Date: 10/19/2015 10:36:43 PM

FOR RELEASE: October 16, 2015



SUSQUEHANNA, PA…Stewart Friesen is the 2015 King of the Can. Friesen scored his 34th win of the season in the 60 lap Race Of Champions Modified feature Friday at Penn Can Speedway. Kevin Ward and Andy Brigham were also victorious on Friday.

   The 60 lap Modified feature found Brian Malcolm and Rusty Smith leading the pack to the green flag with Smith taking the early advantage. Smith, who competes on both the RoC Dirt and RoC Asphalt Series’ was impressive in the early going as he opened a commanding lead. Friesen, who started fifth, quickly moved ahead of Malcolm for second on lap eight and set his sights on the high flying Smith.

   When the first of only four cautions flew on lap 12 it was Smith out front ahead of Friesen, Malcolm, Nick Rochinski and Anthony Perrego. When racing resumed all eyes were on Smith and Friesen who ran side by side for many laps. Rochinski would make it a three car battle during a 30 lap green flag stretch. During that period Smith finally relinquished the lead to Friesen on lap 27 and started to fade as Rochinski hustled his mount into second just two laps later and went to work on Friesen.

   While they were battling up front the two drivers on the move were Mike Mahaney and  Joey Grammes. Mahaney slipped past Smith with 15 laps to go and started to close in on the leaders as they battled heavy lapped traffic. Grammes took his car to the top of the multi-groove speedway and launched his way into the battle up front.

   Rochinski kept the pressure on Friesen, who had his car working on both the top and bottom of the speedway. In the closing laps the leaders were in heavy lapped traffic with Rochinski waiting to pounce if traffic went his way. Mahaney was a close third with Grammes fourth and Perrego rounding out the top five with ten laps to go.

   Mahaney’s chance for a victory came to an abrupt halt on lap 56 when Nick Petrilak got crossed up in front of him in turns three and four, leaving Mahaney nowhere to go, causing him to spin. That set up a mad dash over the final four laps with Friesen out front ahead of Rochinski and Grammes. Rochinski made one last ditch effort on the final lap but would come up short as Friesen captured the win.

   Rochinski was a solid second ahead of the hard charging Grammes. Perrego came home fourth ahead of Penn Can Track Champion Kevin Hartnett, who was coming on strong at the end. “This track was awesome”, said an elated Friesen in victory lane. “It’s nice to have a cushion to use like that here. This Jeff Daley team is really hitting on all cylinders right now. It’s a pleasure to drive this car”, he added. The win was worth $5,000 for Friesen.

   Smith would fall to sixth at the finish. He was followed by Alan Rudalavage, Mahaney, Mike Colsten and Joey Colsten.

   The King of the Crates 30 lap GRIT Series Feature went right down to the wire. Ryan Alsdorf and Nick Branning led the field to the initial green flag with Branning moving into the lead. Dustin Jordan, Phil Vigneri III and Rocky Warner ran in the top five early as they chased Branning. Warner raced his way into the runnerup spot by lap eight and went to work on Branning.

   On a lap 14 restart Branning chose the inside giving the top lane to Warner and Warner took advantage of it to race into the lead. Meanwhile 10th starting Kevin Ward was working his way through the field and moved into second just past the halfway point of the race. Ward, who won the Clash at the Can in September, was on a mission to repeat as he stalked Warner.

   Ward made the winning move on lap 28 as he raced past Warner for the lead and went onto the $1,000 victory. Warner was second ahead of Kyle Rohner, Vigneri and Branning. Sixth through tenth went to Dale Welty, Casey Pavlick, Brandon Butler, Ryan Olsommer and Jordan.

   The 20 lap Four Cylinder Feature saw Tucker Harpell race out to the lead at the drop of the green. Harpell was quickly challenged by Andy Brigham and Dave Simms. The three drivers put on a clinic as they raced three wide for the lead. Harpell left Brigham just enough daylight at the top of turn two on lap seven and Brigham was able to pull ahead of him down the backstretch.

   Nick Kennedy came up from his eighth starting spot to join in on the battle up front. Kennedy moved past Simms on lap nine and past Harpell for second on the next circuit. He then tried to chase down Brigham, who was dialed in on the top of the speedway. Brigham was up to the challenge and captured the $400 to win race. Kennedy settled for second ahead of Harpell, Kenny Underwood and Chris Bonoffski.

PENN CAN NOTES…All three features were featured great battles for the lead…The race was run in bitter cold conditions with rain starting to fall just as the program concluded…Once again track regulars had a strong showing, taking three of the top five spots…Friesen, Rochinski and Hartnett were all in the top five in September’s Clash at the Can as well with Hartnett winning that one with Rochinski finishing second in both of them…Day two of the King of the Can Weekend was postponed. It will be run on Saturday, November 7th. Check out the Penn Can Facebook page or log onto for further details…If Brigham can win the Four Cylinder race on that day he will get a $200 bonus.




RACE OF CHAMPIONS MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH:  STEWART FRIESEN, Nick Rochinski, Joey Grammes, Anthony Perrego, Kevin Hartnett, Rusty Smith, Alan Rudalavage, Mike Mahaney, Mike Colsten, Joey Colsten, Mike Clapperton, Darwin Greene, Tyler Siri, Nick Petriliak, Dan Pompey, Brian Malcolm, Bobby Varin, Bobby Trapper, Bob Trapper, Brandon Walters, Erick Rudolph, Steve Babicek, Cory Costa, Randy Brokaw.


GRIT SERIES SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH:  KEVIN WARD, Rocky Warner, Kyle Rohner, Phil Vigneri III, Nick Branning, Dale Welty, Casey Pavlick, Brandon Butler, Ryan Olsommer, Dustin Jordan, Stacy Jackson, Rich Powell, Brian Mady, Randy Fox, Wayne Devantoy, Lanson Albanese, Gary Dennis, Devon Zona, Brett Buono, Eric Williams, Tim Guild, Josh Keesey, Lee Foland, Ryan Alsdorf.


FOUR CYLINDER FEATURE FINISH:  ANDY BRIGHAM, Nick Kennedy, Tucker Harpell, Kenny Underwood, Chris Bonoffski, Justin Pope, Gary Cleveland, Jim Backowski, Zac Clapper, Dave Simms, David Donovan,  Frank Kennedy, Laverne Conklin, Ronnie Welch, Josh Wilder, Jamie Redley, DNS: Andy Proper, Ronald Welsh.

Return-to-Penn Can News and Results