Date: 7/28/2014 11:04:32 PM



By Tyler Harpell -


KIRKWOOD, NY…Anthony Perrego drove to another hard fought Modified win with a turn 4 pass getting by Jeff Crambo. The victory was the sixth of the season for Perrego.


In the Sportsman, Kenny Hammond made a return to victory lane as he dominated the event. The Street Stocks raced for $1,000 to win and it was Shane Wolf, Jr back in victory lane in what turned out to be a thrilling race. Jake Maynard made it two in a row in the IMCA Modified feature Saturday, while Dave Simms did the same in Lightning Cat Expert racing. In the Novice event Jeremy Warren was back in victory lane, while Cody Brown won the Factory Stocks, and Buck Mills Jr won the Figure 8 race.


Saturday night it appeared that Jeff Crambo had his first career Modified win in sight, until a turn four pass on the last lap by Anthony Perrego sent Crambo back to second. The caution free 30 lap race proved to be one of the best of the year.  Crambo, the Throop, PA native started on the outside of the front row, where he jumped out to the early race lead. After starting on the pole, Joel Batzel fell back to second, while Chris Wood moved up to third. By lap 10, Perrego slowly began making his way up through the field as he moved into 7th.


Crambo opened up nearly a straightaway advantage as the green flag laps began to tick off. Joel Batzel still maintained the second position throughout the first half of the race. On lap 15, the top 5 saw Crambo, Batzel, Wood, Perrego, and Jamie Batzel. Just three laps later, Perrego made a big move as he got by both Wood and Batzel.


As the race continued, Perrego began reeling in the 77 car of Crambo, whose lead began to dwindle down. With 5 laps to go, Perrego cut the margin to a narrow car length. On lap 28, Perrego got a run nearly enough to get Crambo out of turn four but just ran out of room. As they came around to get the white flag, Crambo worked the middle groove of the speedway while Perrego ran the high side.


Out of turn four on the final circuit, Perrego hit the cushion and got a great jump to the start finish line passing Crambo by just a bumper. Crambo fell back to second, while Tyler Siri finished third, Chris Wood fourth, and Joel Batzel rounded out the top 5.

Kenny Hammond collected the Sportsman feature win on Saturday after nearly a two-month winless streak. The Hunts auto service team continued their success as all three cars were in the top 3. Hammond got the lead on lap 8, racing by Tyler Singleton. Hammond drove away with the feature with Eddie White, Brian White, Randy Green and Justin Andrews rounding out the top five.


The Street Stock $1,000 feature proved to be another thriller with Shane Wolf Jr being the eventual winner. Wolf was tangled up in an incident on the first lap sending him to the back. Randy Fox inherited the lead and led the first 18 laps. After swapping the lead on a number of occasions, Wolf was officially the leader on lap 19. Entering turn 1 Fox made a bid back under Wolf to try and forge ahead. Wolf was able to hold off the advance and go on for the big payday.  Fox finished second, John Cooper, Ray Lindquist and Gene Sharpsteen rounded out the top five. 


Jake Maynard won his second consecutive race in the IMCA Modified feature after a hard fought battle with Gary Roberts. Roberts led the opening 16 laps, with Maynard a near second. Maynard got by for good on lap number 17 and led on for the remaining three circuits. Roberts would finish second with KC Cole, Jared Spalding and Matt Cole completing the top five.


Dave Simms also made it two consecutive wins in the Lighting Cat expert 15 lap event as he was back behind the wheel of his own car. Jeremy Warren found himself back in victory lane in the Novice feature in a borrowed ride. Cody Brown had a hard fought battle in the Factory Stock feature as he picked up the win, while Buck Mills Jr won the Figure 8 feature in the same car.

Racing continues on Saturday at 6 p.m. Grandstand admission is FREE this Saturday for Fan Appreciation night.  A full program of racing plus a $1,000 to win for the Sportsman will be on the card.  


MODIFIED FEATURE: Anthony Perrego, Jeff Crambo, Tyler Siri, Chris Wood, Joel Batzel, Jamie Batzel, Nick Petrilak, Barry White, Mike Coslten, Brian Weaver, Rusty Smith, Pj Goodwin, Glenn Knapp, Chris Ostrowsky, Joe Eisenhower.


SPORTSMAN FEATURE: Kenny Hammond, Eddie White, Brian White, Randy Green, Justin Andrews, Bryan Batzel, Greg Morgan, Mike Wilmot, Steve Davis, Brad Weaver, Chris Hunsinger, Tim French, Greg Turner, Steve Babicek, Mike Austin, Brad Cicio, Rosalyn Trautshold, Brad Szuelewski, Tyler Singleton, Kimberlee Morgan, Jerry Tonti.


IMCA MODIFIED FEATURE: Jake Maynard, Gary Roberts, KC Cole, Jared Spalding, Matt Cole, Tanner Harpell, Justin Slezak, Ray McClure, Nicole Spalding.


STREET STOCK FEATURE: Shane Wolf Jr, Randy Fox, John Cooper, Ray Lindquist, Gene Sharpsteen, Eric Boynton, Dan Babcock, Ryan Codington, Matt Roberts, Darl Ellis, Josh Ames, Rob Snow, Fred Velez, Jason Butler, Matt Spencer, Jake Karlnoski.


LIGHTNING CAT EXPERT FEATURE: Dave Simms, Chad Uplinger, Adam Gilbert, Burt Maynard, Tucker Harpell, Keith Beach, Frank Smith, Sheldon Whitman, Mat Mather, Joe Russell, Bob Kress, Rick Lunn, Laverne Conklin, Damian Bausenwein, Bill Titus DNS: Kenny Underwood.


LIGHTNING CAT NOVICE: Jeremy Warren, Ronnie Welch, Jessey Torrens, Bob Reley, Dave Rauschmeier, Jason Colwell Jr

FACTORY STOCKS: Cody Brown, Josh Towner, Ryan Brockher, Mark Andrus, Billy Shoemaker, Tom Hampton, Connor VanVulkenburg, Chuck Culbertson, Joe Russell.


FIGURE 8 FEATURE: Buck Mills Jr, Mark Andrus, Connor VanVulkenburg, DNS: Josh Towner, Ryan Brockher, Tom Hampton, Chuck Culbertson 

Return-to-Five Mile Point News and Results