Date: 8/23/2015 5:16:55 PM


CONTACT: Penncanmedia@gmail,com




SUSQUEHANNA, PA... For the second time in 2015 Brian Weaver found his way to victory lane at the Penn Can Speedway. Weaver had the crowd on their feet as he came from 14th to pick up the win. Grant Hilfiger was back in victory lane as he picked up the win in the Crate Sportsman 20 lap feature. Eddie Strada notched his first career CRSA 305 Sprint car feature win in just his second ever start. Ryan Stone found his way back to victory lane as he won the Street Stock 20 lap main event. Ted Mills Jr recorded another win in the Factory Stocks with Nick Kennedy making it two in a row in the 4 Cylinder 15 lap main event.


Brian Malcolm and Mike Loney brought the Modified field to the green flag with Loney grabbing the initial advantage. Loney wasted up no time opening up a sizable advantage of Malcolm's 119 machine. In the opening stages, Joey Colsten quickly moved into third with Frank Porreca and Mike Dougherty rounding out the top 5. As the race continued, Malcolm began to close the gap between him and leader Mike Loney. By lap 10 the battle began to heat up out front. Meanwhile Nick Rochinski cracked into the top 5 as he raced past Dougherty for position.


At this point Brian Weaver had already raced his way up to 7th from 14th on the starting grid. As a majority of the field ran the inside of the speedway, Weaver showed that the topside was the place to be. Up front Loney continued to set the pace with Malcolm pressuring on the inside. As the race raged on, Joey Colsten maintained third on the running order as he opened up ground on Porreca and Rochinski. By the midway point of the feature the top five would remain unchanged with Weaver now up to position 6. As the race continued Malcolm showed that he was a strong contender as he battled along side Loney for the lead. On lap 19 Malcolm was able to make a move stick as he would race past Loney to claim the lead on the inside of the track. Two laps later Weaver finally cracked into the top 5 as he continued to run on the outer limits of the wide racing surface.


Malcolm then began to pull away from Loney as he would lead the pack for the next several laps. On lap 23 Weaver let his presence be felt making a thrilling three wide pass off of turn two to take two more positions moving him into third. At this point all eyes were on Weaver as it appeared he would need a caution to have a shot at the win. That would not be the case however as he quickly moved into second and then began to reel in Malcolm to challenge for the lead. In the immediate laps to follow Weaver had cut the margin drastically continuing to work the outside of the track. By lap 26 Weaver was about one car length behind leader Brian Malcolm who ran the inside of the track. On the 27th circuit Weaver had a huge run and would fly past Malcolm to claim the lead. Weaver would then go on to quickly open up a sizable lead in the closing laps. The final laps saw Rochinski move into third with Dan Pompey, and Kevin Hartnett following suit for fourth and fifth on the grid. As the field picked up the checkered flag it was Weaver in for his second win of the year followed by Malcolm, Rochinski, Pompey and Hartnett.


The race took just over 8 minutes as it went green to checkered. The win for Weaver was his second of the season and first in the Grammes owned 5J.


Grant Hilfiger returned to victory lane picking up the win in the Sportsman 20 lap main event. Rookie Devon Zona jumped out to the early lead and would lead the first two laps. Hilfiger took the lead on lap 3 and would never look back. Hilfiger had the car dialed in as he could run anywhere on the track. Zona slid back into second but looked strong as he would stay there all race long. Points leader Alec Gennarelli raced his way up to third as he would record a solid night points wise. Marty Bunker and Dusty Barton would round out the top 5.


Ryan Stone found his way back to victory lane picking up the win in the Street Stock 20 lap main event. Randy Fox jumped out to the early race lead as he would lead the opening 6 laps. Stone moved up from fifth on the starting grid to take the lead on lap 7. Shane Wolf Jr then quickly moved into second and looked to challenge Stone for the lead. Stone however was the car to beat Friday as he kept Wolf at bay for the closing 13 laps of the feature. Wolf would wind up second with Ray Lindquist, Tom Hampton, and Cody Brown completing the top 5.


The CRSA Sprint cars were in town for their second stop of 2015. Before one lap was recorded many of the heavy hitters were involved in two incidents. Eddie Strada in just his second career CRSA start proved to be the car to beat. Strada would jump out to the advantage setting a blistering pace on the field. Strada would wind up lapping up to fifth on the field in the 20 car strong field. He would hold on to record his first ever Sprint car feature.


Nick Kennedy picked up his second consecutive win in the 4 Cylinder main event. He would take the lead on lap 5 from brother Frank Kennedy and hold on for the remaining 10 laps. Frank Kennedy, Matt McKernan, Josh Wilder, and Mike Robinson completed the top 5.


Ted Mills Jr raced to another win in the Factory Stock 15 lap feature. Mills started in third and by lap 6 had taken the lead form Jason Travis. Mills held on to the lead en route to another victory on the 2015 campaign.


PENN CAN POINTS: The Modified feature had fans on their feet as the race went green to checkered and ended in thrilling fashion. Despite a rough start to the CRSA Sprint feature the race would end up entertaining the crowd as it saw Lake Ariel native Eddie Strada recording his first career Sprint car feature win. Despite an extra division the show in its entirety was completed just after 11pm. Racing continues this Friday with a full show of action. Races will get underway at 7:30. For more information check us out online at Penncan.com or on our Facebook page. We can be reached by phone at 570-853-3434.




MODIFIEDS: Brian Weaver, Brian Malcolm, Nick Rochinski, Dan Pompey, Kevin Hartnett, Frank Porreca, Joey Colsten, Alan Rudalavage, George Kostelansky, Mike Colsten, Mike Gular, Bobby Yeager, Mike Loney, Mike Dougherty, Bobby Trapper, Nick Petrilak, Bob Trapper, Gary Tomkins, Mike Owen


SPORTSMAN: Grant Hilfiger, Devon Zona, Alec Gennarelli, Marty Bunker, Dusty Barton, Randy Fox, Tyler Singleton, Matt Brewer, Todd Titus, Ryan Olsommer


STREET STOCKS: Ryan Stone, Shane Wolf Jr, Ray Lindquist, Tom Hampton, Cody Brown, Kinser Hill, Randy Fox, Kyle Stark, Doug Stack Jr, DNS: Chuck Murray


FACTORY STOCKS: Ted Mills Jr, Jeremy Williams, Jason Travis, Erik Hines, Mark Andrus, Nate Hill, Kris Shimer, Buck Mills Sr, Lule Arbogast, Neil DiBlasi, Ned Fitch


4 CYLINDERS: Nick Kennedy, Matt McKernan, Josh Wilder, Mike Robinson, John Maynard, Frank Kennedy


CRSA SPRINT CARS: Eddie Strada, Brian Krummel, Mike Esposito, Chad Miller, Dalton Herrick, Tom Radivoy, Kyle Smith, Mike Kiser, Larry Kelleher, Emily Vaninwegen, Chuck Allesi, Josh Flint, David French, Scott Goodrich, Josh Pieniazek, John Matrafailo, Warren Alexson, Ed Newhauser, DNS: Cody Flach 

Return-to-Penn Can News and Results