Date: 6/13/2010 1:21:47 PM

Dog Hollow Speedway
3072 Route 403 Highway North
Northern Cambria, PA 15714
By Terry Whetstone


For immediate release                                June 11, 2010

STRONGSTOWN, PA - Dane Laraway of Harrison City picked up his first career Townsend Gas and Oil Super Late Model feature Friday night at Dog Hollow Speedway.
Mike Pegher Jr. of Cranberry Township kept the new winners list growing in the Force Paving/Zero Wrap Fastrak Late Models and Rusty Martz of Brookville copped his first win in the Stoystown Auto Wreckers Street Stocks on Brush Valley Tire Trophy night.
Repeat winners included Jeremy Shaffer of Derry in the Brush Valley Tire Pure Stocks, Adam Pletcher of Tire Hill won the Four Cylinder feature and Chris Hickok of Commodore repeated in the Modified Four Cylinder main.
Dwayne Taneyhill out ran Dane Laraway into the first turn and one lap later Sammy Stile got by his teammate and sat in second. A rash of cautions slowed the race in the first half, with Taneyhill still setting the pace. On lap six Laraway dove to the bottom in turns three and four and muscled his way into second over Stile.
Laraway continued to work on Taneyhill, but Taneyhill kept slamming the door on Laraway when he’d go to the low side, as Taneyhill continuously protected the bottom. Then with just two laps to go, Laraway again tried the bottom, but again he had the door slammed in his face, as the leaders went down the front stretch Laraway went to the outside of Taneyhill and had the lead off the second turn, but Taneyhill battled back and took the lead into the third turn, but Laraway didn’t give up, and he ran door-to-door with Taneyhill into the third turn, Laraway was on the bottom and Taneyhill on the outside, they slightly touched and swapped paint and off the fourth turn it was Laraway taking the win. Taneyhill came home a close second with Stile, Clate Copeman and Chad McClellan completing the top five. Copeman and Laraway split the heats.
“I don’t know what to say,” a jubilant Laraway said in victory lane, after he got down from standing on his roof.
“I raced Taneyhill clean the all night,” He said. “I got under him…I didn’t mean to hit him but I really wanted this win bad. I’ve seen Sammy win so many and I just wanted to win so bad.”
In the Fastrak Late Models, Bryan Force and Chris Force led the field to the start with Bryan taking the lead and Andrew Satterlee in second. On a restart on lap four Mike Pegher Jr. made a daring move to go three wide on the front stretch with Bryan Force and Satterlee and the move worked, as Pegher took the lead. Once he was out front, he never got a serious challenge as he pulled out to a couple car lengths ahead of second, which was a battle between Bryan Force and Satterlee.
While sitting through several crashes Pegher was still able to hold off any and all challenges to become the sixth different winner in as many races. Satterlee was second, Daniel Angelicchio was third, Joe Martin and Ken Herman were fourth and Bryan Force was fifth. Heat wins went to Angelicchio, Mike Blose and Billy Stile III.
Dan Smeal led Corey Neal to start the Street Stock feature with Jim Boyer taking the lead on the second lap. Boyer led for several circuits before Rusty Martz made his presence felt. Martz, Boyer and 12th place starter Nick Goss were often three wide for the lead On lap eight Martz used the outside off the fourth turn to get the lead from Boyer, but neither Boyer of Goss gave up and the top three were under a blanket the rest of the race with Martz winning over Boyer, Goss, Smeal and Mike Valasek. Heat races were split between Goss and Neal.
“Oh man I’m glad this was over when it was,” Martz said in victory lane. “I don’t think I could have held them off much longer. Boy, it sure is great to win at the different tracks you go to though.”
Marshal Detweiler was back in action in the Pure Stock division for the first time in a while and he led the field to the start with Joey Petyak on the outside. Detweiler led the opening lap Before third place starter Jeremy Shaffer took the lead a lap later. Once out front, Shaffer had heat from Detwiler, Tim Laughard and Justin Queen who worked his way back the fourth following a lap four spin.
The top four were close the whole race with “Crazy” John Mazey sitting fifth. The top four had about a quarter of a straight-a-way lead over Mazey. When the race finished under Kevin Smyers checkered flag it was Shaffer winning his fourth of the season with Laughard second, Detwiler third, Queen fourth and Mazey fifth. Heat wins went to Shaffer and Laughard.
Adam Pletcher out ran Rick Lamer to start the Four Cylinder feature and never looked back, as he was in cruise control and lapped up to and including the tenth place car before the feature ended. Second wasn’t decided until the checkered flag waved, with the top five working out to by Pletcher over Jesse Laughard, Paul Little, Chris Yoder and Mark Wetzel Jr. The three heat wins went to Pletcher, Wetzel and John Lee.
Once again five cars showed up for the Modified Four Cylinder feature and it was all Chris Hickok as he led Matt Weakland over the line with Tim Laughard Tom Pavelko and Robert Lydic completing the run down. Hickok also won the heat.
DOG TRAX: 113 cars filled the pits, including 17 Super Late Models, 277 Fastrak Late Models, 19 Street Stocks, 16 Pure Stocks, 29 Four Cylinders and 5 Modified Four Cylinders…Doug Detwiler won the Pure Stock mechanics race while Kylie Hamilton won the Four Cylinder powder puff…Coming up this Friday it is Ingrams Engine Trophy night for the the Super Late Models, Fastrak Late Models, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks, Four Cylinders and Modified Four Cylindersand Kids Bike Races. Helmets are required….Coming up on July 11 the UFO Late Models will make their first ever Dog Hollow Sppearance for $5,000 to win. The Street Stocks will race for $1000 to win and the Four Cylinder will race for $500 to win….More details are at

Return-to-Dog Hollow Speedway