Date: 11/9/2015 11:11:31 PM


SUSQUEHANNA, PA…Kevin Jordan and Shane Wolf, Jr. won both the battle and the war on Saturday at Penn Can Speedway. Jordan and Wolf won the features and overall Race of Champions Sportsman and Street Stock Championships respectively at the King of the Can. Mike Smith, Jason Travis, Nick Kennedy and Chris Kurtz were also victorious.

   Jordan capped off his championship season in grand fashion by going wire to wire to claim the RoC Sportsman feature win. Jordan started on the outside pole and quickly jumped into the race lead with Charlie Hendrickson in tow. 

   Penn Can Speedway Crate Sportsman point runnerup Ryan Olsommer took over second on lap seven and went to work on Jordan for the lead. Olsommer, who will move into the Modifieds next season, was able to stay with Jordan but could not mount a serious challenge for the win.

   Jordan would stay out front for the duration and claim the $1,000 win and overall RoC Sportsman Championship in the process. Olsommer was second ahead of Hendrickson, Brad Szulewski and Nick Nye. Positions six through ten went to Brandon Grosso, Randy Green, Ken Hammond, Dustin Jordan and Ken Titus.

   Wolf got off to a slow start in 2015 but once he put it all together he was unbeatable in the Street Stock division. The 2015 Penn Can Track Champion came into Saturday with 16 feature wins, including four straight on the RoC Tour.

   On this day Wolf put his home track knowledge to good use. He started the feature in seventh and took just six laps to move into the top three behind Brett Marlatt and Kurt Stebbins. Two laps later he passed Stebbins for second and then needed only one more lap to wrestle the lead away from Marlatt.

   Once in front Wolf cruised to his 17th win of the season, including five in a row on the RoC Series. The win locked up the 2015 RoC Street Stock Championship for Wolf. Marlatt was second, followed by Gene Sharpsteen, Ted Morseman, Jr. and Jon Carpenter. Sixth through tenth went to Stebbins, Bob Buono, Shawn Boynton, Kevin Garland and Shannon Oswald.

   The IMCA Style Modified feature had several bonuses on the line. Matt Roberts from M.R. Grafix posted $100 bonuses to the first and second place finishers, as well as $50 gift certificates to third and fourth. Mike and Tyler Stoddard from MT Head Racing put up $50 to both the second and third place finishers.  Will Ward of WDW Racing put up $100 to the highest finishing car that came to the track on an open trailer.

   Mike Smith dominated his heat race and his good luck continued as he drew the pole for the feature. He raced into the early lead but Five Mile Point Track Champion Matt Cole quickly maneuvered his mount into second from his fifth starting spot. Cole would pressure Smith for the duration but could not make the pass.

   Smith claimed the $600 victory, with Cole taking home $550 for second. Eddie Sites came across the stripe in third ahead of Gary Roberts and Will Ward. Sixth through tenth went to Brad Sites, James Cornell, Tyler Stoddard, Nicole Spalding and J.J. Courcy.

   Andy Brigham had a lot to gain by winning the Four Cylinder feature. Brigham had won the first leg of a two race King of the Can Challenge and stood to take home a $200 bonus if he could win again on Saturday.  Colby Herzog raced into the lead from the outside pole at the drop of the green with Garrett Rushlow in tow. They would run first and second for the first six laps but Brigham and Nick Kennedy were charging to the front.

   Kennedy started eighth and took over second on lap seven, bringing Brigham with him to the front. Kennedy hounded leader Herzog for a few laps before taking the lead on lap 11. Brigham would race into second two laps later. The caution flew on lap 14 and when racing resumed Brigham started to fade. A flat tire would end his bid for the sweep and the $200 bonus.

   Kennedy continued his torrid pace and went on to claim the victory. Kennedy had a strong second half of the season, picking up several wins in the process. Herzog would finish second ahead of Rushlow, Chris Bonoffski and ageless veteran Gary Cleveland.

   The Factory Stock feature was plagued by several early cautions before the drivers settled in. Casey Meagley was the early leader and relinquished the top spot to Buck Mills on lap four. Mills would give way to Jason Travis on lap six and once in front he would never look back enroute to his first career win. Mills was second ahead of Penn Can Track Champion Jeremy Williams, Josh Towner and Kevin Skelley.

   The Slingshot feature found Chris Kurtz taking the victory. He was followed to the line by Dillon Sawyer, Dalton Maynard, Josh Macus and Bob Boynton.


PENN CAN NOTES…The rescheduled King of the Can event brings down the curtain on the 2015 racing season at Penn Can Speedway…Kyle Rogers rolled his Four Cylinder in turns three and four on the final lap. He was extricated from his car and taken to the hospital for observation…Olsommer, Dustin Jordan and Will Shields were the top three Crate legal Sportsman across the line and took home bonuses of $100, $75 and $50 respectively.


RACE OF CHAMPIONS SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH: KEVIN JORDAN, Ryan Olsommer, Charlie Hendrickson ,Brad Szulewski Nick Nye, Brandon Grosso, Randy Green, Ken Hammond, Dustin Jordan, Ken Titus, Will Shields, Mike Austin, James McIntyre, Connor Otten, Ken Bonaface, Dayton Coney.


RACE OF CHAMPIONS STREET STOCK FEATURE FINISH: SHANE WOLF, JR., Brett Marlatt, Gene Sharpsteen, Ted Morseman, Jr., Jon Carpenter, Kurt Stebbins, Bob Buono, Shawn Boynton, Kevin Garland, Shannon Oswald, Dan Mazzarese, Ryan Krause, Doug Stack, Jr., Ned Fitch, Dennis Cummings.


IMCA STYLE MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH: MIKE SMITH, Matt Cole, Eddie Sties, Gary Roberts, Will Ward, Brad Sites, James Cornell, Tyler Stoddard, Nicole Spalding, J.J. Courcy, Brad Smith, Mike Stoddard, Tim Vandermark, Bob Maynard, Jeff Austin.


FOUR CYLINDER FEATURE FINISH: NICK KENNEDY, Colby Herzog, Garrett Rushlow, Chris Bonoffski, Gary Cleveland, MacKenzie Gibson, Andy Brigham, Kyle Rogers, Rick Lunn, Ronnie Welch, Hunter Pease. DNS: Frank Kennedy.


FACTORY STOCK FEATURE FINISH: JASON TRAVIS, Buck Mills, Jeremy Williams, Josh Towner, Kevin Skelley, Jason Neyra, Casey Meagley, Matt Larrivee, Alvah Watson, Kevin McDonald, Ryan Brockner.


SLINGSHOTS BY TOBIAS FEATURE FINISH: CHRIS KURTZ, Dillon Sawyer, Dalton Maynard, Josh Macus, Bob Boynton.

Return-to-Penn Can News and Results