Date: 5/3/2009 6:44:35 AM

May 3, 2009                                    For Immediate Release
Friday-Sunday, May 8-10 – No Racing – Hagerstown Firefighters Bonanza Extravaganza
Sat, May 16, 2009 (7:00 p.m.) Auto Locator /Student Night, Regular show + Enduro Dash
Thursday, May 21, (7:30 p.m.) Keystone Cup 410 Sprints + Bill Bowman Special 31 lap Rock-Hagerstown Maryland Clash
Saturday, May 23, (7:00 p.m.) Three State Flyers, 14th Annual Richard “Boney” Bonebrake Tribute, 35 Laps LM Open + Pure Stock Special 


Hagerstown, Md. – It was just a matter of when for Andy Anderson and that when came Saturday night. Anderson, of Martinsburg, WV, piloted his late model past Marvin Winters following a fifth lap restart and later won the 25-lap feature on ARCH (Auto Racing Club of Hagerstown) night at Hagerstown Speedway. He became the sixth different winner so far with the 3.3 second triumph over Mike Lupfer. 

Other winners included defending Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic champion, Andy Fries, of Mercersburg, Pa, who came from 18th to lead the final two laps and score his second of the season by 1.91 seconds over Derek Byler. Berkley Springs, WV’s Darrin Younker also won his season second by leading the last 100 feet to win by a half length over Bobby Franklin, while Frederick, Md’s Mark Vegh won by a length over Kenny Thomas in the season third Enduro Dash.

Anderson lined up third in the field and grabbed second from Lupfer on the second lap and set sights on Winters but a fifth lap yellow when Roland Mann and Rick Hulson got together on the front stretch brought out a red flag. Anderson charged to the outside and led by a half length the next lap, and continued on to score his career 17th late model triumph.

“It makes a difference starting up front,” Anderson said. “He got away from me there in the beginning and I had to get up on the wheel. I figured there was going to be a restart. I couldn’t run with him once we got going. Once we got out front there I could run his line. I don’t let up.”

Once Anderson took over, he scurried ahead of Winters by 2.3 seconds as Lupfer was battling for second at the same time Roy Deese was giving his new car a workout and coming from the tenth spot.

Anderson entered the rear of the field on lap 15 while Lupfer took second when Winters got trapped behind a rear marker. Anderson’s two second lead went away during a 17th lap yellow and he had stretched it to 1.2 by a 19th lap yellow.

For the final six circuits, he easily opened his lead each lap over Lupfer while Deese took over third place and 11th starter, Frankie Plessinger moved into the fourth spot with three to go, Winters held to fifth at the finish. Keith Jackson, from 13th, finished sixth as J.T. Spence, Jim Yoder, Steve Axtell Jr and Nathan Durboraw completed the top ten. Durboraw, Lupfer and Anderson won the heats.

Byler led the late model sportsman event from the outside pole over Nick Pappas while Pete Weaver charged from eighth to third by lap three with Kyle Lear following from 11th.

The middle of the race was littered with several cautions as Weaver took over on lap 11 with Lear following into second two laps later.

A 15th lap caution was for Weaver who spun after contact from Lear with both put to the rear and Byler at the front for the restart. Fries had came from 18th and had cleared Byler on the 18th circuit when some lights suddenly went out in turns three and four negated the pass with the red flag. 

Following the restart, Byler’s car didn’t seem to come up to speed as Fries blew by and walked away to a 1.91 second lead ahead of Byler with Pappas alongside at the checkered.

“After the heat race, I came in… it was time for old school stuff,” Fries said. “I was just waiting on tires…I had hard tires on and it took awhile to get some heat to get them going. Tonight, someone was on my side.”

Previous week’s winner, Terry Flaherty, ended fourth with 19th starting James Myers ending fifth. Jerry Bard, Scott Palmer (20th), Bruce Kane, Cody Lear, (21st) and Michael Collins (17th) were next. Pappas, Weaver and Byler won the heats while Myers won the consy.

Bobby Franklin led the Ernie D’s pure stocks with Dave Stouffer Jr. challenging and a multiple car pack behind him. Franklin was looking for his career first win and holding a steady line while Steve Lowery and Darrin Younker moved into third and fourth with a single 11th lap yellow restructuring the race. Younker cleared Lowery and Stouffer and on the final lap, went to the high side in three and four to speed down the final stretch and swipe the lead from Franklin with two time winner Hans Stamberg coming from19th to claim third. Stouffer and Lowery completed the top five. Randy Kline, Franklin and Stouffer won the heats with Stamberg winning the consolation. 

