Scott Dellinger, Randy Christine Jr., and Doug Bennett Win Williams Grove Speedway Saturday Night Features

Date: 8/2/2015 10:05:45 PM

Williams Grove Speedway Saturday Night News


Family Entertainment At Family Prices


Williams Grove Speedway


1 Speedway Drive


Mechanicsburg, Pa. 17055


717 - 697 - 5000


For Immediate Release



Scott Dellinger, Randy Christine Jr., and Doug Bennett Win Williams Grove Speedway Saturday Night Features

Mechanicsburg, PA., August 2, 2015


“You have to go where the car works,” Scott Dellinger said following his victory in Saturday night’s Williams Grove Speedway Saturday Night Series Super Sportsman feature.  “I have been learning that a lot.  You can’t keep trying the same thing over and over.  If it doesn’t work you have to go somewhere else.”


Devin Beidel started on the pole at the beginning of the 20-lap Blazer’s Body Shop Super Sportsman main event.  Beidel led the way with Todd Leonard, Kenny Edkin and Rich Eichelberger giving chase.  Sixth-place starter Scott Dellinger was in fifth.


In the third circuit Kenny Edkin became the new leader with Scott Dellinger charging into second. Dellinger, using the low line, made several challenges for the lead.  Behind the lead duo, Devin Beidel, Jay Fannasy, Chad Criswell, Frankie Herr, and Rich Eichelberger were in a tight battle for third.


Following a lap nine restart, Scott Dellinger switched lanes and went to the top.  During the 11th pass of the half-mile oval, Dellinger used the top of turns three and four to pass Edkin.


Dellinger, from Lewisberry, had a 20-length lead before the caution came out on the final lap.  As the cars came up to speed, Chad Criswell’s car shot to the inside and struck the front stretch fencing, triggering a large crash.  Mike Enders’ machine rolled over in the melee while the cars of Chad Smith and Steve Fannasy made hard contact with the outside fencing, knocking down a section of protective fence.


The speedway’s track crew spent an hour repairing the fence.  During that time speedway officials made the decision to penalize point leader Frankie Herr to the rear of the field for contact with Chad Criswell’s car.


Scott Dellinger led the final lap to win his second of the year by five lengths over Rich Eichelberger. Kenny Edkin was third with Devin Beidel in fourth and Jay Fannasy was fifth.


Eichelberger, Jay Fannasy and Beidel won the Super Sportsman heats for the 28 entries with Chad Smith taking the consolation.  Nate Young received the Sprint Aces Hard Charger award.


Brad Shank led the start of the 20-lap Credit Connection Auto Sales 358 Late Model feature.  Dan Zechman, Jed Latshaw and Cam Zeigler were close behind.  Randy Christine Jr., the third-place starter, held fifth.


Dan Zechman went to the low lane to challenge leader Brad Shank.  Zechman, in the fifth circuit, hugged the bottom of turns three and four to sweep by Brad Shank.  Cam Zeigler was third with Randy Christine Jr., in fourth.


The event’s first caution occurred on lap eight.  Zechman continued to lead with Shank in second and Christine advancing into third. Two-laps later the caution returned.  Randy Christine Jr., had the perfect restart, roaring past Shank and Zechman to become the new leader.


Randy Christine Jr. held an eight-length lead over Dan Zechman.  The race had a final-lap caution. Christine led the final lap and the Manchester Missile won his first Williams Grove Speedway feature by four lengths over Dan Zechman.  Brad Shank, Wes Alleman and Cam Zeigler completed the top five.


Matt Nailor, Billy Wampler and Sam Gallagher won the qualifying event for the 25-car field.  Ron Kline received the Hard Charger award.


The 15-lap Aquafun Pools Street Stock main event began with a large first turn crash.  After clearing the carnage, Doug Bennett, the third-place starter, sprinted into the lead followed by Steven Dove, Craig Morgan, Dustin Hollinger, and Kory Sites.


Bennett gained a five-length edge while Dove, Morgan and Sites fought for third.  Following an early caution, the remainder of the race had no yellows allowing Bennett to set a rapid pace.


Craig Morgan took control of second and slowly closed the gap.  With four-laps remaining Morgan narrowed the lead to two lengths.  With two-laps remaining Morgan pulled beside Bennett in turns three and four.  Bennett held off the challenge.


Doug Bennett, from Chambersburg, won his first Williams Grove Speedway feature by four lengths over Craig Morgan.  Steven Dove, Jeff Haag and Kory Sites completed the top five. 

Morgan, Greg Diehl and Jasen Geesaman won the heats for the 30 entries with the consolation going to Eric Tripp.  The Artwerks Hard Charger award went to Ryan Smith.


Williams Grove Speedway’s Saturday Night Series returns to action August 8 featuring the Blazer’s Body Shop Super Sportsman, Credit Connection Auto Sales 358 Late Models and Aquafun Pools Street Stocks.  Racing action commences at 7 PM.  Adult admission is $6 with children 12 and under free.


Super Sportsman results

1. Scott Dellinger, 2. Rich Eichelberger, 3. Kenny Edkin, 4. Devin Beidel, 5. Jay Fannasy, 6. Gregg Foster, 7. Eric Walker, 8. Todd Leonard, 9. Timmie Barrick, 10. Dave Conrad, 11. Nate Young, 12. Frankie Herr, 13. Chad Criswell, 14. Steve Fannasy, 15. Mike Enders, 16. Chad Smith, 17. Bill Devine, 18. Bobby Hockenberry, 19. Doug Dodson, 20. Justin Foster, 21. Adam Gutshall, 22. Tom Wyckoff, 23. Kevin Gutshall, 24. Lanny Hake DNQ: Russ Lebo, Russ Mitten, Chad Trout, Teddy Thomas


358 Late Model results:

1. Randy Christine Jr., 2. Dan Zechman, 3. Brad Shank, 4. Wes Alleman, 5. Cam Zeigler, 6. Gene Knaub, 7. Shaun Jones. 8. Ron Kline, 9. Chad Julius, 10. Sam Gallagher, 11. Travis Mease, 12. Dave Latsha, 13. Scott Richwine, 14. Chaz Walls, 15. Daulton Bigler, 16. Garrett Walls, 17. Pat Beard, 18. Alan Sagi, 19. Al Cheney, 20. Matt Adams, 21. Jed Latshaw, 22. Matt Nailor, 23. Billy Wampler, 24. Gary Warehime, DNS: Kevin Hart


Street Stock results:

1. Doug Bennett, 2. Craig Morgan, 3. Steven Dove, 4. Jeff Haag, 5. Kory Sites, 6. Walt Lemmon, 7. Chris Heller, 8. Randy Zechman, 9. Doug Hoffman, 10. Ryan Smith, 11. Sean Dawson, 12. Eric Tripp, 13. Mike Buckley, 14. Kevin Sigler, 15. Wayne Dutterer, 16. Scott Strickler, 17. Dave Bowermaster, 18. Richie Dodson, 19. Cory Phillips, 20. Dustin Hollinger, 21. Jasen Geesaman, 22. Dave Goode, 23. Greg Diehl, 24. Todd Bowersox DNQ: Chris Derr, Bob Scott Jr., Lee Lingle, Calvin Redding, Charlie Pensinger, Dalton Frye


Return-to-Williams Grove Speedway News and Results