Date: 9/18/2016 11:02:45 AM




New Egypt Speedway

Route 539, New Egypt, NJ

Track Phone: 609-758-1900




Contact: Mike Wisniewski – Wiz Motorsports Communications, 856-982-5137



New Egypt, NJ (September 18, 2016) – At New Egypt Speedway’s fourth annual All Star Cup event, Billy Pauch, Jr. powered to the win in the 358 Modified feature. Ryan Godown was the victor in the main event for the Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprints. Jim Housworth topped the field in the Sportsman feature. The Crate Modified feature was won by Matt Stangle.


As the 50-lap Modified feature got underway, polesitter Jeff Strunk grabbed the lead with Billy Pauch, Jr. in second. After a side-by-side battle, Pauch, Jr. slipped by Strunk to gain the top running spot on the fifth lap. With ten circuits recorded, Pauch, Jr, had developed a comfortable lead with Strunk, John McClelland, Jimmy Horton and Ryan Godown next in line. By lap fifteen, Pauch, Jr. was knifing his way through lap traffic as McClelland was tracking down Strunk for the runner-up position. After a multi-lap tussle for the runner-up position, McClelland edged by Strunk on the twenty-first tour to assume second place. Three laps later, Strunk regained the spot. On the next circuit, the sizeable advantage that Pauch, Jr. had established was wiped out as the yellow flag waved for a halfway point fuel stop. When action resumed, Pauch, Jr. remained in control with Godown jumping into second and McClelland in third. As he did in the first half of the race, Pauch, Jr. began to pull away from the field. With ten circuits to go, Pauch, Jr was slicing his way through lap traffic with Godown narrowing the gap. On lap forty-three, the yellow lights were lit as Rick Laubach stopped on the backstretch. As the green flag waved, Pauch, Jr. repelled Godown to keep his lead with McClelland, Dominick Buffalino and Strunk in pursuit. The final caution period of the race took place on the forty-fifth revolution as PJ Oliver’s ride stopped. Following the single file restart, Pauch, Jr. maintained his position and continued to pace the field to the checkered flag. For Pauch, Jr., the victory was his fifth of the year at New Egypt Speedway and his second career All Star Cup win. Godown completed the race in second with Buffalino finishing in third. A strong run resulted in McClelland crossing the line in fourth place. Strunk came home in fifth. Buffalino, Strunk, and Danny Bouc won the 358 Modified heat races. Ryan Krachun took the checkered flag in the consolation contest.


For the fifth time in 2016, Ryan Godown was the victor in the Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprint main event. Heidi Heddin led the first four circuits of the 20-lap main event before Johnny Cornell took over. Godown, who started the contest in twelfth place, charged past Cornell for the lead on the thirteenth tour. Cornell, who announced his retirement from racing, finished in second place. Third place was taken by Bobby Butler. The top five was completed by Heddin and Brian Spencer. The qualifying events in the Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprints division were taken by Lee Nardelli and Butler.


In the 25-lap Sportsman feature, Jim Housworth collected his fifth career win at New Egypt Speedway. Art Liedl led the pack for the opening eleven circuits. On lap twelve, ninth place starting Steve Davis darted to the front. Following a caution period on the nineteenth revolution, Housworth outdueled Davis to gain the lead. In the final laps, Housworth kept his advantage to grab his first win at New Egypt Speedway since 2013. Second place was claimed by Bob Lineman, Jr. With Davis taking third, Brandon Grosso was fourth and Matt Stangle took fifth. Davis and Art Liedl were victors in the Sportsman heat races.


Matt Stangle, the 2015 New Egypt Speedway Rookie champion, sped to the victory in the 25-lap Crate Modified feature. Jeremy Martino started the race in front and paced the field until John Aumick took over on the twelfth lap. On the next tour, Stangle worked his way past Aumick and led the race for the remaining distance. Aumick took the runner-up spot with Ebby Ridge completing the event in third. Frank Dorry, Jr. and Ryan Simmons filled out the top five. The Crate Modified heat race winners were Stangle and Jordan Cox.


New Egypt Speedway is located on Route 539 just minutes from Six Flags Great Adventure and the New Jersey Turnpike.   A racy 7/16-mile D-shaped dirt oval, New Egypt Speedway serves Garden State race fans with some of the best competition in the country.  New Egypt’s state-of-the-art facilities feature daylight-quality lighting and excellent sightlines from any seat in the house.  The grandstands are fully wheelchair accessible with wide, clear, and well-groomed walkways.  Concession facilities serve up everything from roast beef sandwiches to ice cream treats at family-friendly prices.


