Date: 7/21/2014 11:59:21 PM





KIRKWOOD, NY.....On Saturday Five Mile Point Speedway held a big night of racing that was highlighted by Modified Mid-Season Championship.  Entering the evening the weekly teams had their eye on the $2,000 winner’s share and guaranteed spot for the upcoming American Racer Cup Weekend at the speedway in October.  When it was all said and done Tyler Siri showed that there was no doubt he was the Modified Mid-Season Champion with a dominating performance.

The Modified 30 lap feature had a lot riding on it with the $2,000 to win and the guaranteed starting spot for the American Racer Cup Weekend in October. That race pays a minimum of $5,000 to win and a whopping $500 to take the green.  It was enough to warrant a visit from “The Doctor” Danny Johnson and he tried to lock himself in to a spot for the fall event. The start of the feature saw Joel Batzel and Tyler Siri bring the field to the green flag. Siri immediately jumped out to the early advantage on the outside of the speedway. Brian Weaver moved up from fourth to the second position by just the second circuit as Batzel faded back in to third. As the first six laps went caution free, Siri was able to open up nearly a straightaway advantage on Weaver.

By the lap 7 restart, Siri was joined by Weaver on the front row where again it was Siri jumping out to a commanding lead. At lap 10, Anthony Perrego, and Johnson began working up through the field as they found the outside to be the fast way around the lightning fast quarter mile oval. Weaver continued to hold on to the second position until lap 13 when Johnson made the high side pass. Meanwhile, Perrego had cracked the top 5 working by Mike Colsten. As the race continued, Perrego wasted no time joining the mix as he cracked the top 3.

With ten laps to go, Johnson began applying the pressure using nearly every groove on the racy track surface. Siri continued to “push the cushion” on the extreme high side of the speedway as the racing was often three and four wide. Perrego remained back in third, just a couple car lengths back from the top 2 cars. In the closing laps, Johnson showed his nose on numerous occasions, howeverhe was unable to race past the high flying Tyler Siri. Siri held on for the win over Johnson, Perrego, Weaver, and Nick Petrilak.  Petrilak, another of the impressive Modified rookies entered the evening as the point leader and made a late race charge to just edge out Colsten for the fifth spot.

In the Sportsman 20 lap feature, Brian White returned to victory lane after a few week hiatus from his spot on top of the homestretch wall. White, who started in the fifth position wasted no time getting to the front as he had already raced in to the top 3 by the fifth lap. Randy Green led the way for the early stages of the race, while Alec Gennarelli held on to second. By just lap 8, White had taken over the race lead where he soon ran away from the field. Throughout the remainder of the race, good battling took place throughout the top 5 as Green, Gennarelli, Eddie White, and Kenny Hammond all battled for position. As the race ended, Brian White held on for the win over Eddie White, Kenny Hammond, Randy Green, and Travis Smith. 

The IMCA Modified feature found a first time winner, as Pennsylvania's Jake Maynard led all 20 laps for the win. The win for Maynard came with many challenges from veteran runner Kevin Cole. Cole would finish second, while Matt Cole finished third, Jared Spalding fourth, and Kurt Decker completed the top 5. Maynard had several runner-up finishes leading up to his first career FMP win on Saturday.

In the Street Stock 20 lap feature, Ryan Codington notched win number two on the season. Codington held off the challenges that came from Shane Wolf Jr for some 15 laps. The duo delighted the fans with a side by side battle that left Randy Fox and Matt Roberts hoping for a mistake.  That would not occur as Codington would go on for the victory.  Wolf finished second, Fox third, Roberts fourth and Josh Butler completed the top 5.

Will Eastman bounced back from a rough week 2 weeks ago to collect the 20 lap 600cc Modified feature win. Kamdin Maby, Nick Cinquanti, Kailee Dimorier and Matt Priscott completed the top five.  Priscott made his return after a violent flip two weeks ago.

In the Lighting Cat expert 15 lap feature, Dave Simms was victorious again as he held off Tucker Harpell. Simms was aboard the Kenny Underwood machine on this night as a number of mechanical problems with his own car prompted the change.  Chad Uplinger, Burt Maynard and Frank Smith rounded out the top five. Dan Houghtaling picked up his first career win in the Lightning Cat novice 12 lap event in just his first career start at the speedway. Zack Mills was also a first time winner in the Factory Stock 15 lap feature event.

Racing will continue on July 27th, as it will be Conklin community night and Youth Night.  All Conklin town residents will be admitted in to the grandstand free of charge simply by presenting photo i.d. at the ticket booth.  All kids 17 years old and younger will be admitted free.  A big night will feature a full show of racing including $1,000 to win for the Street Stocks. The races will get under way at 6pm.

Counter Points…For Siri the Modified victory was well deserved after a tough night the prior Saturday saw him going off on the hook.  Siri used the extreme outside of the speedway and was only two tenths of a second off the Modified single lap track record.  His win made him one of only two drivers locked in to the American Racer Cup Weekend 50 on Saturday, October 11th.  Brian Malcolm chose the other guaranteed spot during the recent “Night of Qualifiers” at the speedway on July 9th.  In victory lane Siri applauded the quarter mile race surface, “We are pumped to get this win after last week.  This place is really a lot of fun, you can race anywhere on it and are looking forward to October.” The evening saw a busy program that included Kids Bike Races for the youngsters in attendance.

MODIFIED FEATURE (30): Tyler Siri, Danny Johnson, Anthony Perrego, Brian Weaver, Nick Petrilak, Mike Colsten, Joey Colsten, Jeff Crambo, Alex Stanton, Barry White, Chris Wood, Chris Ostrowsky, Rodney Hart, Joel Batzel, Jamie Batzel, Danny Tyler, Pj Goodwin

SPORTSMAN FEATURE (20): Brian White, Eddie White, Kenny Hammond, Randy Green, Travis Smith, Mike Austin, Greg Morgan, Ryan Higgs, Justin Andrews, Alec Gennarelli, Jerry Tonti, Mike Wilmot, Greg Turner, Bryan Batzel, Tyler Singleton, Steve Andrulonis, Kimberlee Morgan, Brad Weaver, Brad Cicio

STREET STOCK FEATURE (20): Ryan Codington, Shane Wolf Jr, Randy Fox, Matt Roberts, Josh Butler, Darl Ellis, Jesse Velez.

IMCA FEATURE (20): Jake Maynard, KC Cole, Matt Cole, Jared Spalding, Kurt Decker, Tanner Harpell, Nicole Spalding, Bob Collins, Justin Slezak.

600 cc MODIFIEDS (20): Will Eastman, Kamdin Maby, Nick Cinquanti, Kailee Dimorier, Matt Priscott, Doug Windhausen, Justin Shiner, Steve Sherwood, Abbey Price, Joe McCabe 

LIGHTNING CAT EXPERTS (15): Dave Simms, Tucker Harpell, Chad Uplinger, Burt Maynard, Frank Smith, Adam Gilbert, Bob Kress, Sheldon Whitman, Rick Lunn, Damian Bausenwein, Mat Mather, Dennis Keesler

LIGHTING CAT NOVICE (12): Dan Houghtaling, Ronnie Welch, Dave Rauschmeier, Jeremy Warren.

FACTORY STOCKS (15): Zac Mills, Connor Vanvalkenburg, Chuck Culbertson, Tom Hampton, Josh Towner, Ryan Brockner, Josh Wilbur, Tom Velez, DNS: Jerry Whitmarsh

Return-to-Five Mile Point News and Results