$150,000 American Racer Cup Early Members Already Piling Up

Date: 2/11/2013 9:35:49 PM

For Immediate Release
Re: 2013 American Racer Cup Early Members

$150,000 American Racer Cup Early Members Already Piling Up
Billy VanPelt, Mike Barone and Kevin Chilson File Official First Entries of 2013

BINGHAMTON, NY…The highly successful $150,000 American Racer Cup for Northeast Dirt Modified race teams will begin its fourth season of tracking the best drivers in Modified racing this spring. Once again teams that register prior to April 1st will be eligible for five free tires. Three drivers have been tagged with the title of “first posted memberships” of 2013. Duane Howard is the Defending American Racer Cup Overall Champion.

Billy VanPelt, the Woodhull Raceway standout Modified driver filed his 2013 membership the same day as 2012 Bridgeport Speedway Modified feature winner Mike Barone and Kevin Chilson another long time Woodhull Raceway supporter. These three drivers are automatically entered in a pre-season drawing that will see Lias Tire and American Racer giving away 5 free tires to anyone that files their membership prior to April 1st.

Last year Bridgeport RoC Modified Tour race winner Rick Laubach drew the five early season recipients: Billy Pauch (New Egypt Speedway), Adam McGeorge (Penn Can Speedway), Gary Butler (New Egypt Speedway), Neal Williams (New Egypt Speedway) and Jeff Strunk (Grandview Speedway.

Membership applications can be found at the official American Racer Cup Website at www.dirtmodcup.com. After the first three drivers filed their 2013 memberships a number of additional teams have also taken advantage of the early season promotion.

The early season five tire giveaway is just an example of the commitment shown by American Racer, Lias Tire, The Race of Champions and all of the program sponsors. Before teams even begin their weekly racing season tires are being awarded.

Last season American Racer and Lias Tire provided northeast Modified teams over 475 free tires in giveaways. In addition to the pre-season tires that were given away, each participating speedway saw their top five weekly drivers in the American Racer Standings divide up 23 tires. Each speedway also saw ten free tires randomly awarded among their membership teams throughout the season.

The concept of the American Racer Cup was the idea of Fred Woodward from Lias Tire in Indiana, PA. Woodward rallied American Racer in their support of the program and since its inception three years ago it has been hugely successful. The overall point fund is paid to the top five in the final standings as follows: 1st - $10,000 2nd - $5,000 3rd - $3,500 4th - $2,500 5th - $2,000

The overall American Racer Cup Champion earns a cool $10,000 while never having to compete outside their weekly local track. Again this season should the Overall American Racer Cup Champion also go on to win the Race of Champions Dirt Modified Tour Overall Title that individual will receive a $20,000 bonus from Lias Tire. That could swell the overall championship title earnings to nearly $50,000. Two years ago Stewart Friesen missed that opportunity by a mere five points.

Teams entering the American Racer Cup prior to April 1st will be eligible for a random early drawing of five free American Racer Tires (five different winners of one tire each).

Please contact Lias Tire at 1-800-638-7028
begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              1-800-638-7028      end_of_the_skype_highlighting or email us at liastire@hotmail.com. The official American Racer East Coast Modified Cup website can be found at www.dirtmodcup.com. Please contact the Race of Champions offices at (607) 775-5555 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              (607) 775-5555      end_of_the_skype_highlighting or email them directly at rocdirt@aol.com.

- American Racer First Three Years of Point Standings –

2012 Final Overall Top Ten Driver Rankings: 1. Duane Howard (Grandview), 2. Stewart Friesen (Fonda), 3. Andy Bachetti (Accord), 4. Ryan Godown (New Egypt), 5. Rick Laubach (Bridgeport), 6. Jamie Mills (Delaware), 7. Stewart Friesen (Utica Rome), 8. H.J. Bunting (Delaware), 9. Bobby Varin (Glen Ridge), 10. Billy Decker (Fulton).

2011 Final Overall Top Ten Driver Rankings: 1. Billy Pauch (New Egypt), 2. Stewart Friesen (Five Mile Point), 3. Billy VanPelt (Woodhull), 4. Alan Rudalavage (Woodhull), 5. Matt Jester (Delaware), 6. Ronnie Johnson (Fonda), 7. Jeff Strunk (Grandview), 8. H.J. Bunting (Delaware), 9. Stewart Friesen (Utica Rome), 10. Matt Sheppard (Brewerton).

2010 Final Overall Top Ten Driver Rankings: 1. Duane Howard (Grandview), 2. Stewart Friesen (Five Mile Point), 2. Craig VonDohren (Grandview), 4. Billy VanPelt (Woodhull), 5. Billy Pauch (New Egypt), 6. Wade Hendrickson (Bridgeport), 7. Stewart Friesen (Utica Rome), 8. Bobby Varin (Fonda), 9. Jerry Higbie Jr. (Accord), 10. Craig VonDohren (Big Diamond).

Return-to-Modified News & Results