Date: 3/31/2013 9:53:08 AM

March 31, 2013                                  For Immediate Release

Sat, April 6 (6:30 p.m.) – Hoosier
Tire Mid Atlantic Late Model Sportsman & D & D Auto Recycling Hobby Stocks – First Points Races + Ernie D’s Pure Stocks
Sat, April 13 (7:00 p.m.) – Small Car National Qualifier (Home Rules) Late Model Sportsman, Pure Stocks, Hobby Stocks and National Speed Supply/Padula Motorsports Four Cylinder stocks

Sat, April 20 (7:00 p.m.) 32nd Annual Stanley Schetrompf Classic, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, Buchanan Auto Stores Late Models + Rush Dirt Late Model Series


Hagerstown, Md. – “What a car,” Jason Covert said upon exiting the Barry Klinedinst #43A after claiming the Buchanan Auto Stores Three State Flyer late model opening event Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway

“Thanks to the guys,” said Covert, of York Haven, PA. ”I had to work today and they took care of the car for me, so all the credit goes to them. They worked that hard so I thought I better drive that hard.”

After starting seventh in the stellar field, he battled and inched his way to the front until taking the lead from last season’s opening day winner, Gregg Satterlee.

“I sure hope the fans liked that race. From where I was sitting, it sure was fun,” Covert said.

Covert was also reminded that the triumph was his overall career 100th.

“That’s a long time for what I’ve done and where I came from,” Covert said. “It’s kind of humbling. When I first started, I didn’t know if I’d ever get one and then I got one and it was four or five years until I got another one.”

In time trials for the 44 entries, Jerry Bard toured the track in 18.916 seconds and it held on for a long time until Rick Eckert knocked him off the top with a lap of 18.893. The top two from each of the four heats drew for starting position and Keith Jackson who finished second in the fourth heat, was on the pole with Satterlee alongside.

Jackson powered to the front quickly followed by Satterlee, Trevor Feathers, Kenny Pettyjohn and Covert by completion of the opening lap. J.T. Spence, fifth quick and eighth starter, had the first mechanical issue when he coasted to a stop on the third lap.

Following a lap eight red flag when Gary Stuhler stopped on the front stretch with a fire under the hood, Jackson continued to fend off Satterlee and Pettyjohn while Jamie Lathroum battled with Covert and behind them, Eckert and Nick Dickson.

Jackson held his own until a 13th lap restart when Satterlee charged around the top of turn two to surge ahead while Pettyjohn tried his luck on the inside to charge into second as Jackson later coasted to a stop on the 16th.

Covert got past Pettyjohn on the restart to take second and then began working Satterlee over while Eckert advanced into the third position on the 22nd lap.

The green remained out as Covert powered past Satterlee on the 26th and ducked between two cars entering the first turn to make up some distance. Covert was getting where he needed and by the checkered, had two lapped cars and 1.584 seconds back to Satterlee.

“The yellows were hurting us,” Covert said. “We needed to get on a longer run. I was getting pinned on the restarts. Once I got clear I could start running the line I wanted. After that, our American Racer tires showed what they’ll do.”

Eckert held to third over Dickson and Dan Stone. Pettyjohn went on to finish sixth over Lathroum, Feathers, Mark Pettyjohn, who was Friday’s winner at Winchester and Kenny Moreland.

Eckert, K. Pettyjohn, Satterlee and Dickson were the heat winners while Rusty Sites and Gary Stuhler won the B mains.  Scott LeBarron started 26th and advanced to 15th to collect the $100 Round Hill (VA) Auto Hard Charger award.

Nininger’s Tire and Auto will be sponsoring a point fund for the Three State Flyer events as Covert is the early leader in the series. 

In the Ernie D’s pure stocks, it was Frederick’s Kevin Boyer who was in the thick of things until the end to pull off a two length win over defending champion, Tony Catlett.

Starting fifth, Boyer battled two and three wide until he got to second by the fifth lap and then took the lead from Keith Koontz the next circuit. Once out front, Catlett and Steve Kent continued pestering him lap after lap but he held steady to gain momentum off the final turn and spurt to the opening night win.  Kent was third with Danny Beavers and Drew Fitzsimmons next. Beavers advanced from 12th to earn the Bill Ecton & Son Repair Hard Charger award. Kent and Boyer were the heat winners. 

The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can be found on the speedway’s website: Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook. Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.


Three State Flyers - Buchanan Auto Stores Late Model Championship Series, 35 Laps, 44 entries, (Lap Leaders Keith Jackson 1-13, Gregg Satterlee 14-25, Jason Covert 26-35): 1.Jason Covert, 2.Gregg Satterlee, 3.Rick Eckert, 4.Nick Dickson, 5.Dan Stone, 6.Kenny Pettyjohn, 7.Jamie Lathroum, 8.Trevor Feathers, 9.Mark Pettyjohn, 10.Kenny Moreland, 11.Marvin Winters, 12.David Williams, 13.Roy Deese Jr., 14.Glenn Elliott, 15.Scott LeBarron (Round Hill Auto Hard Charger), 16.Lindsay Barton, 17.Brian Tavenner, 18.Matt Parks, 19.Keith Jackson, 20.Devin Friese, 21.Dale Hollidge, 22.Jerry Bard, 23.C.S. Fitzgerald, 24.Rusty Sites, 25.Gary Stuhler, 26. J.T. Spence

DNQ – Brian Booze, Pancho Lawler, Justin Kann, Andy Fries, Tyler Hershey, Rick Hulson, Chaz Walls, Dominic Defino, Andy Haus, Keith Barbara, Frankie Plessinger, Brad Omps, Tyler Castle, Duane Harbaugh, Dan Swartzlander, DNS – Corey Weaver          

Ernie D’s Pure Stocks, 15 Laps, 17 entries, (Lap Leaders – Keith Koontz 1-5, Kevin Boyer 3-15) 1.Kevin Boyer, 2.Tony Catlett, 3.Steve Kent, 4.Danny Beavers (Ecton & Son Repair Hard Charger), 5.Drew Fitzsimmons, 6.Rick Stouffer, 7.Charlie Pensinger, 8.Frank Dibella, 9.Michael Warrenfeltz, 10.Nick Dibella, 11.Keith Koontz, 12.Denny Day, 13.Darrin Younker, 14.Bruce Leibowitz, 15.Kevin Koontz, 16.Steve Lowery, 17.Kenny Dillon

Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results