Date: 8/9/2009 9:54:04 PM

Dog Hollow Speedway
3072 Route 403 Highway North
Northern Cambria, PA 15714
For immediate release August 7, 2009
STRONGSTOWN, PA - Clate Copeman of Greensburg in the Townsend Gas and oil Late Models and Marc Kepple of Johnstown in the Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinder Sidewinders picked up their first wins of 2009 at Dog Hollow Speedway on Tire Express Trophy night.
Repeat winners included Mike Pegher Jr. of Cranberry Township in the Stoystown Auto Wreckers Fastrak Late Models in the Frank Mayak Memorial, Nick Goss of Punxsutawney in the Valenti’s Excavating Street Stocks, Davey Lee of Windber in the Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks and Tom Pavelko of Cherry Tree in the Texas Auto Ranch Modified Four Cylinders.
Bobby Stokes and Rick Davis led the late model feature to the start with Stokes taking the lead while Davis was in second and Sammy Stile was third. Then Davis got high and Stile and Clate Copeman led a charge past him into second and third.
As Stokes led a caution waved on lap eight and forced a double file restart, with Copeman now in second and lining up beside Stokes, with Copeman taking the lead and setting the pace. Stokes stayed in second and third was Stile, with Dane Laraway, Chad McClellan and John Britsky all jockeying for third. At the finish it was Copeman getting his first win of the season with Stokes in second, Stile in third, Britsky in fourth and Laraway fifth. Heat races were won by Clate Copeman, Sammy Stile and Chad McClellan.
The Fastrak late models put on a tough battle the whole time with Joey Valenti and Ron Smithley on the front row with a muilti-car tangle in turn two relegating Kirby Tucker to the pits from his fourth place starting spot. On the complete restart it was Blose taking the lead and setting the pace for 14 laps with Tommy Snyder in second and pressuring Blose for the lead. As the top two were dueling Mike Pegher, Daniel Angelicchio and Valenti were waging their own fight, the Pegher wrestled his way to third and he was third when the caution waved on lap 14.
Blose and Snyder continued to battle on the restart as Pegher went to the outside and passed both for he lead off the second turn. The final caution waved on lap 15 and regrouped the field again, but Blose and Snyder didn’t have anything for the young driver, who went on to win his second feature of the season. Valenti was second with Angelicchio, Tyler Dietz and Bernie Whiteford completing the top five. Heat wins went to Mike Blose, Tommy Snyder and Kirby Tucker.
The street stocks were led from green to checked by inside pole sitter Nick Goss. He took the lead from fellow front row starter Jim Boyer and held Boyer at bay for the first 11 la ps before Josh Jacoby made his way into second from last. Jacoby then challenged Goss for the top spot the final four laps, but Goss held him off for his sixth win of the season. Jacoby, Boyer, Denny Keener and Mike Valazek completed the top five. Heat wins went to Nick Goss and Jim Boyer.
Ron Hannah and Justin Queen led the pure stocks to the start and the pair ran door-to-door out of turn two, when Queen developed a miss and dropped off the pace as Davey Lee took the lead and led the opening lap. Lee never looked back, as he held off Rich Powell and then Jeremy Shaffer for his third win of he season. The top five were: Lee, Shaffer, Powell, Matt Summers and Steve Matko. Heat wins went to Davey Lee and Justin Queen.
Marc Kepple and Donny Lechak led the four cylinders to the start with Kepple taking the lead and Lechak was in second with David Rocker in third. Rocker then moved into the second spot on lap two then he led lap three, before Kepple was back out front. Kepple then had to hold off Ryan Claycomb, who took the lead on lap six and Kepple fell to second, but he never gave up and went to the front with one lap to go, and at the line it was Kepple getting his career first won over Claycomb, Adam Pletcher, Joey Petyak and Chris Yoder. Heat wins went to Ryan Claycomb, Adam Pletcher and Chris Yoder.
The modified four cylinders were brought to the start with Chris Decker and Tom Pavelko on the front row with third place Mark Maglet leading the first lap, before Pavelko too the lead and held off Maglet the rest of the way. The win was Pavelko’s fifth win of the season. Maglet, Jay Schettini and Decker completed the field.
DOG TRACKS: 114 teams pulled into the pits, including 21 late models, 22 Fastrak late models, 19 street stocks, 18 pure stocks, 29 four cylinder sidewinders and five modified four cylinders….Nanty Glo Auto Parts will sponsor this weeks action and it’s banner night. Make a banner of your favorite driver and display at intermission…the four cylinder sidewinder powder puff was won by Angie Powell over Tina Beals…There will be a regular show for the late models, Fastrak late models, street stocks, pure stocks, four cylinder sidewinder and modified four cylinders. Race time is at 7:30 p.m. For more details check the website at
Townsend Gas and Oil Super Late Models: 1. Clate Copeman, Greensburg; 2. Bobby Stokes, 3. Sam Stile, 4. John Britsky, 5. Dan Laraway, 6. Ron Delano Jr., 7. Chad McClellan, 8. Rick Davis, 9. Dwayne Taneyhill, 10. Billy Dickson, 11. Dan Lee, 12. Paul Dominick, 13. John Myers, 14. Mike Ziner, 15. Chris Rhodes, 16. Dan Swartzlander, 17. Randy Smithley, 18. Rodney Phillips, 19. Rick Strong, 20. Jim Whiteford, 21.20Chad Helman.
Stoystown Auto Wreckers Fastrak Late Models: 1. Mike Pegher, Jr., Cranberry Township; 2. Joey Valenti, 3. Daniel Angelicchio, 4. Tyler Dietz, 5. Bernie Whiteford, 6. Mike Blose, 7. Joe Martin, 8. Paul Michny, 9. Ron Smithley, 10. Chris Force, 11. Bryan Force, 12. Shawn Shaltenbrand, 13. Dave Day, 14. Andrew Wyle, 15. Quinton Wyandt, 16. Troy Shields, 17. Matt Bassaro, 18. Tommy Snyder, 19. John Eckenrod, 20. Steve Huey, 21. Kirby Tucker, 22. Joe Zulisky.
Valenti’s Excavating Street Stocks: 1. Nick Goss, Punxsutawney; 2. Josh Jacoby, 3. Jim Boyer, 4. Denny Keener, 5. Mike Valazek, 6. John McCamm, 7. Charlie Trice, 8. Alex Kirsch, 9. Charlie McClain, 10. Adam Fulton.
Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks: 1. Davey Lee, Windber; 2. Jeremy Shaffer, 3. Rich Powell, 4. Matt Summers, 5. Steve Matko, 6. Ryan Jacoby, 7. Adam Laughard, 8. Gary Shaffer, 9. Nathan Howell, 10. Marty Daughenbaugh.
Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinder Sidewinders: 1. Marc Kepple, Johnstown; 2. Ryan Claycomb, 3. Adam pletcher, 4. Joe Petyak, 5. Chris Yoder, 6. David Rocker, 7. Paul Little, 8. Wes McKeel, 9. Thomas Whiteford, 10. Dan Sholtis.
Texas Auto Ranch Modified Four Cylinders. 1. Tom Pavelko, Cherry Tree; 2. Mark Maglet, 3. Jay Schettini, 4. Craig Decker.

Return-to-Dog Hollow Speedway