Date: 5/24/2009 3:17:14 AM

May 24, 2009                                  For Immediate Release


Saturday, May 30, (7:00 p.m.) 28th Annual Conococheague World of Outlaws Late Models 50- Laps, + Late Model Sportsman Special

Saturday, June 6, (7:00 p.m.) Inaugural Appalachian Mountain Dirt Late Model Speedweek Series, 40 Laps + Late Model Sportsman Open & Pure Stocks 

Saturday, June 13, (7:00 p.m.) Regular show, Late Models, Late Models Sportsman, Pure Stocks, + Enduro Dash



Hagerstown, Md.  Hagerstown Speedway was spared a second consecutive rain out Saturday night as rain was within five miles of the track but Jason Covert wasn’t denied his second Three State Flyer late model triumph in the 14th Annual Richard” Boney” Bonebrake Tribute. Covert of York Haven Pa. became the first repeat winner in the eight races held so far by winning by 1.97 seconds over Jeremy Miller.

Hanover’s Kenny Dillon beat Mike Warrenfeltz by three feet in the Ernie D’s pure stock feature for his career 20th win while Frederick’s Mark Vegh made it two straight in the Enduro Dash after starting 29st.   

Covert qualified from ninth in his heat and came from seventh to third in the dash, quickly grabbed second in the 35 lap event and got past Billy Wampler to lead lap seven. The win and his first ever of the Bonebrake event was worth $3,000.

“When I was a kid, I came and rooted for Denny Bonebrake and the Bonebrake Alignment car,” Covert said. “It’s a special meaning to me. That guy is one of the greatest late model drivers that ever sat in one. I still think he can do it as good as anybody. Those ones are the ones that started this division and got it built. I’m just lucky enough to drive in it.”

Although he was quick early on, he still wasn’t satisfied with the car following the advance he made in the dash from the last row.

Covert said, “We ran the dash and tried something, but I knew it wouldn’t be good enough to get by those guys in the beginning of the feature, so I came in and asked them to change something and we got done just as they were lining up. It worked.. it got me to the lip first and that’s where you had to be.”

Following his dash win, Billy Wampler sped from the pole to lead the Tribute event as Covert quickly took second before outside pole setter Jeremy Miller got it. Covert stayed on Wampler’s bumper during the opening laps while D.J. Myers was challenging Miller for third and tenth starter Tommy Armel had advanced five spots by lap five.

After Covert got under Wampler off turn four to take over on lap seven, Wampler turned second to Miller when he got high in turn four and lost seven spots three laps later. Covert had a two second lead two laps later and also on lap18 when the final caution came out.

Following the restart, Covert continued rounding the top and stretched his lead to two seconds while Miller kept the same pace. Armel cleared Myers for third but continued to trail by nearly four seconds as Covert took the checkered by 1.97 over Miller with Armel another 4.3 seconds back.

“It is Memorial Day weekend and the reason we get to do this is the guys that have gave their lives for us,” Covert said. “The military, thank them and everything they gave up, up to their lives so our country can be free and we can race every week.”  

Myers and Jim Yoder who battled throughout the race with Nick Dickson completed the top five. Andy Anderson followed Dickson to the finish while Darryl Hills, Gary Stuhler, from 19th, and Mike Lupfer from 17th completed the top ten.    

Heats for the 42 entries went to Myers, Wampler Anderson and Miller while Greg Fetters and Austin Hubbard won the B-mains.

Dillon started from the pole as Bobby Franklin grabbed second after starting fourth. By lap nine, Mike Warrenfeltz had moved into third place and finally got under Franklin on the 14th lap and set sights on Dillon, who almost gave away his lead. Dillon over shot the runway in the final turn, slipping high as Warrenfeltz was pedal down. As the two drag raced to the finish, Dillon held the advantage by about three feet with Franklin closely behind. Danny Beavers and two time winner Darrin Younker from 12th was next.

“I’m sure if I’d started any further back I wouldn’t have won tonight,” Dillon said.”Not only is it a tough class, everybody is fast. I’ve just had a lot of bad luck the beginning of the year.  Hopefully that’s the end of it.”

