Date: 12/13/2015 7:36:15 PM


For Immediate Release

Contact:  Jo Ann Davies



                GLEN, NY (December 12, 2015) --  Family, friends, sponsors and track officials gathered on Saturday, December 5, at the Amsterdam (NY) Elks Lodge to celebrate the close of the 2015 season and to crown the new track champions of Glen Ridge Motorsports Park.  Emceeing the event and distributing awards was track promoter Pete Demitraszek.

                In front of a large group driver Bobby Varin received accolades as the 2015 Modified point champion as well as being named “Driver of the Year.”  Varin’s point title battle was with Willy Decker, of Vernon, NY who finished second, 38 points behind Varin.   “It was a great season,” stated Varin of Johnstown, NY that included five Modified wins and one Micro Sprint win at the oval and was the third consecutive title for the popular driver. 

                Rounding out the Top 5 positions in the Modified division and accepting their trophies were Craig Hanson of Johnstown, NY, Jeff Rockefeller of Ballston Spa, NY and Bob Vedder of Schoharie, NY.                                    

                Brian Pessalano’s title fight in the Sportsman division went right down to the final event where he earned a two point lead over Chad Edwards of Gloversville, NY who finished second in the point title battle.  Pessalano, who hails from Canajoharie, NY thanked track promoter Pete Demitraszek “…for keeping the track open and for everything he has done to make it a successful year for the speedway.”

                Pessalano’s second track championship, the first being in 2013, also came with the award for “Driver of the Year” in the Sportsman class.  The young driver plans to return to Glen Ridge Motorsports Park in 2016 to defend his title, once again driving the West End Towing and Repair no. 24.

                Finishing in positions three through five in the Sportsman class and receiving trophies were Harry Shaffer of Glen, NY, Jim Introne Jr. of Granville, NY and Ivan Joslin of Schoharie, NY. 

                In the Cruiser class Pete Vila of was crowned the division champion, followed by Pat McSpirit of             Gloversville, NY, Cole Lawton of Albany, NY, Keith Tesiero Sr. of Amsterdam, NY, and TJ Marlitt of Gloversville, NY.

                Many special awards were presented during the night and all were recognized by those in attendance—“Driver of the Year” in their respective divisions included Pete Vila in the Cruiser division; Brian Pessalano in the Sportsman division and Bobby Varin in the Modified division. 

“Outstanding Performance” awards were earned by Harry Shaffer in the Sportsman class and John Lutes in the Modified class.  “Rookie of the Year” award recipients were Brian Nelson of Fultonham, NY in the Sportsman and Shawn Pangman of Sloansville, NY, in the Modified classes. 

                Receiving the “Promoters Award” for all-around performance and dedication were Chad Edwards in the Sportsman class and Bob Veeder in the Modified class.  Veeder was also the recipient of the “Senior Performance Award ‘The Over 70 Club’.” 

                “Car Owner of the Year” awards went to Rich Dodson, owner of the Dodson Construction Modified of Chad Edwards and Ray Serafin, owner of the cars driven by AJ Filbeck and Brian Pessalano in the  Sportsman class and Bobby Varin in the Modified class.        

Amy DiCaprio, organizer of the track’s very popular Kid’s Club, was recognized by the speedway with the “Outstanding Dedication Award.”   Also recognized by the speedway with the “Excellence in Racing” award were local race event writers Ed and Betty Biittig of Sloansville, NY for their weekly print and web coverage of Glen Ridge Motorsports Park.   

The “Promoter Appreciation Award” was presented to long-time car owners and race sponsors Tom and Sharon Spencer of Adirondac Leather.  Demitraszek expressed great gratitude for the season-long support of the Spencer’s, as well as their sponsorship of the season-ending annual “Grand Daddy 602 World Championship.”  Spencer, who has been involved in local racing for many years, announced he and Sharon were deeply thankful of the award and are “…looking forward to our continued support of the track and the Sportsman championship race for 2016 season.”  

                The Demitraszek Family—Pete, Cindy, son Matt and grandchildren—were surprised when a plaque was presented to them by Mark Krosky, owner of Modified class title sponsor Krash Menders , on behalf of the local racing community that read as follows:  “In Appreciation for your outstanding efforts, endless time, dedication and total commitment at keeping Glen Ridge Motorsports Park a great family oriented race track.  The racing community is very grateful to have the Demitraszek Family as the promoters of the Fastest 1/4 Mile on Dirt.”  A standing ovation greeted the family as they accepted the award.

                Special thanks and recognition were expressed throughout the night’s festivities for the support of the track’s marketing partners for the speedway including Andy’s Speed Shop, A-Verdi Storage Containers, BC Designs, Hoosier Racing Tire, Sunoco Race Fuels and 

                Glen Ridge Motorsports Park will reopen in 2016, once again under the promotion of the Demitraszek family.  An announcement will be made shortly regarding the 2016 schedule that will include several events new to the speedway.  Mark your calendars for the March 18-19-20 GRMP car show to be held at the Rotterdam Mall, Rotterdam, NY.  Check the speedway web site and Facebook page for details.

Return-to-New York/New England/Canada News & Results