Date: 8/30/2015 1:22:45 AM

FOR RELEASE: August 28th, 2015



SUSQUEHANNA, PA…Brian Weaver picked a good time to get hot leading into this weeks $3,000 to win Spectacular. Weaver scored his second consecutive Modified win Friday at Penn Can in a thrilling last lap pass off of turn four. Ray Lindquist scored a popular Street Stock win with Ryan Olsommer, Josh Towner and Michael Robinson also victorious.

   Mike Loney raced into the lead on lap one from his third starting spot in the Modified feature and opened a comfortable lead over the field. Bobby Trapper moved into second and set his sights on Loney as Weaver made quick work of the field to move into third on lap six from his 11th starting spot after a great battle with Brian Malcolm.

   Weaver battled Trapper lap after lap as they raced for second with Loney several car lengths ahead of them leading the way in the 30 lap feature. Two time defending Track Champ Kevin Hartnett and five time 2015 feature winner Dan Pompey cracked the top five and tried by the midway point of the race and tried to chase down the lead pack.

   Weaver took over second with five laps to go and went to work on Loney, who was looking for his first career Modified win. Loney ran the middle to top of the speedway while Weaver worked down low. Loney would pull Weaver off of turn two, but Weaver was better off turn four. With the white flag waving it appeared that Loney would have enough to fend off the challenge. Weaver had other ideas.

   Weaver would execute a perfect slide job coming off of turn four to take the lead coming to the checkers. Loney switched lanes and dove to the bottom but came up just short as Weaver collected his second straight win and third on the year. In Victory Lane Weaver dedicated the win to his late Grandmother, who was a Powder Puff champion at Penn Can many years ago and was influential in him getting started in racing.

   Loney’s outstanding quest for his first win found him coming up just short with a solid second place finish ahead of Hartnett, Pompey and an invading Billy VanPelt. Sixth through tenth went to Alan Rudalavage, Malcolm, Joey Colsten, Mike Colsten and Frank Porreca.

   Point leader Alec Gennarelli jumped to the early lead in the Crate Sportsman feature with Matt Brewer right behind him. They would run one and two for the first half of the twenty lap feature. While they ran up front Ryan Olsommer and Grant Hilfiger worked through the pack to mount a challenge on the leaders.

   Olsommer would take the top spot with nine laps to go after a spirited battle with Gennarelli. Hilfiger would take over second with five laps to go but was not able to mount a challenge as Olsommer raced to the feature win. Hilfiger was second over Brewer, Gennarelli and Marty Bunker.

   Shane Wolf, Jr. and Ryan Stone have been the drivers to beat in the Street Stock division this year but on this night it was Ray Lindquist taking the spotlight. Lindquist darted into the lead from the pole position and would lead the whole way, but not without an intense challenge. Wolf took over second  from Doug Stack, Jr. on lap six and repeatedly put pressure on Lindquist.

   As those two battled for the lead, Ryan Codington caught them and made it a three car battle for the lead. The leaders got into lapped traffic and Lindquist made the right moves to maintain his lead. As they took the white flag the crowd was on their feet. Lindquist held his line as Wolf went to the high side and Codington went low off of turn four.

   Lindquist would score his first win of the season with Codington slipping past Wolf for second as you could have thrown a blanket over the top three cars. Stone and Stack would round out the top five.

   The Factory Stock feature also had a thrilling last lap pass. Buck Mills, Sr. would lead from the outset but Josh Towner took just eight laps to race up to second from his eighth starting spot. Mills ran the extreme outside of the speedway and Towner raced hard on the bottom of the multi groove track.

   Coming to the checkers Towner would pull the same move that Weaver would do later in the night as he went into three on the bottom and slid up in front of Mills out of turn four. Mills would switch lanes but Towner made the move stick to capture this win. Mills was second ahead of point leader Jeremy Williams, Kris Shimer and Luke Arbogast.

   Michael Robinson would not only win the Four Cylinder feature, but he also clinched the Track Championship in the process. Robinson took the lead from last week’s winner Nick Kennedy on lap three and never looked back enroute to the win. Kennedy was second at the finish ahead of Frank Kennedy, Josh Wilder and Matt McKernan.

   This Friday night is the return of the Seward Rice Memorial Spectacular presented by Pump-N-Pantry, featuring a 50 lapper for the Modifieds paying $3,000 to win. The Street Stocks, Sportsman, Factory Stocks and Four Cylinders will also compete in extra distance races with extra purse on the line as the 2015 Track Champions will be crowned. Race time is 7:30 p.m.

PENN CAN POINTS…The closest point battle going into Friday is in the Street Stocks with Wolf leading Stone by just 12 points…Sportsman point leader Gennarelli expired his powerplant just after taking the checked flag…Once again the track provided multiple grooves and outstanding racing with three of the five races not determined until turn four of the last lap…The complete program was completed by 10:25 p.m.


MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH: BRIAN WEAVER, Mike Loney, Kevin Hartnett, Dan Pomey, Billy VanPelt, Alan Rudalavage, Brian Malcolm, Joey Colsten, Mike Colsten, Frank Porreca, Mike Dougherty, Bobby Yeager, Bobby Trapper, Joey Grammes, Nick Rochinski, Bob Trapper, Nick Petrilak, George Kostelansky.


602 CRATE SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH: RYAN OLSOMMER, Grant Hilfiger, Matt Brewer, Alec Gennarelli, Marty Bunker, Dusty Barton, Randy Fox, Mark Benson, Devon Zona. DNS: Todd Titus.


STREET STOCK FEATURE FINISH: RAY LINDQUIST, Ryan Codington, Shane Wolf, Jr., Ryan Stone, Doug Stack, Jr., Jack Holcomb, Jr., Chuck Murray, Cody Brown, Kyle Stark.


FACTORY STOCK FEATURE FINISH: JOSH TOWNER, Buck Mills, Sr., Jeremy Williams, Kris Shimer, Luke Arbogast, Ted Mills, Jr., Jason Travis, Nathan Hill, Chase Vinton, Ned Fitch. DNS: Kevin McDonald.


FOUR CYLINDER FEATURE FINISH: MICHAEL ROBINSON, Nick Kennedy, Frank Kennedy, Josh Wilder, Matt McKernan, John Maynard.

Return-to-Penn Can News and Results