Jim Smith led the Enduro event after starting fifth with Larry Hurley Jr. taking second on lap seven. Smith got into a tangle with rear cars on the back stretch of lap 12 as Vegh had moved to second and he and Krazy Kenny Thomas began to close on Hurley, Vegh got past in lapped traffic on lap 28 while Thomas took the runner up spot on the final circuit.

Saturday’s event is the World of Outlaws Late Model Series sanctioned 28th Annual Conococheague 50, a race that was rained out last year and never rescheduled. The program also includes a late model sportsman open event. Check the speedway website for information or any changes in the weather at: or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.

Hagerstown Speedway Results

Shootout II, Three State Flyers Late Models, 14th Annual Richard “Boney” Bonebrake Tribute, 35 laps, 42 entries, (Lap Leaders – Billy Wampler 1-7- Jason Covert 8-35 ) 1.Jason Covert; 2.Jeremy Miller; 3.Tommy Armel; 4.D.J. Myers; 5.Jim Yoder; 6.Nick Dickson; 7.Andy Anderson; 8.Darryl Hills; 9.Gary Stuhler; 10.Mike Lupfer; 11.Austin Hubbard (Winchester Auto Dealers Exchange Hard Charger); 12.Marvin Winters; 13.Roy Deese Jr.; 14.Billy Wampler; 15.Tom Decker Sr.; 16.Steve Axtell Jr.; 17.David Williams; 18.J.T. Spence; 19.Dan Stone; 20.Rany Burkholder; 21.Les Hare; 22.Greg Fetters; 23.Denny Bonebrake; 24.Nathan Durboraw; 25.Keith Jackson; 26.Alan Sagi, DNQ –Scott Lebarron, Doug Legum, Frankie Plessinger, Ronne DeHaven Jr., Kris Eaton, Brian Booze, Charlie Hageage, Ricky Elliott, Larry Baker II, Chad McClellan, Jim Stine, Jamie Lathroum, Matt Hardy, Doug Stine, Brian Wright, DNS – Tom Decker


Ernie D’s Pure Stocks, 15 laps,  25 entries (Lap Leaders – Kenny Dillon 1-15) 1.Kenny Dillon; 2.Mike Warrenfeltz; 3.Bobby Franklin; 4.Danny Beavers; 5.Darrin Younker; 6.Hans Stamberg; 7.Steve Lowery; 8.Wayne Hawbaker; 9.Billy Ecton; 10.Dave Mikolajski; 11.Drew Fitzsimmons; 12.Charlie Pensinger; 13.Bily Ecton Jr; 14.Zach Reid; 15.Kevin Keefer; 16.Bill Reitober; 17.Dustin Proctor; 18.Kevin Koontz; 19.Kevin Dayhoff;  20.Dave Stouffer Jr.; 21.Juntin Snodderly; 22.Frank Dibella; 23.Kenny Day; DNS –  Lin Sutphin, Sherman Lynn


Enduro Dash, 30 laps, 29 entries (Lap Leaders – Jim Smith 1-11, Larry Hurley Jr. 12-27, Mark Vegh 28-30) 1.Mark Vegh; 2.Krazy Kenny Thomas; 3.Larry Hurley Jr.; 4.Danny Holmes; 5.Chris Ebersole; 6.William Crook; 7.Kenny Thomas; 8.Gary Cekovich; 9.Jim Speelman; 10.Robin Koogler; 11.Gary Proctor; 12.James Mills; 13.Bryan Green; 14.Joe Rodgers; 15.Larry McGowan; 16.Rodney Miner; 17.Bill Hargett; 18.J.T. Conrad; 19.Steve Dillon; 20.John Poole; 21.Edwin Harold Jr.; 22.Nathaniel Younker; 23.J.C. Butts; 24.Jim Smith; 25.Bary Breeden; 26.Eric Myers; 27.Dave Shatto; DNS – James Clark, Charles Stambaugh

Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results