Date: 7/20/2014 1:08:32 AM

Mohawk International Raceway

313 Frogtown Rd., Hogansburg, NY 13655

Track/Office Phone: 518-358-9017


Email:  mirtrack@yahoo.com


Public Relations Contact:

Craig Revelle - Finish Line Web Design




For Immediate Release July 19, 2014 - Written By Tim Baltz




AKWESASNE, NY With St. Lawrence Radiology on hand for a big night of racing this past Friday night at Mohawk International Raceway all 4 divisions were treated to a very fast racing surface which produced some suprises at the top of the leader board in all 4 divisions.


The 358 Modifieds were set for battle and 2 non winners led the field to the green flag as Charlie Rice took the top spot away from David Papineau at the start of the 25 lap event. Rice, who ran a limited Pro Stock Schedule in 2013 at MIR, was the driver to beat as he charged out front with David Papineau and 2013 Rookie of the Year Travis Stacey rounding out the top 3. Rice continued to surprise everyone as he led by over a straight away by lap 7 but the man on the move was 2 time and defending track champion Billy Dunn. After starting mid pack Dunn quickly made his way to 2nd past Papineau and quickly ran down the leader. On lap 11 Dunn made his move as he took the lead away leaving Rice, Papineau, Joel Doiron and Travis Stacey to battle in the top 5. Nearing the halfway point of the event Dunn was virtually untouchable as he entered into lapped traffic which did not slow his pace. Behind him Chris Raabe and Danny O'Brien started to charge to the top 5 as they moved into 4th and 5th by lap 16. As the laps wound down Dunn appeared to be headed for another dominant win in a caution free race until lap 22 as Gage Morin broke his front end in turn 2 bringing out the only yellow of the race, under the same yellow Charlie Rice slowed to a stop in turn 3 as he ran out of fuel ending his fantastic run. On the restart Dunn held onto the lead over Raabe, O'Brien, Doiron and Travis Stacey. after a 5th place run last week Billy Dunn put it all together as he scored his 3rd win of the 2014 season over Chris Raabe, Danny O'Brien, Joel Doiron claimed his 2nd straight top 5 finish coming home 4th, while Travis Stacey claimed his best career finish of 5th at the checkers.


The 25 lap Sportsman event was one of the best of the year as Scott Mere took the early lead at the drop of the green over Jasmine David, Billy Cook, Thomas Cook and Bryan Green. Mere has won races in Bandit and Mod Lite competition at Mohawk but never in Sportsman, and he looked great in the opening laps as he pulled out to a 7 car length lead by lap 7 over David, Robert Delormier, Billy Cook and Thomas Cook. On lap 8 Neal Provost spun on the front stretch collecting Delbert Legrow Jr. Both were ok. On the restart "The Wild Child" Jasmine David had enough of running 2nd as she took over the lead with Delormier, Thomas Cook, Wyatt Mullin and 3 time winner Corey Wheeler making up the top 5. David began to pull away from the field and was setting a quick pace until the yellow flew on lap 11 for Bryan Green who slowed in turn 2. On the restart Delormier would assume command of the field over David and Thomas Cook. Robert Delormier began to open up the lead by a full straight away as behind him Corey Wheeler was making his way forward. Wheeler who had won the last 3 events coming into tonight, was able to move into 2nd bringing Mike Maresca to 3rd with 7 laps to go, but still had major distance to make up as Robert Delormier looked well on his way to career win #1. On lap 23 the break Wheeler need came in the form of a yellow flag for Brad Winters who came to a stop in turn 2. On the final restart Wheeler made several attempts to get by but Delormier held the advantage. Coming to the white flag the top 2 made slight contact as Delormier fought to hold onto the lead. But Wheeler never gave up, entering turn 3 the defending track champion laid it all on the line on the high side and his plan worked as he led the last 100 feet to claim his 4th straight victory over Delormier who claimed a hard fought 2nd.  Mike Maresca made his sponsor proud by coming home 3rd. Wyatt Mullin and Dylan Evoy rounded out the top 5.


In Mod Lite action Dan Desnoyers took the lead from the drop of the green flag over Dan Reif, Mathieu Robinson, Jesse Hudson and Scott Walldrif. Desnoyers had struggled the last few weeks with handling but showed no signs of slowing down as he pulled away from the field by over 1.5 seconds by lap 3. The first yellow flew on lap 3 as Scott Waldrif lost a motor in turn 3. On the restart Dan Reif looked to the inside but Desnoyers kept the car wound up on the high side to retake the top spot allowing Dan Reif, Mathieu Robinson, Jesse Hudson and Nick Mallette to have their own battle in the top 5. Despite 1 final yellow on lap 9 for a slowed Tim Reif, nobody was catching Dan Desnoyers on this night as he collected his first career Mod Lite victory. Mathieu Robinson slipped by Dan Reif to finish 2nd while Jesse Hudson came home 4th and Nick Mallette rounded out the top 5.


The Bandits were set for battle as Corey Castell took away the early race lead but was being chased by 3 time winner Matt Zira. Castell would lead the opening 2 laps as Zira was able to take the top spot away bringing another 3 time winner, Randy Whiting to position number 2. The top 2 put on a fantastic show throughout the entire race as Ray Bechler, Dakota Bechler and Corey Castell tried to keep pace. With 2 laps left Matt Zira's night came to an end as he blew a right rear tire handing the lead to Randy Whiting. From there Whiting went on to claim his division leading 4th win of the year over Dakota Bechler, Ray Bechler, Corey Castell and Shane Ray.


Mohawk International Raceway is located in Akwesasne, NY, midway between the Seaway International Bridge to Cornwall, ONT and the Akwesasne Mohawk Casino. From Route 37, turn south onto Frogtown Road. Racing is held on Friday nights at 7:30 PM from May through September, featuring the Frenchie's Chevrolet DIRTcar 358 Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, Mod Lites as well as the Bandit division. Visit us on the web at www.MohawkInternationalRaceway.com. The MIR office is located at the track, and the phone number is 518-358-9017. The track is owned and operated by Mohawk International Raceway, LLC.


July 18th, 2014 Race Results:


358 Modified

BILLY DUNN, Chris Raabe, Danny O'Brien, Joel Doiron, Travis Stacey, Jordan McCreadie, Tom Conklin, Lance Willix, David Papineau, Ryan Arbuthnot, Matt Woodruff, John Mulder, Roy Delormier, Dexter Stacey, Delbert Legrow, Charlie Rice, Gage Morin, Brian McDonald, Carey Terrance



COREY WHEELER, Robert Delormier, Mike Maresca, Wyatt Mullin, Dylan Evoy, Billy Cook, Louie Jackson Jr., Jasmine David, Thomas Cook, Justin Lalancette, Zach Arquiett, Brent Kelsey, Mike Stacey, Mike Arquiett, Joel Hargrave, Ricky Thompson, Adam Rozon, Delbert Legrow Jr., Brad Winters, Ryan Helm, Scott McGill, Bryan Green, Brianna Ladouceur, Scott Mere, Greg Snyder, Neal Provost



Mod Lite

DAN DESNOYERS, Mathieu Robinson, Dan Reif, Jesse Hudson, Nick Mallette, Harley Brown, Kevin Foster, Eric Varin, Brad Reif, Henry Lamica, Cameron Reif, Tim Reif, Scott Waldrif



RANDY WHITING, Dakota Bechler, Ray Bechler, Corey Castell, Shane Ray, Matt Zira, Scott Banker, Darryl Mainville


Return-to-Mohawk International Raceway News & Results