Date: 7/26/2009 1:36:45 PM


Dog Hollow Speedway

3072 Route 403 Highway North

Northern Cambria, PA 15714

By Terry Whetstone

Public Relations


For immediate release                                                                                       July 24, 2009


STRONGSTOWN, PA – Dog Hollow Speedway paid tribute to its 2008 Super Late Model point champion Friday night with the inaugural Shawn “Sheetz” McGarvey Top Dog Shootout. McGarvey was killed in a work related accident just before the 2009 season ended and Chad McClellan of Stoystown picked up that win. McClellan also won his career first Townsend Gas and Oil Super Late Model Feature earlier in the night.

Tommy Snyder of Mayport picked up the Stoystown Auto Wreckers Fastrak Late Model Touring Series special.

Other new winners on Trico Welding Trophy night were: Matt Summers of Leechburg in the Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks and Joey Petyak of Gallitzin in the Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinder Sidewinders.

Nick Goss of Punxsutawney picked up his fifth Valenti’s Excavating Street Stock feature win while Tom Pavelko of Cherry Tree garnered his third Texas Auto Ranch Modified Four Cylinder win.

Chad McClellan and John Britsky led the late model field to the start with McClellan taking the lead and he held it for two laps, before Britsky charged into the lead off the fourth turn. He set the pace for just two laps, when McClellan battled back to regain the lead on lap five.

            Sammy Stile was working his way to the front of the field after starting eighth while Britsky and McClellan continued to battle. By the 15th lap Stile was second, but a caution on lap 19 set up a two lap shootout with McClellan leading and Stile second with Britsky third. The restart saw McClellan pull away and Stile trying his all to get the lead, but Stile bobbled in the second turn and Britsky shot under him but could not catch McClellan. At the finish the top five were: McClellan, Britsky, Stile, Rick Strong and Dane Laraway. Chad McClellan, John Britsky and Dane Laraway won the heats.

            Tommy Snyder and Andrew Satterlee led the Fastrak Late Models to the green with Snyder taking the lead. While he may have led from the start, he certainly didn’t have it easy, as first Satterlee tried to take the lead then it was Mike Blose who moved into second. Blose was all over Snyder like a bad dream, but the Mayport Missile was in fine form and held off his competitors the rest of the way in the Fastrak Touring Series special. The top five were: Snyder, Blose, David Scott, Bobby Powell and Bud Watson. Heat wins went to Mike Blose, Cody Hardesty, Tom Snyder and Joe Martin. The twin 12 lap “B” mains were won by John Watson and Thomas Schirnhofer Jr.,

            Jim Boyer and Mike Valazek led the street stocks to the green with Boyer taking the lead and Nick Goss moving into second at the start and starting to hound Boyer for the lead. On the fourth lap Goss was able to muscle the lead away from Boyer, but Boyer fought back as Josh Jacoby joined the battle but when the checkered flag wave it was all  Goss at the line. The top five were: Goss, Boyer, Jacoby, Brian Duffy and Valazek. Nick Goss and Jim Boyer split the heat wins.

            Bryan Small and Matt Summers led the pure stocks to the green as Small actually led the opening lap, but then Summers took the lead. As Summer led second was a battle as well, as Jeremy Shaffer and Davey Lee fought for the position with Shaffer taking second on lap two and holding Lee at bay while trying to muscle past Summers, but Shaffer suffered a flat and pitted giving second to Lee. At the finish the top five were: Summers for his first win in several years, Lee, Jeremy Buck, John Mazey and Ron Hanna. Matt Summers and Jeremy Shaffer split heat wins.

            In the four cylinder sidewinders Ryan Claycomb and Rick Lamer sat on the front row, as Joey Petyak got spun at the drop of the green flag and was forced to tail the field. On the complete restart Claycomb took the lead and Marc Kepple was second with third being a number of drivers. Chris Hickok moved into second and Kepple began to fade as Claycomb continued to lead.

            As the crowd watched the drivers at the front, an irritated Petyak was coming from the rear and was sitting third on the sixth lap. Petyak passed Hickok for second on lap eight and by lap 10 he was out front and never gave up the spot. Claycomb, Hickok, Kepple and Adam Oldfield completed the top five. Joey Petyak, Ryan Claycomb and Brent Sholtis claimed heat race wins.

