Date: 6/3/2018 5:14:51 PM

Media contact:  D&D Media

Track Office:  856-467-4407

24 Hour info:  856-467-4408


Twitter: Spirit_Speedway

Follow us on Facebook


Upcoming events

Friday June 8 - 270/600 Micro Sprints plus 600 Novice, Slingshots and Mini Late Models, racing at 8pm

Friday, June 15 - No Racing

Saturday, June 16 - Pack the House Night - 600 & 270 Micro Sprints, 4 Cylinder Enduros, 600 XCel Modifieds on quarter mile with 602 Crate Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks, MASS Sprint cars and Rookies on 5/8th mile - FREE Grandstand admission

Friday, June 22   

270/600 Micro Sprints plus 600 Novice, 4 Cylinder Enduros &Slingshots, racing at 8pm



The level of competition this season at the Spirit Speedway is evidenced by the number of new winners that are reaching Victory Lane every week.  Five drivers earned their first wins of the 2018 season in competition on Bridgeport’s quarter mile this week. 

Mike Rutherford held off a hard charging Jermain Godshall to capture his first ever Spirit Speedway victory in Ace Overhead Door Co. 600 Micro Action.  Rutherford gave car owners, Gary Spotts and Earl Fellin their first Spirit Victory as he raced ahead of Godshall for the win. 

After watching the 270 Micros take to the track after intermission, Rutherford returned to his pit to undo changes that had been previously made.  “It worked out for us,” Rutherford said of the quick track conditions.  “I’m excited to pick up the win!”  Rutherford does double duty on a Friday night, racing in both the 270 and 600 Micro sprint divisions.

Jon Keller led the first lap before Rutherford took over on lap two following a complete restart. Godshall immediately moved into second and began to pressure the leader.  Third spot on back was up for grabs throughout the twenty lap feature.

When the checkered flag waved, it was Kyle Spence who chased Rutherford and Godshall for a third place finish in Gary Hunter’s No. 7H.  Travis Hill finished fourth after a hard fought battle for third. Mike Linderman charged from his tenth place start to finish fifth in the closing laps.  After racing in the top five for many laps, Nick Sapp and PJ Williams finished sixth and seventh respectively followed by Damon Paul,  Matt Smith who won the consolation and Jon Keller.

Alex Swift used a move to the inside on a lap six restart to take the lead of Nick Skias in the twenty lap Ace Overhead Door Co. 270 Micro Sprint feature event.

It was Swift’s first win of the season behind the John Blanda owned No. 15.  Skias went on to finish second with Andrew Locuson driving from a sixteenth place start to finish third.  Mike Rutherford finished fourth with Ken Andreas rounding out the top five.  Sean Huesser, Billy Gray, Tyler Grau, Sami Schenck and Richie Keller trailed the leaders to the checkered.

Swift spent the final laps of the race running through lapped traffic.  “There was some moisture on the bottom, “ Swift explained.  “That worked for getting through the lapped traffic.  I just kept staying low.”

Dave McCullough took the lead from Rich Partite on lap thirteen and never looked back as he drove to the victory in the Speedway's All Star Bagel Stop Slingshot feature event.  Partite hung on to finish second with Rich Afflerback finishing third in his Slingshot debut.  Jason Kraycirik and Ashley Therien rounded out the top five.

After trying to make a move to the inside on several occasions, Joe Garey, Sr. went to the outside to pass leader, Scott Miller in the i2M Four Cylinder Enduro feature event.  Garey and Miller battled to the checkered with Garey getting his first win of the season.  Joe Garey, Jr. finished third.

Matt Davis raced to his first win of the season in the Remax Connection 600 Novice feature, ending Kristy Hicks win streak at three consecutive wins.  Hicks finished second with Ed Wolf taking third.

ACE OVERHEAD DOOR CO 600cc MICRO SPRINTS (20 laps) – 1. Mike Rutherford, 2. Jermain Godshall, 3. Kyle Spence, 4. Travis Hill, 5. Mike Linderman, 6. Nick Sapp, 7. P.J. Williams, 8. Damon Paul, 9. Matt Smith, 10. Jon Keller, 11. Nick Havens, 12. Steve Bracall, 13. Brandon Pavel, 14. Gary Bozowski, 15. Dave Nelson, 16. Richie Keller, 17. Mark Landwher, 18. Nathan Smith, 19. Matt Davis, 20. Joe Dopke, 21. Maddie Boyd, 22. Ed Wolf, 23. Corey Andersen, 24. Joe Bednarek, 25. Kristy Hicks, DNS – Joe Kay, Dave Damaio, Jim Tippin


REMAX CONNECTION 600cc NOVICE (8 laps) – 1. Matt Davis, 2. Kristy Hicks, 3. Ed Wolf, 4. Maddie Boyd


ACE OVERHEAD DOOR CO. 270cc MICRO SPRINTS (20 laps) – 1. Alex Swift, 2. Nick Skias, 3. Andrew Locuson, 4. Mike Rutherford, 5. Ken Andreas, 6. Sean Huesser, 7. Billy Gray, 8. Tyler Grau, 9. Sami Schenck, 10. Richie Keller, 11. Kyle Weiss, 12. Ryan Wozunk, 13. Devin Porch, 14. John West, 15. Billy Murphy, 16. Jonathan John, 17. Kristen Landwher, 18. Ross Holler, 19. Ryan Krushinski, 20. Jacob Byron, 21. Buddy Schweibinz, 22. Brandon Shipley, 23. Tom Landwher, 24. David Fink, DNS – John Wagner, Jr., DNQ – Steve Coslop


SPEEDWAY’S ALL-STAR BAGEL STOP SLINGSHOTS (20 laps) – 1. Dave McCullough, 2. Rich Partite, 3. Rich Afflerback, 4. Jason Kraycirik, 5. Ashley Therien, 6. Tomas Mowery, 7. Dave Morrell, 8. Robin McTighe, DNS – Lou Partite


i2m FOUR CYLINDER ENDUROS (20 laps) – 1. Joe Garey, Sr., 2. Scott Miller, 3. Joe Garey, Jr., 4. Terry Sammons

Return-to-Bridgeport Speedway News and Results (Friday)