Date: 9/25/2018 9:43:37 PM

Media contact:  D&D Media

Track Office:  856-467-4407

24 Hour info:  856-467-4408

Twitter: Spirit_Speedway

Follow us on Facebook


Upcoming events

Friday - Sunday, October 5-7 - Skyscraper Weekend - Friday night practice for all divisions starting at 8pm, Saturday - qualifying for 270 & 600 Micro Sprints at 6pm, Sunday - Poker Series Main events for 270 & 600 Micros, racing at 5pm
Friday & Saturday, October 26-27 - Bill Thomas Memorial Weekend - Friday, Bill Thomas Qualifier for 270 & 600 Micro Sprints, racing at 8pm, Saturday, Poker Series with 270 & 600 Micro Sprints, Slingshots and Xcel 600 Modifieds, 4 & 8 Cylinder Enduros, racing at 5pm


Six new champions were crowned at Bridgeport's Spirit Speedway on Friday night during the final races of the regular 2018 season.  Mike Rutherford earned his first 600 Micro Sprint Championship at the quarter mile, driving for Gary Spotts and Earl Fellin.  Kristy Hicks picked up the title in the 600 Novice division.  Nick Skias and Alex Swift ended in a dead heat and were named co-champions in the 270 Micro Sprint Division while Dave McCullough earned his first Slingshot Championship and Joe Garey Jr. racked up the points to earn the title in the 4 Cylinder Enduros.

Six new champions and five different winners on a very busy Friday night!

Matt Smith returned to winning form in one of the most closely contested Ace Overhead Door Company 600 feature events of the season.  Polesitter, Mike Linderman led all the way to the final corner of the twenty lap feature event with Smith just inching ahead as they ran to the checkered flag.  After a strong start of the season, Smith has been plagued with mechanical ills and plenty of bad luck.  "We're back," exclaimed the 2017 Champion who had just earned a guaranteed starting spot in the upcoming Skyscraper event.  

The top five cars ran under a blanket for most of the race, exchanging positions throughout the twenty lap feature.  Smith picked up the win over Linderman with Whitey Kidd manhandling his car to a third place finish after losing power steering early in the event.  Kyle Spence finished fourth with Luke Thomas racing to a fifth place finish.  PJ Williams, Damon Paul, Gary Bozowski, Mike Rutherford and Chris Locuson rounded out the top ten.

Lee Reinhardt raced to his second consecutive win in the Ace Overhead Door Company 270 Micro Sprint feature event, leading every lap from his pole position start.  Pat Bealer was Reinhardt's first challenger but Bealer fell off the pace on lap five.  Alex Swift raced behind Reinhardt for the remaining laps. chasing him to the finish line ahead of Jacob Hendershot, Nick Skias and Kyle Weiss.  Buddy Schweibinz, Andrew Locuson, Brandon Shipley, Ken Andreas and Mike Rutherford completed the top ten at the finish line.  

With the championship on the line, Skias' night did not start out the way he wanted.  Mechanical failure sidelined him from his heat race, forcing him to qualify the Jim Widdoss No. 28 through the consolation.  With just a few laps to go, Swift and the John Blanda No.15 were ahead in the points but some late race moves by Skias was enough to force a tie in the points chase and co-champions were declared for the first time ever at the Spirit Speedway.

By virtue of his win, Reinhardt also earned a guaranteed qualifying spot for the Skyscraper event, October 5-7.

Matt Davis was the feature winner in the REMAX Connection 600 Novice feature event over Kristy Hicks.

Dave McCullough added another win to his credit, passing Dave Morrell for the win in the Speedway All Star Bagel Stop Slingshot main event.  McCullough dedicated his win in memory of Greg Hodnett who lost his life in a sprint car event the previous night.  Morrell finished second  with Jason Kraycirik taking third.

Scott Miller returned to Victory Lane in the i2M 4 Cylinder Enduros.  After falling to the back of the field early in the race, Miller battled back to take the lead and win from Joe Garey, Jr.  Garey, Jr finished second with Joe Garey, Sr. taking third.

ACE OVERHEAD DOORS 600cc MICRO SPRINTS (20 laps) – 1. Matt Smith, 2. Mike Linderman, 3. Whitey Kidd, III, 4. Luke Thomas, 5. Kyle Spence, 6. P.J. Williams, 7. Damon Paul, 8. Gary Bozowski, 9. Mike Rutherford, 10. Chris Locuson, 11. Lee Nardelli, 12. Nick Sapp, 13. Sam LaMothe, 14. Billy Calvert, 15. Jon Keller, 16. Mark Landwher, 17. Doug Snyder, 18. Brandon Pavel, 19. Matt Davis, 20. Corey Andersen, 21. Joe Bednarek, 22. Richie Keller, 23. Justin Murphy, 24. Colin Bustard, 25. Jim Tippin, DNS – Jason Muldowny, Rebecca LaMothe, Lou Cicconi, Nick Havens, Dave Damaio, Ed Barber III, Steve Bracall, Kristy Hicks, Tim Paul


REMAX CONNECTION 600cc NOVICE (8 laps) – 1. Matt Davis, 2. Kristy Hicks, DNS – Tim Paul


ACE OVERHEAD DOORS 270cc MICRO SPRINTS (20 laps) – 1. Lee Reinhardt, 2. Alex Swift, 3. Jacob Hendershot, 4. Nick Skias, 5. Kyle Weiss, 6. Buddy Schweibinz, 7. Andrew Locuson, 8. Brandon Shipley, 9. Ken Andreas, 10. Mike Rutherford, 11. Logan Diehl, 12. John Wagner, Jr., 13. Cody West, 14. Steve Coslop, 15. Sean Huesser, 16. Billy Gray, 17. Ryan Wozunk, 18. Toby Blumenshine, 19. Luke Fogg, 20. Jonathan John, 21. Tom Landwher, 22. Billy Murphy, 23. Dan Lane, 24. Pat Bealer, DNQ – Ross Holler, Junior Ramer, Kristen Landwher, Ron Ford, Deana Cogdill, Jon West


SPEEDWAY’S ALL-STAR BAGEL STOP (20 laps) – 1. Dave McCullough, 2. Dave Morrell, 3. Jason Kraycirik, 4. Rick Afflerbach, 5. Tomas Mowery, 6. Robin McTighe, DNS – George Gareis, Jr.


i2m FOUR CYLINDER ENDUROS (20 laps) – 1. Scott Miller, 2. Joe Garey, Jr., 3. Joe Garey, Sr., 4. Zach Burnham

Return-to-Bridgeport Speedway News and Results (Friday)