Date: 5/9/2010 2:46:24 AM

Dog Hollow Speedway
3072 Route 403 Highway North
Northern Cambria, PA 15714
By Terry Whetstone

For immediate release                                May 7, 2010

STRONGSTOWN, PA - Tire Express Trophy night produced four new winners at Dog Hollow Speedway Friday night , with Ron Delano, Jr. of Stoystown copping the Townsend Gas and Oil Super Late Models, Dan Angelicchio of Greensburg picked up the Force Paving/Zero Wrap Fastrak Late Models, while Bob Conner of DuBois won the Stoystown Auto Wreckers Street Stocks and John Mazey of Bolivar copped the Brush Valley Tire Pure Stock main event.
Repeat winners included Adam Pletcher of Tire Hill in the Four Cylinders and Tom Pavelko of Cherry Tree continued to dominate the modified four cylinders.
Matt Gaston and Clate Copeman led the Super Late Models to the green and it was Gaston taking the lead and setting the pace. He held off ever challenge thrown at him, until a caution with just five laps to go.
As he was setting the pace on the restart Ron Delano came from fourth and charged to the inside to take second as the caution waved again on lap 16. On that restart Delano began to battle Gaston for the lead, but Gaston actually pulled away by a few car lengths, but Delano battled back and as the field entered turn two on the last lap, Delano went under Gastgon, off turn two the were side-by-side as they entered turns three and four, and out of four it was Delano getting the win. Gaston was a close second, John Britsky was third, Keith Barbara was fourth and Copeman was fifth. Heat wins went to Delano and Copeman.
A mechanical breakdown on the way to the track nearly kept Daniel Angelicchio from ending the night with a win. The Greensburg racer led from start to finish with Andrew Satterlee then Bryan Force challenging Angelicchio for the lead, but Angelicchio wasn’t about to relinquish the top spot, as he went on to take his first win of the season. Force, Mike Blose, Satterlee ad Chris Force completed the top five. Angelicchio and Blose copped the heats.
In the street stock feature it was a barn-burner from the start. Bob Conner and Ray Hickok led the field to the start and it was Conner who took the lead but Nick Goss, last weeks winner, was making his way to the front. By the 10th lap he was fourth and closing on the leader, and on lap 11, Goss went from fourth to second and he found the groove to reel in Conner.
Goss caught the leader with just a few laps left and was throwing everything he had at him and on the last lap Goss went under Conner but came up a few inches short at the line. The top five were: Conner, Goss, Josh Jacoby, Hickok and Jim Boyer. Goss and Tim Bish won the heats.
Crazy John Mazey led the pure stock feature from the start with Tim Laughard, Matt Summers, Daren Desch and Jeremy Shafefer chasing him, then Shaffer dropped out of contention, drifting off the backstretch and tightening the field.
On the restart Mazey continued to lead, with the top five now Mazey, Summers, Laughard, Justin Queen and Tom Wagner. The top four jockeyed for position the rest of the race as Mazey led, by a car and a half, second was constantly changing, as Summers, Laughard and Queen all battled for the spot, with the win going to Mazey, the top five were: Laughard in second with Summers third, Queen fourth and Wagner fifth. Heat wins went to Summers and Shaffer.
The Four Cylinders went green with Mark Wetzel Jr. taking the lead and setting the pace for the first four laps, with Adam Pletcher coming from sixth to take the lead on lap five. Once he was in the lead, Pletcher was never challenged as he went on to his second win of the young season. Bob Pease was second with Wetzel, Chris Yoder and Shawn Hadden completing the top five. Heat wins went to Pletcher, Pease and Yoder.
The Modified Four Cylinders were once again dominated by Tom Pavelko. He came from eight to take the lead on lap eight when early race leader Chris Hickok tangled with lapped traffic and left the backstretch. The top five at the checkered were: Pavelko, Hickok, Johnny Miller, Mark Maglet and Matt Weakland. Pavelko won the heat.
DOG TRAX: 102 cars filled the pits, including: 18 Super Late Models, 18 Fastrak Late Models, 15 Street Stocks, 13 Pure Stocks, 30 Four Cylinders and 8 Modified Four Cylinders…The top three divisions, Super Late Models, Fastrak Late Models and Street Stocks have had different winners the first three weeks this season….The Four Cylinder Shoot out was won by Adam Pletcher. He picked up an extra $100 for his effort. Bill Hassenplug picked up $50 for second and Jesse Laughard received $25 for third. Fairland Avenue Exchange sponsored the shoot out….Coming up this Friday night is a regular show for the Super Late Models, Fastrak Late Models, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks, Four Cylinders and Modified Four Cylinders plus pure stock powder puff. Race time is 7:30 p.m…For more information check out the website at

Townsend Gas and Oil Super Late Models: 1. Ron Delano, Stoystown; 2. Matt Gaston, 3. John Britsky, 4. Keith Barbara, 5. Clate Copeman, 6. Billy Eash, 7. Chris Harr, 8. Jerry Redden, 9. Chad McClellan, 10. Dwayne Taneyhill, 11. Sammy Stile, 12. Dane Laraway, 13. Dan Lee, 14. Shane McMeans, 15. Rick Davis, 16. Sam Stiffler, 17. Chris Clark, 18. Terry Rayko.

Zero Wrap Fastrak Late Models: 1. Daniel Angelicchio, Greensburg; 2. Bryan Force; 3. Mike Blose, 4. David Scott, 5. Andrew Satterlee, 6. Chris Force, 7. Gary Knollinger, 8. Joey Valenti, 9. Mike Laughard, 10. John Eckenrod, 11. Kirby Tucker, 12. Tim Snare, Jr., 13. Ron Smithley, 14. John Over, 15. Mylan Markovich, 16. Shawn Shaltenbrand, 17. Shane Weaver, 18. Quinton Wyandt.

Stoystown Auto Wreckers Street Stocks: 1. Bob Conner, DuBois; 2. Nick Goss, 3. Josh Jacoby, 4. Ray Hickok, 5 Jim Boyer, 6. Mike Valasek, 7. Brandon Conner, 8. Tim Bish, 9. Fussy Fields, 10. Bill Pluta.

Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks: 1. John Mazey, Bolivar; 2. Tim Laughard, 3. Mat Summers, 4. Jujstin Queen, 5. Tom Wagner, 6. Eric Ager, 7. Daren Desch, 8. John Yahika, 9. Bob Helsel, 10. Jimmy Hamilton.

Four Cylinders: 1. Adam Pletcher, Tire Hill; 2. Bob Pease, 3. Mark Wetzel, Jr., 4. Chris Yoder, 5. Shawn Hadden, 6. Donny Lechak, 7. Brent Sholtis, 8. Lee Fitzpatrick, 9. Bill Hassenplug, 10. Wes McKeel

Modified Four Cylinders: 1. Tom Pavelko, Cherry Tree; 2. Chris Hickok, 3. Johnny Miller, 4. Mark Maglet, 5. Matt Weakland, 6. Robert Lydic, 7. Crayola Kie, 8. Brian Crawford.

Return-to-Dog Hollow Speedway