Kyle Spence and Mike Rutherford picked up their first wins of the 2018 season in Friday night Spirit Speedway action

Date: 7/3/2018 10:10:39 PM

Media contact:  D&D Media

Track Office:  856-467-4407

24 Hour info:  856-467-4408


Twitter: Spirit_Speedway

Follow us on Facebook


Upcoming events

Sunday, July 8 - Poker Series  - 600 & 270 Micro Sprints, Slingshots and Xcel 600 Modifieds, racing at 6:30

Friday, July 20 - 270/600 Micro Sprints plus 600 Novice, 4 Cylinder Enduros &Slingshots (Poker Series), racing at 8pm

Friday, July 27 -    

270/600 Micro Sprints plus 600 Novice, Slinghshots & Mini Late Models, racing at 8pm



Kyle Spence and Mike Rutherford picked up their first wins of the 2018 season in Friday night Spirit Speedway action

After many races of coming through the field, "We finally got a good pill draw," Spence related of his first Spirit Speedway Ace Overhead Door Company 600 Micro Sprint victory in Gary Hunter's No. 7H  this season.  After a runner-up finish in the fourth qualifying heat, Spence drew the pole for the twenty lap main event.

Stoney Point, NY's, Damon Paul has been on a hot streak lately and he gave Spence very little peace of mind as the two drivers lined up side by side to lead the field to the green flag.  Spence was able to hold off the determined Paul who was all over the tail of the No. 7H in the early going.  Rutherford took over the second spot from Paul before lap five was scored.  

Tim Buckwalter was in the Friday night field, preparing for the upcoming Poker Series event on Sunday, July 8th.  Buckwalter and Rutherford battled for the second spot but it was Rutherford who chased Spence to the checkered flag.  Buckwalter finished third followed by Paul and Tyler DeVault.  PJ Williams, Gary Bozowski, Sam LaMothe, Mike Linderman and Whitey Kidd rounded out the top ten.

Mike Rutherford does double duty on Friday nights, racing in both the 600 and 270 micro sprints.  Rutherford has a win in 600 action earlier this season but raced to his first Ace Overhead Door Company 270 victory on this Friday night.  

Polesitter, Billy Gray led the first two circuits before Brandon Shipley took over on lap three.  It was Shipley who raced Rutherford for the lead on lap five with Rutherford coming out on top.

Nick Skias took over the runner-up spot at the half way mark and followed Rutherford to the finish.  It was Rutherford for his first Spirit 270 victory followed by Skias, Shipley, Ken Andreas and Andrew Locuson.  Steve Coslop, Gray, Ryan Wozunk, Tom Landwher and Luke Fogg rounded out the top ten.  

Matt Davis tied Kristy Hicks in Remax Connection 600 Novice action as he picked up his third win of the season.  Hicks finished second.  

Jason Dunkelberger picked up the win over Dustin Dunkelberger in the Mini Late Model feature event.  Tucker Gordner finished third.

John Garey, Jr. picked up the win in the i2M Four Cylinder feature event over his dad, Joe Garery, Sr.  

Vinny Troia led Lee Allen to the checkered flag in the 8 Cylinder Enduro feature event.  Scott Riggleman, Jason Duvall and Kevin Flores rounded out the top five finishers.

There will be no racing at the Spirit Speedway this Friday as action moves to Sunday, July 8th for the Poker Series event that gets underway at 6:30pm.

REMAX CONNECTION 600cc NOVICE (8 laps)  1. Matt Davis, 2. Kristy Hicks, 3. Heather Harris


ACE OVERHEAD DOORS 600cc MICRO SPRINTS (20 laps)  1. Kyle Spence, 2. Mike Rutherford, 3. Tim Buckwalter, 4. Damon Paul, 5. Tyler DeVault, 6. P.J. Williams, 7. Gary Bozowski, 8. Sam LaMothe, 9. Mike Linderman, 10. Whitey Kidd III, 11. Mark Landwher, 12. Jermain Godshall, 13. Wayne Scott, 14. Colin Bustard, 15. Matt Smith, 16. Joe Bednarek, 17. Joe Dopke, 18. Brandon Pavel, 19. Josh Conover, 20. Chris Fenimore, 21. Rebecca LaMothe, 22. Nick Sapp, 23. Andrew Hannulla, 24. John Barnett, 25. Matt Davis, 26. Steve Bracall, 27. Josh Martin, 28. Jon Keller, DNQ Nathan Smith, Pat Ely, Jim Tippin, Justin Murphy, Nick Havens, Heather Harris, Corey Andersen, Kristy Hicks, Dave Nelson, Donnie Trent, Dave Damaio


ACE OVERHEAD DOORS 270cc MICRO SPRINTS (20 laps)  1. Mike Rutherford, 2. Nick Skias, 3. Brandon Shipley, 4. Ken Andreas, 5. Andrew Locuson, 6. Steve Coslop, 7. Billy Gray, 8. Ryan Wozunk, 9. Tom Landwher, 10. Luke Fogg, 11. Cody West, 12. Deana Cogdill, 13. Tyler Grau, 14. Alex Swift, 15. John West, 16. Ryan Krushinski, 17. Sami Schenck, 18. Lee Reinhardt, 19. Sean Huesser, 20. John Wagner, Jr., 21. Devin Porch, 22. Kristen Landwher, 23. Kyle Weiss


MINI LATE MODELS (15 laps)  1. Jason Dunkleburger, 2. Dustin Dunkleberger, 3. Tucker Gordner, 4. Randall LeMaster


i2m FOUR CYLINDER ENDUROS (20 laps)  1. Joe Garey, Jr., 2. Joe Garey


EIGHT CYLINDER ENDUROS (30 laps)  1. Vinny Troia, 2. Lee Allen, 3. Scott Riggleman, 4. Jason Duvall, 5. Kevin Flores, 6. Jon Parker, 7. Derek Jones, 8. Scott Purcell, 9. Jonathan Bronne, 10. Chris Allen, Sr., 11. Tom Wolf

Return-to-Bridgeport Speedway News and Results (Friday)