Date: 5/1/2018 10:34:09 PM

Media contact:  D&D Media

Track Office:  856-467-4407

24 Hour info:  856-467-4408




Follow us on Facebook



Upcoming events

Saturday, May 5 - First Night of Points - Big Block Modifieds, 602 Crate Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks and Rookies, racing at 6pm

Sunday, May 13 - Pre-Season Championship Night - Big Block Modifieds, 602 Crate Sportsman, Outlaw Stocks & Rookies on the 3/8th mile, racing at 6pm

Wednesday, May 16 - Battle of the Bridge - Super DIRTcar Series event - DIRTcar Big Blocks and 602 Crate Sportsman, racing at 7:15  (Rain date - Thursday)


Jeff Strunk has staked his claim by coming up with the big win in the Bob Hilbert Sportswear Short Track Super Series South Jersey Shootout at the Design for Vision/Sunglass Central 3/8th mile track at the Bridgeport Speedway – his second win on the new track surface in just a week!

Nobody needs to ask Strunk if he likes the new track as his flawless record speaks for itself.  

Strunk led every lap of the forty lap feature event after drawing the pole for the start.  Strunk and Rick Laubach lined up side by side to lead the field to Warren Alston’s green flag but it was Strunk who moved his Hyneman No. 126 TEO out in front and never looked back.  Many were surprised to learn that Strunk, who had set fast time earlier in the day, was racing with a spec head small block powerplant under the hood.

Wind Gap, PA driver, Frank Cozze was the man on the move during the early laps as he used the outside line to quickly move up to third in his Dave Renaldo owned No. 401.  While challenging for second on lap eleven, Cozze was forced off the racing surface and made hard contact with a yuke tire.  The red flag was thrown while safety crews attended to the scene.  Cozze was shaken but not injured in the incident.

Danny Creeden took his place beside Strunk on the restart and anticipated the leader’s start, jumping out in front on what was determined by officials as a “no start”.  Unfortunately, several cars further back in the pack tangled.  Jared Umbenhauer ended up on his side with the Mike Harvey owned No. 1H.  Richie Pratt, Jr. was also involved in the Kyle Borror owned No. B4.  Other cars involved were able to restart.

Strunk led the field back to the green flag and built up quite a lead as the race ran under green flag conditions until four laps to go when Creeden was sidelined with a flat tire.  Matt Sheppard moved into second just before the halfway mark with Stewart Friesen taking over third with less than ten laps to go.  Andy Bachetti and Anthony Perrego battled down to the wire for the fourth position.

Strunk had a straightaway lead on the field before the final caution as he picked his way through lapped traffic.  “I just kept running my line.  I didn’t want to take any chances getting into the marbles in the lapped traffic,” Strunk explained.  When the yellow flag waved with four laps to go, a look at the scoreboard alerted Strunk to who was behind him.  “I just had to keep hitting my marks,” the winner said and his plan worked to perfection as he again pulled away on the single file restart.

Strunk led Sheppard to the checkered flag followed by Friesen, Bachetti and Perrego.  Ryan Godown battled to a sixth place finish over Rick Laubach, Duane Howard, Billy Pauch Jr. and David VanHorn.

“I wish this place wasn’t so far away,” was Tom Collins comment after he picked up the flag to flag victory in the 602 Crate Sportsman feature event.  Collins traveled to Bridgeport from his home in upstate New York but really liked the new 3/8th mile track.  “I’ve run on the 5/8th mile track before and I really like that too but this track is more like what I normally run,” said the driver who is a regular at Outlaw and Five Mile Point Speedways.

Corey Cormier was able to cut into Collins lead as the laps counted down but was never within striking distance of the leader.

Collins took the checkered flag followed by Cormier, Rich Wenger, Jr., Dylan Swinehart and Scott Kohler. 

After a late arrival at the track forced him to start from the rear of the field, Jeramy Doerr took the lead from 2017 Pennco Tech Outlaw Champion, Tom Wills, Jr. on lap five and  drove to his first win of the season and becoming the very first Outlaw Stock winner on the Design for Vision/Sunglass Central 3/8th mile track at Bridgeport.  Wills, Jr. finished second with Spider Ensinger taking third.  Mike Creamer rebounded from a late race spin to finish fourth with Billy Wroble rounding out the top five at the finish.

Racing action returns to the 5/8 mile speedway this Saturday night as the 2018 Point Championship gets underway for the Spirit Auto Center Big Block Modifieds, Stewart Stainless 602 Crate Sportsman, Pennco Tech Outlaw Stocks and the DA’s Auto Body & Repair Rookies.  Racing gets underway at 6pm.

STSS MODIFIEDS (40 laps): 1. Jeff Strunk, 2. Matt Sheppard, 3. Stewart Friesen, 4. Andy Bachetti, 5. Anthony Perrego, 6. Ryan Godown, 7. Rick Laubach, 8. Duane Howard, 9. Billy Pauch, Jr., 10. David VanHorn, 11. Ryan Watt, 12. Brian Krummel, 13. Craig VonDohren, 14. Mike Gular, 15. Danny Creedan, 16. Jimmy Horton, 17. Danny Bouc, 18. Neal Williams, 19. Dillon Steuer, 20. Matt Stangle, 21. Brett Kressley, 22. Joseph Watson, 23. David Hunt, 24. Frank Cozze, 25. Richie Pratt, Jr., 26. Billy Pauch, Sr., 27. Jared Umbenhauer, 28. Billy Decker, DNQ – Rocco Infante, Jim Britt, Doug Manmiller, Ryan Krachun, Tyler Boniface, Kevin Vaclavicek, Michael White, Wade Hendrickson, Tommy Beamer, Chris Grbac, Justin Grim, Ron Roberts, Bob Sarkisian, Steve Young, Roger Manning, Sam Martz, Brandon Grosso, Jordan Watson 


STSS 602 CRATE SPORTSMAN (20 laps): 1. Tom Collins, 2. Corey Cormier, 3. Rich Wenger, Jr., 4. Dylan Swinehart, 5. Scott Kohler, 6. Jim Housworth, 7. Steve Kemery, 8. Tom Scheetz, Jr., 9. Sammy Martz, Jr., 10. Adam McAuliffe, 11. Seth Spayd, 12. Frank Dorry, 13. Eric Kormann, 14. Joe Toth, 15. Jeremy Harrington, 16. Brad Roberts, 17. David Crossman, 18. Bobby DeLeon, 19. Connor Otten, 20. Andrew Kreiss, 21. David Schillings, 22. Shayne Spoonhower, 23. Tom Moore, 24. Parker Gulden, 25. Ryan Simmons, 26. Dan Fleming, 27. Wayne Weaver, 28. Joseph Brown, DNQ – John Crision, Tom Sherby, Alonso Morales, Pete Serra, Adam White, Kevin Borden, Chris Brennan, Ryan Simmons, Jim Gallagher, Jr., Tom Princiotta 


PENNCO TECH OUTLAW STOCKS (15 laps): 1Jeramy Doerr, 2. Tom Wills, Jr., 3. Spider Ensinger, 4. Mike Creamer, 5. Billy Wroble, 6. Lee Allen, 7. Brian Ludwig, 8. Gary Klimeczak, 9. Keith McKinley, 10. Rich Stinson, Jr., 11. David Kramer, 12. Scott Hulmes

Return-to-Bridgeport Speedway News and Results (Saturday)