Date: 9/25/2016 11:51:50 AM


Randy Stoudt (358 LM), Eddie Richards (Street Stock) and Travis Brown(Road Warriors) also take Wins

By Brad Vores for Susquehanna Speedway
YORK HAVEN, PA 9/24/16

For the second time in a month, veteran racer Frankie Herr raced to the win in Credit Connection Auto Sales Super Sportsman competition at Susquehanna Speedway.

The Carlisle, PA drivers win came in Saturday night’s 25-lap feature event, which was the final regular season point race.

While Herr was dominating out front, Newville, PA driver Russ Mitten was carving his way through the field after lining up 16th on the grid. Mitten advanced to the fifth position which coupled with Scott Geesey’s fourth place finish, put him in a tie for the 2016 Credit Connection Auto Sales track championship.

The tiebreaker for the track championship went to the driver with the most wins during the season, in which Mitten visited victory lane three times, which gives him the championship in the first season of the Scott Gobrecht/Kolten Gouse era at Susquehanna.

Both drivers finished with 2,810 total points. Geesey had two wins this season. Sportsman 100 winner Scott Dellinger finished third in points (2,730) followed by Tony Jackson (2,490) and Mike Enders (2,350).

Herr lined up 12th as Chase Gutshall led the first five laps of the Super Sportsman feature before heading to the pit area.

Rich Eichelberger took over but his lead was short-lived as Herr drove into the lead with seven laps complete and never looked back in taking his second win of the season the Bill Devine owned car.

Eichelberger held on for the runner-up spot ahead of ninth-starting Tony Jackson, 11th starting Scott Geesey and 16th starting Russ Mitten.

Completing the top ten finishers were Scott Dellinger, Jay Fannasy, Kenny Edkin, Mike Enders and Timmie Barrick.

Nate Young, Herr and Justin Foster were heat race winners for the 29-car field with Edkin winning the consolation.

Manchester, PA’s Eddie Richards became the ninth different winner in the caution-filled 20-lap Street Stock feature.

Richards started second and went out front on lap three and drove to his first win of the season over ninth starter and current point leader Mike Potts, Ryan Smith, Craig Morgan and Bob Scott, Jr.

Doug Hoffman raced home sixth over Paul Morgan, Joey Hoffer, Kevin Sigler and Walt Lemmon.

Heats for the 25 Street Stocks were won by Smith, Potts and Jim Palm.

Randy Stoudt outraced point leader Randy Christine, Jr. to secure his fifth win of the season in the 25-lap Precise Racing 358 Late Model feature.

Stoudt led laps nine through 19 before giving way to Christine on the 20th lap. But Stoudt wold regain the lead on the next circuit as the two drivers put on a side by side show. 

A caution on lap 23 ended the great race as Stoudt drove off to the win over the final laps over Christine, lap one leader Daulton Bigler, 10th starting Cam Zeigler and Charles Potts with Steve Billet, Shaun Jones, Ron Kline, Jake Jones and Chase Billet completing the top ten finishers.

Chase Billet, Steve Billet and Christine were heat winners for the 23 cars.

Travis Brown led all 15 laps of the Road Warrior feature to capture his third win of the season and strengthened his track point lead.

Brown took the checkered flag over Daryl Sipe, Justin Cardasso, Robbie Carroll and Lee Redman.

Brown and Redman were heat winners with 17 cars pitside.

Susquehanna Speedway will be dark on October 1 but returns to action on Saturday, October 8 with the final appearance of the season for the Super Sportsman. They will go in the Hess Ornamental Iron Harvest Classic, a 40-lap feature paying $2,000 to win. The Street Stocks and Xtreme Stocks are also on the program. Pits open at 3PM, Grandstands at 4PM with Racing at 6PM.

Fans are reminded to check out for the latest news and results and follow Susquehanna Speedway on Twitter and Facebook.


1. Frankie Herr, 2. Rich Eichelberger, 3. Tony Jackson, 4. Scott Geesey, 5. Russ Mitten, 6. Scott Dellinger, 7. Jay Fannasy, 8. Kenny Edkin, 9. Mike Enders, 10. Timmie Barrick, 11. Justin Foster, 12. Chad Smith, 13. Devin Beidel, 14. Davey Walsh, 15. Rick Barr, 16. Russ Lebo, 17. Tom Wyckoff, 18. Nate Young, 19. Todd Leonard, 20. Scott Grace, 21. Paul Miller, 22. Troy Hockenberry, 23. Bruce Buckwalter, 24. Chase Gutshall.
Did Not Qualify: John Stoll, Jr., Austin Lorah, Joe Orsulak, Doug Dodson, Garrett Williamson 

1 Eddie Richards, 2. Mike Potts, 3. Ryan Smith, 4. Craig Morgan, 5. Bob Scott, Jr., 6. Doug Hoffman, 7. Paul Morgan, 8. Joey Hoffer, 9. Kevin Sigler, 10. Walt Lemmon, 11. Scott Thunberg, 12. Kyle Saylor, 13. Eric Tripp, 14. Matt Chronister, 15. Dean Hine, 16. Matt Adams, 17. Chad Stine, 18. Travis Horan, 19. Jim Palm, 20. Richie Dobson, 21. Doug Barber, 22. Dalton Frye.
Did Not Start: Shawn Liddick, Jason Townsend, Calvin Redding

1. Randy Stoudt, 2. Randy Christine, Jr., 3. Daulton Bigler, 4. Cam Zeigler, 5. Charles Potts, 6. Steve Billet, 7. Shaun Jones, 8. Ron Kline, 9. Jake Jones, 10. Chase Billet, 11. Sam Gallagher, 12. Matt Murphy, 13. JR Rodriguez, 14. Sam Rial, 15. Dave Latsha, 16. Travis Mease, 17. Bob Dunn, 18. Eric Hohol, 19. Scott Flickinger, 20. Todd Snook, 21. Steve Todoroaw, 22. Brad Shank, 23. Devin Frey.

1. Travis Brown, 2. Daryl Sipe, 3. Justin Cardasso, 4. Robbie Carroll, 5. Lee Redman, 6. Brandon Hedstrom, 7. Ryan Underkoffler, 8. Thomas Roger, 9. Mike Hedstrom, 10. Thomas Thompson, 11. Julio Perez, 12. Ken Boose 13. Anthony Varner, 14. Dennis Dorosz, 15. Tyler Vincent, 16. Zach Rock, 17. Jim Jacobs.

Return-to-Susquehanna Speedway Park News and Results