Date: 8/23/2009 12:06:26 AM

Dog Hollow Speedway
3072 Route 403 Highway North

Northern Cambria, PA 15714



For immediate release                                                                          August 21, 2009
STRONGSTOWN, PA – Texas Auto Ranch sponsored the nights racing activities at Dog Hollow Speedway Friday night with Mike Blose of New Bethlehem picking up his career first win in the Stoystown Auto Wrecking Fastrak Late Models. Blose won earlier this season in a super late models before dropping back to the Fastrak division.
Repeat winners include Sammy Stile of Charleroi in the Townsend Gas and Oil Super Late Models, Nick Goss of Punxsutawney in the Valenti’s Excavating Street Stocks, Jeremy Shaffer of Derry in the Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks, Joey Petyak of Gallitzin in the Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinder Sidewinders and Mark Maglet of Nanty Glo in the Texas Auto Ranch Modified Four Cylinders.
            The late models were led to the green with Dane Laraway and John Britsky on the front row with Laraway taking the lead. As Laraway led, Britsky fell to third, and Sammy Stile moved into second and began to pressure his teammate, but a caution on lap three slowed the field.
            On the restart Laraway was still the leader, but Britsky got under Stile for second and then entering the third turn Britsky slammed into Laraway, turning both cars sideways as they exited turn four. Stile was able to get the lead as Laraway recovered in sixth place. The caution finally flew when Britsky drifted to a stop on the front stretch.
            On the restart Stile was still leading and never relinquished the spot as Clate Copeman moved to second and tried to catch the leader, but to no avail. The top five were: Stile, Copeman, Dwayne Taneyhill, Rick Strong and Billy Eash. Heat wins were split between Rick Strong and Billy Eash.
            The Fastrak late model feature saw Mike Blose and Chris Schneider on the front row with Blose taking the lead and Kirby Tucker falling into second with Dan Karalagas in third. Blose continued to set the pace with the battle for second heating up between Tucker, Karalagas, Schneider and Daniel Angelicchio.
            As the leaders entered lapped traffic on lap 14, the battle for second got a little tighter, with Karalagas having nowhere to go and tagged Tucker, spinning Tucker and initiating a caution. On the restart Angelicchio was third behind Tucker as Blose was in his own race. The white flag lap saw Angelicchio shoot to the outside of Tucker for second and at the line, it was Angelicchio for second. The top five were: Blose, Angelicchio, Tucker, Tommy Snyder and Chris Schneider. Heat wins went to Mike Blose, Daniel Angelicchio and Butch Lambert.
            The street stock point battle is heating up and top contenders Jim Boyer and Nick Goss are continuing to battle it out on the track. The field was led by Matt Hugill and Mike Valazek on the front row as the green waved at the start, with Valazek taking the lead as Hugill was second with Goss in third. On lap two Goss was second and by the third lap he went to the outside of Valazek for the lead. Boyer followed suit and the two were nose to tail the rest of the way, but it was Goss who was victorious for the seventh time this season. Boyer, Valazek, Denny Keener and Hugill completed the top five. Jim Boyer and Andy Klingensmith split heat wins.
            Jeremy Shaffer and Justin Queen led the pure stock feature to the start with Shaffer leading the first lap before a caution slowed the action. On the restart Shaffer was still out front but he wasn’t alone, as Tim Laughard, Davey Lee and Steve Matko were hounding him for the lead. As the race wore on it was still Shaffer out front, but then with just one lap left, the caution waved and regrouped the field.
            On the restart Shaffer and Matko hooked bumpers in the second turn making the top four tighter and allowing fifth place Bernie Whetstone to close on the action. As the two lap shoot out continued Shaffer was able to regain control of the race and get the win by a few inches over Davey Lee at the line. The top five, tentatively were: Shaffer, Lee, Laughard, Matko and Whetstone. A post race tech found both Laughard and Matko disqualified. The new top five were: Shaffer, Lee, Whetstone, Rich Powell and John Mazey. Heat wins went to John Mazey and Davey Lee.
            Joey Petyak and Adam Pletcher led the four cylinder feature to the star t with Petyak taking the lead and holding all challengers at bay the rest of the way. Thomas Whiteford held on to second for much of the race with Brent Sholtis third but late in the race Whiteford dropped off the pace and Sholtis took over second. At the finish the top five were: Petyak, Sholtis, Chris Yoder, Ryan Claycomb and David Rocker. Heat wins went to Joey Petyak, Brent Sholtis and Donny Lechak.
            Mark Maglet and Robert Lydic led the modified four cylinders to the start with Maglet taking the lead and holding off Tom Pavelko for his second win of the season. Lydic was third. Mark Maglet also won the heat.
DOG TRAX: 104 cars filled the pits, including:18 super late models, 24 Fastrak late models, 11 street stocks, 19 pure stocks, 28 four cylinders and 3 modified four cylinders…Coming up this week TH Port-a-Johns will sponsor the trophies for the late models, Fastrak late models, street stocks, pure stocks, four cylinder sidewinders and modified four cylinders…There will also be a mechanics race for the Fastrak late models…Only three more races remain this season as the points continue to tighten up. For more details check the website at
Townsend Gas and Oil Super Late Models: 1. Sammy Stile, Charleroi; 2. Clate Copeman, 3. Dwayne Taneyhill, 4. Rick Strong, 5. Billy Each, 6. Ron Delano, 7. Bobby Stokes, 8. Dane Laraway, 9. Billy Dickson, 10. Randy Smithley, 11. Chad Helman, 12. Rick Davis, 13. John Myers, 14. Dan Swartzlander, 145 Mike Ziner, 16. Chad McClellan, 17. Sam Gindlesperger, 18. John Britsky.
Stoystown Auto Wreckers Fastrak Late Models: 1. Mike Blose, New Bethlehem; 2. Daniel Angelicchio, 3. Kirby Tucker, 4. Tommy Snyder, 5. Chris Schneider, 6. Butch Lambert, 7. Joe Martin, 8. Mike Pegher Jr., 9. Ron Smithley, 10. Dave Day, 11. Mike Laughard, 12. Rudy Bassaro, 13. Joe Zulisky, 14. Quinton Wyandt, 15. John Eckenrod, 16. Dan Karalagas, 17. Andrew Wyle, 18. Bernie Whiteford, 19. Shawn Shaltenbrand, 20. Bryan Force, 21. Chris Force, 22. Joey Valenti, 23. Steve Huey.
Jeff Enos did not start.
Valenti Excavating Street Stocks: 1. Nick Goss, Punxsutawney, 2. Jim Boyer, 3. Mike Valazek, 4. Denny Keener, 5. Matt Hugill, 6. Andy Klingensmith, 7. Charlie Trice, 8. Alex Kirsh, 9. Scott Good, 10. Adam Fulton.
Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks: 1. Jeremy Shaffer, Derry; 2. Davey Lee, 3. Bernie Whetstone, 4. Rich Powell, 5. John Mazey, 6. Tom Wagner, 7. Ron Hanna, 8. Ryan Weakland, 9. Kylie Hamilton, 10. Nathan Howell.
Texas Auto Ranch Four Cylinder Sidewinders: 1. Joe Petyak, Gallitzin, 2. Brent Sholtis, 3. Chris Yoder, 4. Ryan Claycomb, 5. Jeremy Paulson, 6. Paul Little, 7. Marc Kepple, 8. Wes McKeel, 9. Donny Lechak, 10. Adam Pletcher.

Return-to-Dog Hollow Speedway