Covert Strikes Again, Takes Hagerstown Fifth Barrett and Stamberg Also Repeat

Date: 7/13/2009 1:25:26 AM

Covert Strikes Again, Takes Hagerstown Fifth Barrett and Stamberg Also Repeat
By Doug Watson

Hagerstown, MD- After nearly a three-hour rain delay, York Haven
Pennsylvania's Jason Covert scored his fifth Hagerstown late model
feature win of the season as he took top honors in the Ernie D's  last
Saturday night. Covert collected $2500 for the win plus an additional
$325 in lap money for a cool $2825 payday.

Tyler Armstrong and Mike Lupfer brought the 24-car starting field down
to the initial waving of the green flag. Lupfer got the jump at the
start of the event as he would lead the first three circuits.
Third-starting Jack Pencil would then slide by Lupfer to take the top
spot on lap-four. Pencil appeared to have the car to beat as he lead
effortlessly through the middle portion of the race. Meanwhile, 11th
starting Jason Covert was on the move and was up to second by the 8th
lap. Covert and Pencil put on quite a crowd pleasing duel that lasted
for several laps before Covert made what would be the winning pass on

From that point on it would be a race for second as Covert dominated the
remaining 13-laps to post the win in his potent Rocket no.43A.  The car
was a little tight tonight Covert stated in his post race interview. 
Jack (Pencil) was running really good tonight and I had to get up on the
wheel to get by him.  Covert's earnings this season at Hagerstown is
nearly $18,000. It feels good to finally take some money out of this
place Covert said with a laugh.  I just have to thank all the guys on
the crew. They do all the work on the car and I'm just the lucky one who
gets to drive it.  Pencil settled for second, Mike Lupfer was third,
13th starting Roy Deese Jr. collected fourth and DJ Myers, who rebounded
from an early race spin, drove through the field to complete the
top-five. Heats for the 31-late models in attendance went to Marvin
Winters, DJ Myers and Gary Stuhler with Nathan Durboraw claiming the

In the 20-lap late model sportsman feature it was Shippensburg Pa's
Ashley Barrett taking his third feature win of the season. Ryan Walls
would grab the top spot from his pole starting position and lead the
event for the first three laps. Second starting Barrett was on Walls
back bumper over the first three laps before he made the winning pass on
lap-four. As Barrett lead, ninth-starting Andy Fries was on the move as
he reached second by the half-way point of the event. However Fries
great run would end on lap-16 as he encountered mechanical problems and
would retire from the event. Barrett would then race unchallenged to
secure the win.   I have to thank all the guy's on the crew. Barrett
stated.  The car was in pretty bad shape after last weeks race but they
got it back together and here we are.  Point leader Kyle Lear came from
10th to finish second, Glen Elliott was third, Wayne Walls Jr. collected fourth and
Jerry Bard completed the top-five. Heats for the 29-car field went to
Pete Weaver, Glen Elliott and Ryan Walls with Robbie Beall winning the

Hedgesville West Va's Hans Stamberg continued his domination of the pure
stock division as he romped to his fifth feature win of the season.
Stamberg wrestled the lead from Bobby Taylor on lap-9 and then had to
repel the advances of runner-up, and current point leader Mike
Warrenfeltz, to secure his 16th career Hagerstown pure stock feature
win.   It was a tough decision to skip last weeks event Stamberg said.
 We didn't really have any plans to race for points this season, so it
was pretty good to have the time off.  Drew Fitzsimmons placed third,
Kevin Koontz was fourth and Dave Stouffer Jr. filled the front five.
Heats for the 20 cars went to Bobby Taylor and Kevin Koontz.

Late Models 25-laps (Lap Leaders Mike Lupfer 1-3, Jack Pencil 4-12, Jason Covert 13-25)
1. Jason Covert 2. Jack Pencil 3. Mike Lupfer 4. Roy Deese Jr. 5. DJ
Myers 6. Gary Stuhler 7. Devin Friese 8. Tommy Armel 9. Keith Jackson
10. Tyler Armstrong 11. Frankie Plessinger 12. Cory Houck 13. Larry Baer
14. Brent Smith 15. Jim Yoder 16. Brian Wright 17. Austin Hubbard 18.
Tyler Hershey 19. Andy Anderson 20. Nathan Durboraw 21. Al Shawver Jr.
22. Billy Wampler 23. Marvin Winters 24. Lindsay Barton DNQ- Doug Legum,
Rusty Sites, Tim Murphy, Steve Gibney, Scott Cross, Chris Merryman, Ronnie DeHaven Jr.

Late Model Sportsman 20-laps (Lap leaders Ryan Walls 1-3, Ashley Barrett 4-20)
1. Ashley Barrett 2. Kyle Lear 3. Glen Elliott 4. Wayne Walls Jr. 5.
Jerry Bard 6. Bruce Kane 7. Richard Walls 8. Mike Walls 9. Cody Lear 10.
Nick Pappas 11. Michael Collins 12. Randy Shaeffer 13. Courtney Shriener
14. Anthony Lupini 15. Roy Hornbaker 16. Chaz Walls 17. Robbie Beall 18.
Andy Fries 19. Mike Walls 20. Pete Weaver 21. Terry Flaherty 22. Scott
Palmer 23. Justin Hart (DNS) 24 Ryan Walls (DSQ) DNQ- Leon Lloyd, Chad
Myers, Marcus Groft, DJ Groft, Elwood Sord.

Pure stocks 15-laps (Lap Leaders Bobby Taylor 1-8, Hans Stamberg 9-15)
1. Hans Stamberg 2. Mike Warrenfeltz 3. Drew Fitzsimmons 4. Kevin Koontz
5. Dave Stouffer Jr. 6. Bobby Franklin 7. Kevin Keefer 8. Bobby Taylor
9. Darin Younker 10. Wayne Hawbaker 11. Randy Kline 12. Charlie
Pennsinger 13. Tony Catlett 14. Frank Dibella 15. Billy Ecton Jr. 16.
Danny Beavers 17. Zack Reid 18. Bill Ecton 19. Dave Mikolajski 20. Steve

Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results