Stillwaggon Wins for Second Straight Year at Big Track Classic

Date: 11/8/2018 11:52:18 PM

Stillwaggon Wins for Second Straight Year at Big Track Classic

Robbie Stillwaggon parked the Quality Auto Body #89 car in victory lane once again at the Big Track Classic on Sunday afternoon.  With the first two days falling to Mother Nature, a rare Sunday rain date was used to complete the annual Big Track Classic in honor of long time URC competitor and official Midge Miller.  And just last year at the end of the night, the colorful yellow and purple belonging to Robbie Stillwaggon found its way to victory lane. 

With 30 cars signed into the pits, four heat races were scheduled with JJ Grasso, Robbie Stillwaggon, Ryan Smith, Lucas Wolfe, Chad Layton, Chris Allen, Matt Tanner, Tyler Ross, Curt Michael, Steve Buckwalter, Troy Betts and Bill Unglert all making the redraw.  The consolation race was won by the #39 of Ryan Watt driving for long time URC competitor Tim Hogue. 

With the 25 car of Grasso drawing the pole and the 89 of Stillwaggon pulling the outside pole, the field was set for the 25-lap feature event. 

The other race in the race was the battle between 10 time URC Champion Curt Michael and URC points leader Josh Weller.  With both Michael and Weller in the same heat race, Michael brought home the win from the pole and Weller a solid 5th after starting in the 8th position.  After their heat race finishes, Michael who trailed Weller by 32 points going into the day started in the ninth position with Weller starting in position 18. 

At the drop of the green, Grasso shot out to the lead with the field closely following.  Grasso went on to dominate the race until a late race caution for a car that spun showed a flat left rear on the 25 car of Grasso.  With Grasso relinquishing the lead to Stillwaggon, it was smooth sailing for the 89 car for the remaining two laps.  Stillwaggon who has stepped away from the driverís seat for much of 2018 was excited to close out the past two years in victory lane. 

With Curt Michael finishing in the fifth position and Weller in 10th, the 63 Victory Auto Glass, Schearer's Sales & Service, Inc., McBrothers Overhead Doors, Assured Automation of Josh Weller secured enough points to be crowed the 2018 Capitol Renegade United Racing Club points champion. 


1 - Robbie Stillwaggon, 2 - Chad Layton, 3 - Lucas Wolfe, 4 - Ryan Smith, 5 - Curt Michael, 6 - Tyler Ross, 7 - Ryan Taylor, 8 - Chris Allen, 9 - Steve Buckwalter, 10 - Josh Weller, 11 - Todd Gracey, 12 - Ryan Watt, 13 - Matt Tanner, 14 - JJ Grasso, 15 - Bill Unglert, 16 - Tom Carberry, 17 - Mark Van Vorst, 18 - Jason Cherry, 19 - Mark Sasso, 20 - Ryan Stillwaggon, 21 - John Swanson, 22 - Ryan Quackenbush, 23 - Troy Betts, 24 - Dominick Melair  

DNQ - Larry McVay, Floyd Billington, Jake Eldreth, Doug Suiter, Kevin Nagy, Autin Morris, Adam Carberry

Return-to-United Racing Club