For more information, visit online:, “Like” us on Facebook at, or follow us on Twitter @nesspeedway.




358 Modifieds


Heat 1 - 1. Dominick Buffalino 2. John McClelland 3. Doug Manmiller 4. Willie Osmun 5. Duane Howard 6. Chad Barney           


Heat 2 - 1. Jeff Strunk 2. Ryan Godown 3. Billy Pauch, Jr. 4. Ryan Grim 5. Jimmy Horton 6. Andrew Bohn


Heat 3 - 1. Danny Bouc 2. PJ Oliver 3. David Van Horn 4. Lou Cicconi 5. Billy VanInwegen 6. Wade Hendrickson


Consolation – 1. Ryan Krachun 2. Rick Laubach 3. Clay Butler 4. John Willman 5. DJ Ruppert 6. Jim Britt


DNQ: Tad Cox, Chuck Potts





1. BILLY PAUCH, JR. 2. Ryan Godown 3. Dominick Buffalino 4. John McClelland 5. Jeff Strunk 6. David Van Horn 7. Doug Manmiller 8. Ryan Grim 9. Ryan Krachun 10. Billy VanInwegen 11. Duane Howard 12. Jimmy Horton 13. Rick Laubach 14. Lou Cicconi 15. Jim Britt 16. Clay Butler 17. Andrew Bohn 18. Chad Barney 19. PJ Oliver 20. Danny Bouc 21. Willie Osmun 22. Wade Hendrickson 23. John Willman 24. DJ Ruppert   


Burlington County Overhead Door NEWS Sprints


Heat 1 - 1. Lee Nardelli 2. Chris Moll 3. Lou Cicconi 4. Brody Adamsky 5. Larry Ricci 6. Jermain Godshall


Heat 2 - 1. Bobby Butler 2. Johnny Cornell 3. Heidi Heddin 4. Rich Mellor 5. Brian Spencer 6. Al Cheney





1. RYAN GODOWN 2. Johnny Cornell 3. Bobby Butler 4. Heidi Heddin 5. Brian Spencer 6. Lou Cicconi 7. Rich Mellor 8. Lee Nardelli 9. Wayne Weaver 10. Chris Moll 11. Al Cheney 12. Jermain Godshall 13. Duane Nixon 14. Larry Ricci 15. Brody Adamsky 




Heat 1 - 1. Steve Davis 2. Will Dupree 3. Matt Stangle 4. Ryan Lilick 5. Rocco Infante 6. Alan Bleacher


Heat 2 - 1. Art Liedl 2. Bob Lineman, Jr. 3. Eric Kormann 4. Jim Housworth 5. Kyle Lilick 6. Roger Manning 





1. JIM HOUSWORTH 2. Bob Lineman, Jr. 3. Steve Davis 4. Brandon Grosso 5. Matt Stangle 6. Art Liedl 7. Eric Kormann 8. Cale Ross 9. Bill Liedtka 10. Roger Manning 11. Mickey Kessler 12. Rocco Infante 13. Will Dupree 14. Kyle Lilick 15. Chris Grbac 16. Dakota Kessler 17. Jimmy Amato 18. Ryan Lilick 19. Stan Ploski 

DNS: Alan Bleacher



Crate Modifieds


Heat 1 - 1. Matt Stangle 2. Tom Tanner 3. Jeremy Martino 4. Eric Palmer 5. Dakota Kessler 6. Ryan Simmons 7. Frank Dorry, Jr. 8. Shawn Ratchford 9. Johnny Bangs


Heat 2 - 1. Jordan Cox 2. John Aumick 3. Jason Bittner 4. Brandon Grosso 5. Kyle Kania 6. Dan Fleming 7. Devin Dodson 8. Alonzo Morales 9. Matt Knaub




1. MATT STANGLE 2. John Aumick 3. Ebby Ridge 4. Frank Dorry, Jr. 5. Ryan Simmons 6. Jason Bittner 7. John Criscione 8. Jordan Cox 9. Kyle Kania 10. Jeremy Martino 11. Alonzo Morales 12. Walt McIntyre 13. Matt Knaub 14. Dan Fleming 15. Brandon Grosso 16. Johnny Bangs 17. Devin Dodson 18. Shawn Ratchford 19. Eric Palmer 20. Rich Jones

DQ: Tom Tanner, Dakota Kessler

DNS: Billy Osmun, III

Return-to-New Egypt Speedway News And Results