            Tom Pavelko beat Bob Pease off the line at the start of the modified four cylinder feature and never relinquished the lead as he claimed his third win of the season over Jason Bialowas, Mark Maglet, Pease and Jay Schettini. Tom Pavelko won the heat.

            The inaugural Shawn “Sheetz” McGarvey Top Dog Shootout saw 19 of the 23 late model drivers in the pits answer the call for the challenge as five drivers in the challenge to take the $888 top prize. In victory lane, after accepting the trophy from Patty McGarvey, widow of Sheetz McGarvey, McClellan said he was giving $188 of his winnings back to Mrs. McGarvey and her daughter, Kelli.

DOG TRAX: 128 cars packed the pits with 23 super late models, 33 Fastrak late models, 18 street stocks, 17 pure stocks, 31 four cylinders and six modified four cylinders…Max Blair flipped his #111 in the heat race and the car was repaired for the “B” main and Blair qualified for the A main through that before starting 24th in the feature. He finished seventh…Bob Helsel’s pure stock caught on fire in the heat race, he was not injured…Employee Fred Fisher was transported to the hospital with chest pains as the evening was winding down….This week is the Frank Mayak memorial for the super late models, Fastrak late models, street stocks, pure stocks and both divisions of four cylinders. Plus it is firefighter and EMT night. All firefighters and EMTS, with proof, will be admitted to the grandstands free. For more details check out the website at




Townsend Gas and Oil Late Models: 1. Chad McClellan, Stoystown; 2. John Britsky, 3. Sammy Stile, 4. Rick Strong, 5. Dane Laraway, 6. Bobby Stokes, 7. Dwayne Taneyhill, 8. Clate Copeman, 9. Rodney Phillips, 10. Billy Eash, 11. Jim Parson, Jr. 12. Todd Baumgardner, 13. Billy Dickson, 14. Dan Lee, 15. John Myers, 16. Paul Dominick, 17. Mike Ziner, 18. Rick Davis, 19. Josh Jacoby, 20. Jeff Weakland, 21. Mike Steck, 22. Tom Shaffer, 23. Shane McMeans.


Fastrak Late Model Touring Series: 1. Tom Snyder, Mayport; 2. Mike Blose, 3. Dave Scott, 4. Bobby Powell, 5. Bud Watson, 6. Gary Knollinger, 7. Max Blair, 8. Kirby Tucker, 9. Carl McKinney, 10. Butch Lambert, 11. Andrew Satterlee, 12. Chris Force, 13. Cody Hardesty, 14. Chris Schnieder, 15. Thomas Schirnhofer Jr., 16. Bryan Force, 17. Mike Laughard, 18. John Eckenrod, 19. Chris Smithley, 20. Joe Martin, 21. Mike Pegher, 22. John Watson, 23. Shane McMeans, 24. Dan Angelicchio.


Vaenti’s Excavating Street Stocks: 1. Nick Goss, Punxsutawney; 2. Jim Boyer, 3. Josh Jacoby, 4. Brian Duuffy, 5. Mike Valazek, 6. John McCann, 7. Charlie trice, 8. Scott Bowman, 9. Andy Klingensmith, 10. Corey Neal.


Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks: 1. Matt Summers, Leechburg: 2. Davey Lee, 3. Jeremy Buck, 4. John Mazey, 5. Ron Hanna, 6. Bernie Whetstone, 7. Tom Wagner, 8. Kylie Hamilton, 9. Ryan Weakland, 10. Nathan Howell.


Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinders: 1. Joey Petyak, Gallitzin; 2. Ryan Claycomb, 3. Chris Hickok, 4. Marc Kepple, 5. Adam Oldfield, 6. Chris Yoder, 7. Brent Sholtis; 8. Donny Lechak; 9. Adam Pletcher; 10. Thomas Whiteford


Texas Auto Ranch Modified Four Cylinders: 1. Tom Pavelko, Cherry Tree; 2. Jason Bialowas; 3. Mark Maglet; 4. Bob Pease; 5. Jay Schettini; 6. Robert Lydic

Return-to-Dog Hollow Speedway