Felmlee, Ferree, Swartzlander and Egley Favorites to be 2009 Champions?

Date: 2/21/2009 11:35:37 AM

Felmlee, Ferree, Swartzlander and Egley Favorites to be 2009 Champions?
2009 Lernerville Speedway Media Poll

Contact: Lernerville Speedway                 
Eric J. Westendorf, Public Relations Director
(724) 664-1075 · ewestendorf@dirtcar.com

Sarver, PA (February 17, 2009) A recent Lernerville Speedway Media Poll has revealed the favorites to win the Budweiser Track Championships and major events of the 2009 season.  A panel of local media members was asked to select a driver who would win each division championship, the Inaugural All Star Late Model Series Race on April 17, the Firecracker 100, the Silver Cup XVIII, and which driver will win the most features at Lernerville Speedway during the season.

Participants in the poll included Racing Journalists Mike Lysakowski, Jason Shank, Chuck Bollinger, Walt Wimer, Keith Koval, D.J. Johnson, Jim Zufall and Lou Long; Photographers Cory Stivason, Paul Oyler and Frank Wilson; and Track Announcer Dow Carnahan.

Defending Track Champions Brian Swartzlander and Alex Ferree were overwhelming favorites to retain their titles.  Bob Felmlee and Bob Egley were narrow favorites to win their division championships.

Smilin’ Brian Swartzlander received the most votes of any driver in any division with nine experts predicting a championship in 2009 for the already Six-Time Track Champion of the newly rebranded Diehl Auto Group DIRTcar Modifieds.  Other championship contenders receiving one vote a piece were Mod Stars Kevin Bolland, Del Rougeux Jr. and Jeremiah Shingledecker.

Seven experts predicted a Three-Peat for Awesome Alex Ferree in the Friedman’s Freshmarkets DIRTcar Late Models.  Jared Miley was a close second with four votes, while 2008 Racers for Tots car raffle winner Gary Lyle receiving one vote.

The voting was much closer in the Commercial Truck & Trailers DIRTcar Sprints and the newly renamed Advance Auto Parts DIRTcar Sportsman where a pair of Bobs (Felmlee and Egley) were tabbed as favorites to sit at the big table at the 2010 Awards Banquet.

1995 Track Champion Bob Felmlee led the Fab Four of the 410 Sprint division with four votes.  As you may recall, Felmlee was leading the Bud Points during the 40th Anniversary Season of the Lernerville Speedway until a nearly tragic fire sidelined him for a few weeks.  Three-time defending Track Champion “Cool” Kevin Schaeffer and four-time Track Champion “The Apollo Rocket” Ed Lynch Jr. tied with three votes each.  Two-time Track Champion Rod George received two votes.

Defending Advance Auto Parts DIRTcar Street Stocks (now Sportsman) Track Champion Bob “Batman” Egley received the most votes the ultra-competitive, wide-open division.  Egley received four votes, while a total of five other drivers (the most of any division) received votes; Wayne Carbo (3 votes), Bob Lipinski (2), Pat Hanley (1), Greg Beach (1) and Joe Kelley (1).

In addition to being overwhelming favorites to retain their division titles, Brian Swartzlander and Alex Ferree were also overwhelming favorites to lead Fab Four Racing in feature wins.  11 of the 12 experts voted on this matter; five voted for Swartzlander, four voted Ferree.  The other drivers that received a vote were Rod George and Jeremiah Shingledecker.

In regards to the Marquee Events of the 2009 Season, Robbie Blair was selected as the favorite to win the Inaugural All Stars Late Model race, Steve Francis was a narrow favorite over Scott Bloomquist to win the Firecracker, while Donny Schatz was the overwhelming favorite to win the Silver Cup.

The Inaugural O’Reilly All Stars Circuit of Champions Late Model Series event will be held at the Lernerville Speedway on Friday April 17 and our panel of experts provided seven different predictions of who would take the checkers.  Leading the way is Robbie Blair with four votes.  Alex Ferree and Dave Hess Jr. each received two votes; while Donnie Moran, Chub Frank, Keith Barbara and Jason Covert received one vote apiece.

Voting was much closer, at the top anyway, for the 3rd Annual Firecracker 100 presented by GottaRace.com where Steve Francis received four votes.  Inaugural Firecracker winner Scott Bloomquist received three votes and Rick Eckert (now piloting a Bloomquist Chassis) received two votes.  Last year’s winner Brian Birkhofer and Chub Frank tallied one vote each.

It’s hard to deny the utter dominance of Donny Schatz in recent years and at the season opening 38th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals presented by UNOH last month at Volusia Speedway Park.  So it should not be a surprise that he received more than half of the 11 votes as the presumptive winner of the Cleveland Brothers CAT Don Martin Memorial Silver Cup XVIII.  Joey Saldana received three votes, while Jason Meyers and Kraig Kinser each received one nod. 

The 2009 Lernerville Speedway schedule has been posted for over a month now, but stay tuned for some exciting additions and tweaks that will be announced Monday morning!


Return-to-SJDR News