Bridesmaid No More, Doug Horton Ends 2-Year Dry Spell with Resounding Win at Roaring Knob; Kyle Thomas Collects 1st FASTRAK Win. Senic & Vandergrift Secure Division Championship Titles

Date: 8/30/2009 9:27:32 PM

Media Contact:  Judy Gower 724-853-7223,
August 30, 2009
Bridesmaid No More, Doug Horton Ends 2-Year Dry Spell with Resounding Win at Roaring Knob; Kyle Thomas Collects 1st FASTRAK Win.  Senic & Vandergrift Secure Division Championship Titles
MARKLEYSBURG, PA (Aug. 29) – After numerous second place finishes, Doug Horton finally broke back into victory lane Saturday night at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex by winning the 25-lap Commonwealth Marketing Group Super Late Model feature. Kyle Thomas of
Pennsboro, WV went home happy as well after winning his first ever Brooks Auto Group FASTRAK Late Model feature at the track. Vic Vandergrift (So. Fayette Nursing Center Modifieds) and Marty Spade, Jr. (Ft. Necessity Garage Chargers) won their fifth features of the season while Jimmy Bendishaw, Jr. took his third Dick Rugh’s Auto Parts Street Stock win in an action-filled show that was completed by 9:45.
The FASTRAK Late Models came out first for their 20-lap feature ev ent that went non-stop. Cody Hardesty jumped out to the initial lead and stayed there for the first eight laps. Fifth starting Kyle Thomas shot to the outside and passed Hardesty to take over on lap nine. Thomas then held off veteran Dave Groves the remaining distance to score his first-ever win on the Knob. Hardesty finished third with a fine fourth going to Ron Smithley and last week’s winner, Derek Doll, rounded out the top five. Six through ten were Dan Angelicchio,  current points leader Troy Shields, Daniel Hill, Bobby Cossell and Mike Cuthbert. Ricky Meglaye and Angelicchio were the heat winners in the 19 car field.
An invert eight placed Mel Minnick, Jr. on the pole for the 25-lap Super Late Model feature. Minnick, who was also looking to end a long dry spell in Roaring Knob victory lane, grabbed the lead at the green and took off. Tim Senic chased Minnick for the point until a lap 16 spin took him out of contention. This handed second over to Bruceton Mills WV’s Doug Horton who pressured Minnick for a circuit before zooming by on the outside in turns 1 & 2. Meanwhile tenth starting Steve Everhart had methodically worked his way up to fourth before slowing to a stop on lap 17. On the restart Horton took off again and glided to his first win at the Knob s ince July 21 of 2007. Minnick held on to second followed by Robbie Scott (in the Fred Zeigler 0z), Ron
Delano, Jr. and LC Powers. The next round of five went to Billy Holbert, Danny Pugh, Jeff Ferguson, John Garvin and Skip Hare. Bob Gordon and Horton shared the heat wins for the 17 cars on hand.
Fourth starting Kenny Burkholder wasted little time taking the lead in the 12-lap Charger feature. Burkholder, who is in a tight points battle for the division title, led the first 10 laps before ‘The Farmington Flyer’, Marty Spade, Jr., powered his way by to lead the final two laps and take his fifth win this season. Burkholder held second over Shane Wheeler, Sr., Justin Howell and CJ Nicola.  Completing the top ten were Bob Matthews, Eric Miller, JT Baird, Kyle Burkholder and Jim Bendishaw III. Heats for the 15 car field were won by Spade and Wheeler.
The Modified feature started with Deana Groves leading the first two laps before Lou Krushansky sped by. Krushansky appeared to be on his way to victory as he extended=2 0his lead over
Groves. However, ninth starting Vic Vandergrift had other plans. Vandergrift, using the high side, took second from Groves on lap ten and chased down Krushansky passing him for the lead on lap 12. Vandergrift went on to take his fifth win of the year. Krushansky was second followed by Shawn Davis, Groves, Be Thorn, Bobby Bennett, Lou Ennis, Bruce Dreistadt, Nick Cramer and Josh Cramer. Krushansky and Vandergrift won the heats for the 14 mods.
