Date: 12/6/2015 10:14:23 PM



What a way to close out the biggest season for  the Xcel Chassis 600 modified series. On December 5th, Doug Borger hosted over 150 guest at  the Polk Township Firehouse. After a delicious meal, it would be time to hand out over $20,000 in hardware,cash and a few surprises.

Starting the night off were the special  awards with the first going to Tim Van Horn Jr. for worst crash of the season. A new Simpson helmet will keep Tim safe next year. Rookie of the Year honors were  earned by Billie Koch. He will be one to watch in the 2016 season as he continues to  learn in the off season as well.

Most Improved Driver of 2015, Josh Pepe, also brought home additional awards.  Seven drivers had perfect attendance for the tour.  Jon Josko, Richie Hitzler, Nate Brinker,Shawna Schibilia, Aaron Bowes, Josh Pepe and Billie Koch all received a complete bolt and nut kit.  Their names were put into a hat. The winner, Josh Pepe, would  receive  a waiver of all Xcel Chassis tour entry fees for the 2016 season.

    The most popular award of the night, brought the crowd to their feet, when the recipient was announced. The "GEEZER" Sportsmanship award, created by Joe Fanelli, is to honor a person who goes above and beyond at the track and also off the track. Gene Borger, father of series owner Doug Borger, took his rightful place in the rocking chair. Doug talked of his dad after the award ceremony. " My father has been with me since the start of my racing career. Since his "retirement", there isn't a day that goes by that he isn't in the shop. At the track, I see him talking to drivers and when I see his hand on a shoulder, I know they're getting some type of encouragement. It's easy to forget cause he is my dad but I want him to know how much he is appreciated by me and everyone in my series."

Next on tap would be to recognize the 4 weekly divisions of the Xcel Chassis modifieds. The top five from Thunder Mountain Speedway,  Lindas Speedway and I-88 Speedway were honored. Shellhammers Speedway top six in the Sportsman division were also awarded.  Will Eastman, Thunder Mountain Champion along with 2nd place, Brian Mady, 3rd place Doug Windhausen, 4th place Joe McCabe and 5th place Eric Boyd would each bring home a check for their efforts. Lindas Speedway Champion Jason Dunkleberger along with Richie Hitzler, Michael Burrows, Andrew Ace and Aaron Bowes earned some money for the 2016 season. Will Eastman would be crowned Champion of I-88 Speedway followed by AJ Miller, Kam Maby, Steve Sherwood and Eric Boyd.  Jason Dunkleberger lead the Shellhammers Sportsman division along with Dustin Dunkleberger, Barry Lee,  Scott Washburn, Andrew Ace and rookie Julie Tich. Both I-88 and Shellhammers winners also brought home a check for the 2015 season.

Rounding out the night would be the crowning of the 2015 Champion. Jon Josko never expected the year that he had.  After winning his first feature,  at the start of the season, gave the young gun the boost he needed. Jon's brother and crew chief, Joe, worked with him week in and week out to score in the top five consistently. Katie,Jon's sister, traveled with her brothers all summer to lend a hand. The tight knit family were always  in contact with their dad, Joe and mom, Victoria. They were not able to make it as much as they liked but looked forward to hearing about the night. I know Joe was proud of all his kids and was excited for his son Jon on becoming a champion of the series.

    Doug Borger announced that all the weekly tracks would be returning for the 2016 season with Thunder Mountain signing a three year contract. Seminars will be held in the coming months that will cover set up and all the working components of the car. Xcel Chassis will also have a unique display at the Motorsports show held in January. Motorama is also on the winter schedule for February. You can find upcoming events and happenings on the website


Return-to-600CC Micro News and Results