Date: 8/26/2007 7:47:10 AM

HAGERSTOWN, MD – It was an emotional moment for Ashley Barrett following his career first win in the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic late model sportsman Saturday at Hagerstown Speedway on Small Fry Night while Mike Warrenfeltz returned for the fifth time in the Ernie’s Auto Enterprises pure stocks and scored the double point victory in the Ernie’s Special. Mark Vegh scored his season second Enduro Dash. 
Barrett, of Chambersburg, Pa, a former street stock winner and champion, grabbed the lead on the opening lap after starting fourth and had several lengthy leads erased, but in the final five lap sprint, distanced himself 2.56 seconds over Richard Walls.
“It was funny, Dustin, my crew guy said ‘Go by him on the outside’ and I said ‘It’d be nice if he’d move down and let me go by him on the outside’ and that’s what he did,” Barrett said, explaining his opening lap move. “I just rolled it in there and it worked, I screwed up so many times but he (Dustin) kept showing me I was stretching it out, so I guess I was lucky.”
Cody Lear and Terry Flaherty sat on the front row for the start of the late model sportsman feature but Barrett quickly charged around the outside and snatched the lead from Lear exiting the fourth turn and immediately started to show his strength. Sixth starter Mike Walls moved into the third until his uncle, Richard Walls took over the spot after starting eighth.
Barrett was out front by two seconds on lap six as Lear got out of shape in turn four but gathered it back in before Walls got by as Barrett was then more than three seconds ahead by a lap nine caution when Barry Miller coasted to a stop.
Barrett again took over but slipped high in turn two on lap 11 as Lear got by. Barrett was hard on the gas and rounded turns three and four to retake the lead and begin to distance himself again and was nearly two seconds ahead when the yellow waved on lap 16.
Barrett sped away on the restart as Walls sped past Lear on the next circuit while points leader Andy Fries moved into third on the white flag lap but Barrett was out of distance and on the way to number one. Lear and Pete Weaver completed the top five.
“All the success we had in the street stocks it was tough moving up and run round the back for awhile…this is only the second top ten we’ve had all season,” Barrett said. “I never got this emotional from winning before, but I wanted to drive one of these cars since I was a wee little kid.”
Arlin Brougher, Steve Axtell and Flaherty were the heat winners while Dale Smith Jr. was the consolation winner for the 28 entries. Michael Collins was the Checkered Flag/S. Thomas Towing hard charger.
In the double point Ernie’s Special, Dave Stouffer charged from the sixth position to grab the lead on the first lap over outside pole sitter Wayne Hawbaker but Hagerstown’s Warrenfeltz was touring the outside line after starting tenth and moved into second by the next circuit. Following a third lap restart, Warrenfeltz ducked under Stouffer for the lead and showed the way as Bobby Taylor took second on lap nine while Mark Jones and Hans Stamberg were on the way to the front. Jones battled with Taylor several laps before taking second on lap 13 and Stamberg got third on lap 16. Warrenfeltz stayed low as Jones rounded the top but Warrenfeltz held on by one length at the finish.
“It’s good to race with Mark, because he’s competition,’ Warrenfeltz said. “It makes you get up on the wheel and drive the car and I was up on it all night.”
Stamberg held third over 18th starting Dean Holmes who earned the 21st Century Fireplace Services hard charger award and Kenny Dayhoff completed the top five.
Lin Sutphin, Jones and Stamberg won the heats and Jason Sarver was the consolation winner for the 31 entries.
“I figured I’d try my best and see what happened,” said Frederick Md.’s Mark Vegh about starting 28th in the 30-lap enduro dash “I just kept picking them off slowly but surely. The car was working…handled good...didn’t miss a beat.”
Vegh became the fourth different leader after taking the lead from Robin Koogler on the 24th lap but didn’t escape him or previous leader, Jim Speelman who chased him right down to the checkered.
The next program this Saturday, September 1st is the 44-lap 22nd Annual McBee/Hays Championship, the final points race for the Cindy Rowe Auto Glass late models. The Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic late model sportsman and Ernie’s Auto Enterprises pure stocks will also be in competition.
Pit gates open at 4 p.m., grandstands open at 5 p.m. and warm ups begin at 7 p.m. Check the speedway website for any changes in weather at: www.hagerstownspeedway.com or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.
Hagerstown Speedway Results
Small Fry Night
Hoosier/Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic Late Model Sportsman, 20 Laps, 28 entries (Lap Leaders – Ashley Barrett 1-20: 1.Ashley Barrett; 2.Richard Walls; 3.Andy Fries; 4.Cody Lear; 5.Pete Weaver; 6.James Myers; 7.Arlin Brougher; 8.Mike Walls; 9.Paul Crowl; 10.Scott Palmer; 11.Cory Houck; 12.Michael Collins (Hard Charger); 13.Brian Lessley; 14.Randy Schaeffer; 15.Dale Smith Jr.; 16.Kyle Lear; 17.Ronnie Dennis; 18.Fred Harden; 19.Eugene Conlee; 20.Brent Hottle; 21.Anthony Lupini; 22.Terry Flaherty; 23.Steve Axtell; 24.Barry Miller; DNQ – Justin Hart, Barry Lear Sr., Curt Shreiner
Ernie’s Auto Enterprises Pure Stocks, Ernie’s Special, 20 Laps 31 entries (Lap Leaders – Dave Stouffer 1-3, Mike Warrenfeltz 4-20); 1.Mike Warrenfeltz; 2.Mark Jones; 2. Hans Stamberg; 4.Dean Holmes (Hard Charger) 5.Bobby Taylor; 6.Kenny Dayhoff; 7.Drew Fitzsimmons; 8.Wayne Hawbaker; 9.Lin Sutphin; 10.Devin Dayhoff; 11.Danny Beavers; 12.Kevin Keefer; 13.Jason Sarver; 14.Dave Stouffer; 15.Kevin Koontz; 16.Tony Catlett; 17.Rick Durbin Jr; 18.Justin Snodderly; 19.Dave Mikolajski; 20.Brian Swiger; 21.Billy Eaton Jr.; 22.Dale Hollidge; 23.Steve Lowery; 24.Tim Monn; DNQ – Darin Younker, Frank Dibella, Ronnie Doss, DNS- Jason Murray, Kim Ramer, Jeremy Mowen, Kenny Day 
Enduro Dash – 30 laps, 32 entries (Lap leaders Daniel Main 1-4, Jim Speelman, 5-18, Robin Koogler, 19-23, Mark Vegh, 24-30): 1.Mark Vegh; 2.RobinKoogler; 3.Jim Speelman; 4.Larry Hurley Jr; 5.Daniel Main; 6.Bill Silkworth; 7.Derek Riley; 8.Richard Tracey; 9.Alan Virts; 10.R.C.Horn; 11.Mike Hoffman; 12.Dustin Proctor; 13.Krazy Kenny Thomas; 14.Bobby Moore; 15.William Crook; 16.Dave Shatto; 17.Justin Sporer; 18.Chris Loy; 19.Roy Stevens; 20.Davey Gross Jr; 21.Matt Smith; 22.Steve Dillon; 23.Donnie Keefer Jr.; 24.John Poole; 25.Jamie Mills; 26.Ed Catrell; 27.Kevin Thomas; 28.Brandon Churchey; 29.James Mongan; 30.Mike Baker; 31.Danny Holmes; 32.Joe Rodgers

Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results