and Duritsky took the heat wins.
Up next were the FASTRAK Late Models. Derek Rogers took off at the start to lead the first six laps before Derek Doll made the winning pass on lap seven. Doll then pulled away from the field to score his first-ever Roaring Knob feature win. Dusty Hamrick came from 11th to take second ahead of Ricky Meglaye followed by young Bobby Cossell for a solid fourth and Troy Shields rounded out the top five.  Rogers, Greg Tressler, Chris Angelicchio, Garry Sisson and Jeremy Zufal completed the top ten. Heat winners were Angelicchio and Green.
Ryan Newman started outside pole of the 12-lap nite-cap Charger feature. Newman took the lead right at the start and never looked back on his way to his second feature win this season. Newman was hounded by Kyle Burkholder to the finish. Behind Newman and Burkholder were Kenny Burkholder, Brad Jenkins (from the tail after a spin), Bob Matthews, Marty Spade, Jr., Russell Baird, Jr. Justin Howell, JT Baird and CJ Nicola. Kenny Burkholder and Brad Jenkins took the heat wins. 
Upcoming Events:
August 22:  Fort Necessity Garage 20-lap Charger Special & the rescheduled Dick Rugh’s Auto Parts Street Stock 20-lap Special plus Super Late Models, FASTRAK Late Models and Modifieds / $10 Gen. Adm.  Kids 10 & under Free.
August 29:  Five Division Action Racing
Sept. 5:  Five Division Action Racing – Commonwealth Marketing Group Night &
Holiday Fireworks presented by CMG.

Commonwealth Marketing Group Super Late Models
Heat Race Winners:  Doug Horton, Chad McClellan
Feature (25 Laps):  1) Gary Dalton, 2) Doug Horton, 3) Tim Senic, 4) LC Powers, 5) Jeff Ferguson, 6) Jim Kutas, 7) John Garvin, 8) Donnie Dotson, 9) Danny Pugh, 10) Bob Gordon, 11) Mason Zeigler, 12) Rich Logan, 13) Richard Frazier, 14) Chad McClellan, 15) Jim Pyles, 16) Billy Holbert, 17) Danny Mitchell, 18) DNS Stanley Spooner, 19) DNS Kenny Mitchell
Brooks Auto Group FASTRAK Late Models
Heat Race Winners:  Chris Angelicchio, Chad Green
Feature (20 Laps):  1) Derek Doll, 2) Dusty Hamrick, 3) Ricky Meglaye, 4) Bobby Cossell Jr., 5) Troy Shields, 6) Derek Rogers, 7) Greg Tressler, 8) Chris Angelicchio, 9) Garry Sisson, 10) Jeremy Zufall, 11) Mike Howell,=2 012) Roger Laughlin, 13) Quinton Weyandt, 14) Daniel Hill, 15) Tom Sieger, 16) Bill Shaffer, 17;) Jayme Beck, 18) Chad Green
So. Fayette Nursing Center Modifieds
Heat Race Winners:  Louie Krushansky, Vic Vandergrift
Feature (20 Laps):  1) Shawn Davis, 2) Louie Krushansky, 3) Darren Glover, 4) Vic Vandergrift, 5) Deana Groves, 6) Be Thorn, 7) Bruce Dreistadt, 8) Josh Cramer, 9) Jeff Hess, 10) Frank Billie, 11) Steve Higgins, 12) Josh Revels, 13) Bobby Bennett, 14) Nick Cramer
Dick Rugh's Auto Parts Street Stocks
Heat Race Winners:  Tom Newman, Bob Nelson, Mike Duritsky
Feature (15 Laps):  1) Mike Duritsky, 2) Joe Wrona, 3) Bob Nelson, 4) Jimmy Bendishaw Jr., 5) Jim Byers, 6) Todd Dennis, 7) Marshall Coleman, 8) Charlie McClain, 9) Barry Faris, 10) Bob Miller, 11) Lee Mansberry, 12) John Redshaw, 13) Chris Lucy, 14) EJ Rozak, 15) Tom Newman, 16) Justin Sinnett, 17) Russell Baird, 18) Scott Herring, 19) DNS Kenny Francy, 20) DNS J.R. Swiger, 21) DNS Chris Henry, 22) DNS Josh Bendishaw
Ft. Necessity Garage Chargers
Heat Race Winners:  Kyle Burkholder, Brad Jenkins
Feature (12 Laps):  1) Ryan Newman, 2) Kyle Burkholder, 3) Kenny Burkholder, 4) Brad Jenkins, 5) Bob Matthews, 6) Marty Spade Jr., 7) Russell Baird Jr., 8) Justin Howell, 9) JT Baird, 10) CJ Nicola, 11) Eric Miller, 12) Mark Sullivan, 13) Andy Vogel, 14) Dave Wallace, 15) Jerry Walters, 16) Donny Walters, 17) DNS Bus Matthews

Return-to-Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex News & Results