In the final feature of the evening, Uniontown’s Jim Bendishaw, Jr. shot from his fourth starting spot to grab the lead and he never looked back. Rebounding from last week’s early misfortune in the Street Stock Special, Bendishaw led all 15-laps of Saturday’s main event for his third win of the year. Todd Dennis chased him throughout, but at the checkers settled for second with Tom Newman third, Bob Nelson fourth, and John Redshaw fifth. Chris Lucy, Marshall Coleman, Bob Miller, Russell Baird, Sr. and Charlie McClain rounded out the top ten. Bendishaw and Dennis shared the heat wins for the 17 car field.
Coming up next week September 5 it is Commonwealth Marketing Group Night. A huge Fireworks display presented by CMG will be shot off after dark in honor of the Labor Day Holiday. It is also the final points night for all five divisions with close battles for the track championships remaining in the FASTRAK Late Models, Street Stocks and Chargers.  Tim Senic (Super Late Models) and Vic Vandergrift (Modifieds) mathematically locked up their respective Division Championship titles Saturday night.  September 12 marks the date of the season finale when the UFo Tour lands on the Knob for the $6000 to win, Area 51 Lap Super Late Model “King of the Knob”   Joining the Super Lates on the season’s final racing program will be the FASTRAK Late Models, Street Stocks and Chargers.  For more information regarding the remainder of the racing schedule at Roaring Knob, visit the web site at or call the business office during the week at 724-853-7223.
Commonwealth Marketing Group Super Late Models
Heat Race Winners:  Bob Gordon, Doug Horton
Feature (25 Laps):  1) Doug Horton, 2) Mel Minnick Jr., 3) Robbie Scott, 4) Ron Delano Jr., 5) LC Powers, 6) Billy Holbert, 7) Danny Pugh, 8) Jeff Ferguson, 9) John Garvin, 10) Skip Hare, 11) Tim Senic, 12) Mason Zeigler, 13) Tracie Sampson, 14) Jim Kutas, 15) Jim Pyles, 16) Bob Gordon, 17) Steve Everhart
Brooks Auto Group FASTRAK Late Models
Heat Race Winners:  Ricky Meglaye, Dan Angelicchio
Feature (20 Laps):  1) Kyle Thomas, 2) Dave Groves, 3) Cody Hardesty, 4) Ron Smithley, 5) Derek Doll, 6) Dan Angelicchio, 7) Troy Shields, 8) Daniel Hill, 9) Bobby Cossell Jr., 10) Mike Cuthbert, 11) Garry Sisson, 12) Tyler Dietz, 13) Mike Howell, 14) Derek Rogers, 15) Ricky Meglaye, 16) Dave Airgood Jr., 17) Roger Laughlin, 18) Tom Sieger, 19) Dusty Hamrick
South Fayette Nursing Center Modifieds
Heat Race Winners:  Louie Krushansky, Vic Vandergrift
Feature (15 Laps):  1) Vic Vandergrift, 2) Louie Krushansky, 3) Shawn Davis, 4) Dean a Groves, 5) Be Thorn, 6) Bobby Bennett, 7) Lou Ennis, 8) Bruce Dreistadt, 9) Nick Cramer, 10) Josh Cramer, 11) Jeff Hess, 12) Rod Lanham, 13) Ken Harris, 14) DNS Frank Billie
Dick Rugh’s Auto Parts Street Stocks
Heat Race Winners:  Jimmy Bendishaw Jr., Todd Dennis
Feature (15 Laps):  1) Jimmy Bendishaw Jr., 2) Todd Dennis, 3) Tom Newman, 4) Bob Nelson, 5) John Redshaw, 6) Chris Lucy, 7) Marshall Coleman, 8) Bob Miller, 9) Russell Baird, 10) Charlie McClain, 11) Barry Faris, 12) Chris Henry, 13) Joe Wrona, 14) Lee Mansberry, 15) Willie Porter, 16) Randy Bohan, 17) DNS Kenny Francy
Fort Necessity Garage C hargers
Heat Race Winners:  Marty Spade Jr., Shane Wheeler Sr.
Feature (12 Laps):  1) Marty Spade Jr., 2) Kenny Burkholder, 3) Shane Wheeler, 4) Justin Howell, 5) CJ Nicola, 6) Bob Matthews, 7) Eric Miller, 8) JT Baird, 9) Kyle Burkholder, 10) Jimmy Bendishaw III, 11) Russell Baird Jr., 12) Jerry Walters, 13) Dylan Higbee, 14) Ryan Newman, 15) DNS Bus Matthews

Return-to-Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex News & Results