Vegh charged from 12th in the Enduro lineup to pass Matt Smith on lap five. Smith was overtaken by Derek Riley as the front five ran lap after lap a length apart with 17th starter Kenny Thomas into third by lap seven. Thomas took second from Riley with two to go, but couldn’t overtake Vegh for the top spot.

Following a weekend off for the Hagerstown City Firefighters Bonanza Extravaganza, racing resumes on Saturday, May 16 with Auto Locator /Student Night featuring a regular show of late models, late model sportsman and pure stocks plus the fourth Enduro Dash.

Check the speedway website for any changes in the weather at: or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.

Hagerstown Speedway Results
Late Models, 25 laps, 24 entries, (Lap Leaders – Marvin Winters 1-5, Andy Anderson 6-25) 1.Andy Anderson; 2.Mike Lupfer; 3.Roy Deese Jr.; 4.Frankike Plessinger; 5.Marvin Winters; 6.Keith Jackson; 7.J.T. Spence; 8.Jim Yoder; 9.Steve Axtell Jr.; 10.Nathan Durboraw; 11.Kirk Ryan; 12.Ronnie DeHaven Jr.; 13.Matt Hardy; 14.Paul Crowl; 15.Rusty Sites; 16.Steve Gibney; 17.Larry Baker II; 18.Terry Lescalleet; 19.Lindsay Barton; 20.Doug Stine; 21.Rick Hulson; 22.Roland Mann; 23.Devin Friese; 24.Matt Quade

Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Late Model Sportsman, 20 laps, 25 entries (Lap Leaders – Derek Byler 1-9, 16-18, Pete Weaver 10-15, Andy Fries 19-20): 1.Andy Fries (Checkered Flag Lube/St. Thomas Towing Hard Charger); 2.Derek Byler; 3.Nick Pappas; 4.Terry Flaherty; 5.James Myers; 6.Jerry Bard; 7.Scott Palmer; 8.Bruce Kane; 9.Cody Lear; 10.Michael Collins; 11.Randy Wible; 12.Brian Lessley; 13.Pete Weaver; 14.Kyle Lear; 15.Mike Walls; 16.Ed Pope III; 17.Glenn Elliott; 18.Justin Hart; 19.Steve Kent; 20.Robby Beall; 21.Wayne Walls Jr.; 22.Ashley Barrett; 23.DSQ- Richard Walls, Ryan Walls;  DNS –Courtney Shreiner

Ernie D’s Pure Stocks, 15 laps, 26 entries (Lap Leaders – Bobby Franklin 1-14, Darrin Younker 15) 1.Darin Younker; 2.Bobby Franklin; 3.Hans Stamberg; 4.Dave Stouffer; 5.Steve Lowery; 6.Mike Warrenfeltz; 7.Wayne Hawbaker; 8.Danny Beavers; 9.Billy Ecton Jr.; 10.Charlie Pensinger; 11.Bill Reitober; 12.Kevin Koontz; 13.Kevin Keefer; 14.Roy Anderson; 15.Dave Mikolajski; 16.Dustin Proctor; 17.Frank Dibella; 18.Justin Snodderly; 19.Zach Reid; 20.Drew Fitzsimmons; 21.Tony Stoneberger; 22.Randy Kline; 23.Tony Catlett; 24.Kevin Dayhoff; DNQ – Kenny Dillon, DNS - Dean Holmes 

Enduro Dash, 30 laps, 22 entries (Lap Leaders Matt Smith 1-5, Mark Vegh 6-30); 1.Mark Vegh; 2.Kenny Thomas; 3.Derek Riley; 4.Matt Smith; 5.Danny Holmes; 6.Krazy Kenny Thomas; 7.Chris Ebersole; 8.Robin Koogler; 9.Jim Speelman; 10.J.C. Butts; 11.Steve Dillon; 12.Gary Proctor; 13.Nathaniel Younker; 14.Bryan Green; 15.John Poole; 16.John Conrad; 17.Randy Davis; 18.Larry McGowan; 19.William Crook; 20.Hot Rod Rodney Minor; 21.Rob Keller, DNS – Dave Shatto

Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results