Date: 8/9/2010 7:15:46 PM

August 8, 2010

BETHEL, NY - A record number of Legends cars made their way to Bethel Motor Speedway this Saturday for the 50-lap, $1,500-to-win LegendStock 2010 INEX qualifier race. A total of 46 cars were on hand – from as far away as Maryland, North Carolina, Texas, and Minnesota – attempting to qualify for the 24-car A main and their shot at the three-foot tall guitar-shaped trophies that have become a trademark of the event.

Last year, Daniel Hemric made the trip up from North Carolina and dominated the show by setting fast time and taking down the overall win. From the start of the day, the 19-year-old made it obvious that he would not settle for any less than a repeat of his success, in spite of the increased competition.

Hemric did, indeed, give a repeat performance. He set fast time, in spite of the fact that six cars aside from him broke the track record he set in 2009. He started tenth in his heat race and came through the entire field to win that race.

After the A main, Hemric commented, “Dan Snyder had the car prepared really well tonight and we came out just like we did last year and we set fast time. The car maintained really good up until about 20 (laps) to go and we got a little tight but all in all the car maintained and we were able to pull away and come home with another guitar.”

Based on the invert, Hemric took off from the eighth starting spot. The first half of the race was a heated battle up front between Justin Petcosky and Thomas Hartensveld Jr., who ran first and second. Just one lap shy of the halfway point of the event, Hemric turned up the heat and grabbed the lead. From that point on, Hemric took advantage of flawless restarts and skillful driving to keep the field behind him.

Some of Hemric’s toughest competition came from 13-year-old Texas native Bayley Currey, who scored a feature win at Bethel earlier this season in his first-ever visit to the track. Currey never let Hemric out of his sight as the rest of the field battled for position behind them.

“He (Currey) was fast the whole time we’ve been here,” Hemric commented. “I feel like we helped him out a lot once we unloaded because his line was off a little bit. He’s young and he’s got so much talent and he listened to everything I said,” Hemric continued.

“There at the end, he’s actually the one I had to hold off for the win. It couldn’t have come down to a one-two with anybody better and I’ve got to thank him for running me as clean as he did.”

Hartensveld Jr. came across the line third, and Jimmy Heavlow and Tim Brockhouse completed the top five.

The divisional winners were Hemric (Pro), Brockhouse (Masters), Kevin Nowak (Semi Pro), and Dusty Summers (Young Lions). For Brockhouse, it was his third consecutive Masters division win at LegendStock, while it was Summers’ second Young Lions win in the event.

In the JTR Enterprises Bandolero class, Jordan Lamothe took full advantage of his pole starting spot, leading every lap of the feature on the way to his sixth win this season. Last week’s winner, Mikey Policastro, started on the outside pole and ran second in the opening laps, but was overtaken by Anthony Riforgiato. Rookie Taylor Hurban took third five laps into the event. Neither competitor could get past Lamothe as he cruised to victory. Riforgiato was second, with Hurban third.

Greg McCloskey may have led only a single lap of the Alcaro & Alcaro Plating Sportsman feature, but he made sure it was the one that counted as the checkered flag was waving in the air. McCloskey started tenth, and was busy working his way through the field as rookie Mike Houghtaling, Greg Morgan, and defending division champion Dan Conklin fought it out at the front of the field, with Houghtaling hanging on to the lead. Several late-race incidents altered the dynamics of the race and opened the door for McCloskey to grab his second win of 2010. Houghtaling and Conklin followed him across the line.

In the Sam’s Towing Pro Stock feature, Charlie Howe Jr. was in the right place at the right time to grab the lead and drive on to his second win of the season. Howe Jr. started the race seventh, but made his way to third by the second lap of the race. Ahead of Howe Jr., Gene Morton and Ed Butler battled it out for the lead, and a tangle between the two gave the lead to Howe Jr. Four-time 2010 feature winner Ken Atkins chased Howe Jr. before being passed by Bobby Policastro at the halfway point of the event. Howe Jr. drove on to the win, followed by Policastro and Atkins.

In just his third 2010 start, Rich Winters collected his first feature win in the Jeff Bank 4 Cylinder Senior class. George VanAiken started on the pole and led the early laps of the event, but five-time feature event winner Paul Curry was able to work his way past as the race neared the halfway mark. The pair would swap the lead again as the laps wound down, but VanAiken ended up in the infield with two laps to go, opening the door for Winters to take the lead. Curry finished second, and Patty Falkena crossed the line third.

Next Saturday, August 14th, Bethel Motor Speedway will again be a busy place, as the schedule for the night includes the Alcaro & Alcaro Plating Sportsman, Sam's Towing Pro Stock, Legends, JTR Enterprises Bandolero, Shakelton Auto & Truck Centers Street Stock, BMS Modified, and Jeff Bank 4 Cylinder divisions. Gates open at 3:30 pm, with hot laps at 5:30 pm, and racing slated to begin at 7 pm. Grandstand admission is just $5. For a complete schedule, visit www.bethelmotorspeedway.com, or call (845) 319-7908 for more information.

LEGENDS FEATURE FINISH (50 laps): 1. Daniel Hemric, 2. Bayley Currey, 3. Thomas Hartensveld Jr., 4. Jimmy Heavlow, 5. Tim Brockhouse, 6. Kevin Nowak, 7. Dusty Summers, 8. Daren Scherer, 9. Chris Young, 10. Johnny Demarmels, 11. Todd McCollum, 12. Richie Coy, 13. Mike Carroll Jr., 14. Andrew Stotler, 15. Justin Petcosky, 16. Matt Evans, 17. Kenny Van Wickle, 18. Brett Coon, 19. Jim Byrne, 20. Tom Sherman, 21. Mark Tischler, 22. Matt Pappa, 23. Casey Robicheau, 24. Mike Alcaro.

BANDOLERO FEATURE FINISH (10 laps): 1. Jordan Lamothe, 2. Anthony Riforgiato, 3. Taylor Hurban, 4. Cole Fratesi, 5. Max Evans, 6. Mikey Policastro, 7. Alex McCollum, 8. Tyler McArdle, 9. Jared Palmer, 10. Christina Policastro, 11. Joseph Graf Jr. DNS – Courtney Lefcourt.

SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH (10 laps): 1. Greg McCloskey, 2. Mike Houghtaling, 3. Dan Conklin, 4. Jerry Curry, 5. Pat Murphy, 6. Dave Gorbatuk, 7. Greg Morgan, 8. Mike McKerrell, 9. Rich Coons, 10. Don Smith III, 11. Bryanna Hurban, 12. Roy Crespo, 13. Jim Ha;pin, 14. Kyle Redner.

PRO STOCK FEATURE FINISH (15 laps): 1. Charlie Howe Jr., 2. Bobby Policastro, 3. Ken Atkins, 4. Mark Sylvester, 5. Norman Barnes, 6. Gene Morton, 7. Gene Palmer, 8. Ken Hopkins Jr., 9. Jim Helt, 10. Ron Lane, 11. Ed Butler.

4 CYLINDER SENIOR FEATURE FINISH (10 laps): 1. Rich Winters, 2. Paul Curry, 3. Patty Falkena, 4. Tim Curry, 5. Russell Sniffen, 6. George VanAiken, 7. Eddie Linstadt, 8. Enio Lovric.

Return-to-Bethel Motor Speedway