Date: 4/14/2013 9:25:34 AM

April 14, 2013                                  For Immediate Release

Sat, April 20 (7:00 p.m.) 32nd Annual Stanley Schetrompf Classic, Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, Buchanan Auto Stores Late Models + Rush Dirt Late Model Series
Sat., April 27 (7:00 p.m.) Steel Block Bandits Late Model Sportsman + Pure Stocks and Hobby Stocks
Sat, May 4 (7:00 p.m.) Fire / Rescue Appreciation / ARCH Fan Night – Hoosier Tire/Mid Atlantic Late Model Sportsman, Ernie D’s Pure Stocks, D & D Auto Recycling Hobby Stocks, + National Speed Supply/Padula Motorsports Four Cylinder Special w/Time Trials



Hagerstown, Md. – In case of troubles, four drivers already locked in a guaranteed starting position for Hagerstown Speedway’s Small Car Nationals in September and included Andy Anderson, Steve Kent, Dustin Proctor and Ryan Laye.

Anderson of Winchester, Va. was successful in holding down the top spot in the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic late model sportsman feature, his first to victory lane since a late model triumph in June 2009.

“Of all the years I’ve been coming over to this track, 30 some years and last year was the first I never came over to this track at all,” Anderson said. “JT (Spence) was driving this thing and he was winning races with it. He got a late model ride and they called me. I’m just glad I got to drive it and come over and race again.”

Frederick, Md’s Kent led all the way in the Ernie D’s Pure stock feature for his first ever victory at the speedway. Proctor, of Martinsburg, WV secured the hobby stock win and Ryan Laye of Ft. Loudon, Pa led from start to finish for the National Speed Supply/Padula Motorsports four cylinder victory.   

In the late model sportsman feature, the field was inverted nine spots and Andy Fries jumped out to the early lead but Anderson was charging around the outside of Rick Hulson  and Dominic Defino into second on the opening lap and continued past Fries to lead the second circuit with Charlie Schaffer next.

Following a third lap restart, Frankie Plessinger advanced from fifth to third while tenth starting Justin Weaver was up to fifth.

Weaver got past Plessinger and Schaffer after a seventh lap restart and continued to chase Fries while Anderson was cruising out front, but an opportunity presented itself on the 13th lap when the yellow waved.

Weaver quickly took advantage and sped around Fries and tried his luck on Anderson to no avail as he began pulling away and stretched his lead to 1.9789 seconds over Weaver at the checkered.

“Actually I never saw anyone,” Anderson said. “I looked at the score board and knew who was second. Nathan (Durboraw) was giving me signals but I run the first lap as hard as I do the last lap.”

Following Weaver was Fries, seventh starting Mike Walls who passed Plessinger on the final lap for fourth with Plessinger ending fifth. Schaffer was next in sixth with Defino, Hulson, Robbie Black and Liberty Auto and Tire Hard charger Kyle Lear who came from 22nd 

Heats for the 29 entries were won by Courtney Shreiner, Paul Cursey and Scott Palmer while Wayne Walls Jr. was the consolation winner.

Kent started from the pole in the pure stock six car inversion and quickly took charge wile Jerry Fifield took up the chase from the first five laps before a mechanical issue sent him to the pits on the fifth lap.

Kent then had Kevin Boyer on his bumper while Brian Duffy was on the way from 22nd and up to third by the eighth lap and then snatching the runner up spot from Boyer on the 12th. Kent had an over 1.5 second lead and kept it wound up as Duffy chopped it down to .865 seconds at the checkered. Boyer was next with Jamie Swank and Kevin Koontz completing the top five.

Kevin and Keith Koontz were heat winners for the 24 entries as was Fifield.

Krazy Kenny Thomas sat on the pole of the hobby stock event and a six car invert to take the lead over D. Proctor and Gary Proctor. Following a sixth lap restart, D. Proctor took his challenge to the outside of Thomas while G. Proctor tried his luck but settled into third. Proctor continued to lead the rest of the way and led Thomas to the line by two lengths while G. Proctor was another two lengths back. Danny Holmes and Kenny Thomas were next. Thomas, G. Proctor and Gary Calimer were the heat winners.

Laye, the winner of last years four cylinder Nationals Qualifier was up to the challenge again and sat on the outside pole in the heads up start. Following a challenge with Kevin Thomas for the first three laps before Thomas pulled to the pits, Scott McCartney moved in to second but Laye continued to lead the remaining laps under green and grabbed the checkered by 2.34 seconds over McCartney and Justin Stover. John Stoll and Gary Newell were next. Newell was the J&S Salvage hard charger and came from tenth. 

The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can be found on the speedway’s website: Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook. Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.





Hoosier Tire-Mid Atlantic Late Model Sportsman, 20 Laps, 29   Entries (Lap Leaders Andy Fries 1, Andy Anderson 2-20) 1.Andy Anderson, 2.Justin Weaver, 3.Andy Fries, 4.Mike Walls, 5.Frankie Plessinger, 6.Charlie Schaffer, 7.Dominic Defino, 8.Rick Hulson, 9.Robbie Black, 10.Kyle Lear (Liberty Auto and Tire Hard Charger), 11.Wayne Walls Jr., 12.Ryan Walls, 13.Courtney Shreiner, 14.Will Rowe, 15.Chris Eaton, 16.George Dickson Jr., 17.Paul Cursey, 18.Kyle Lee, 19.Khi Swagger, 20.Fred Harden, 21.Scott Palmer, 22.Troy Swindell, 23.Terry Flaherty, 24.Sean Dawson DNQ – Dave Friedrich, Elwood Sord, Bruce Kane, Chad Myers DNS – Billy Farmer

Ernie D’s Pure Stocks, 15 Laps, 24 Entries, (Lap Leaders – Steve Kent 1-15) 1.Steve Kent, 2.Brian Duffy (Ecton and Son Hard Charger), 3.Kevin Boyer, 4.Jamie Swank, 5.Kevin Koontz, 6.Drew Fitzsimmons, 7.Kenny Dillon, 8.Tony Catlett, 9.Charlie Pensinger, 10.Keith Koontz, 11.Ken Drawbaugh, 12.Frank Dibella, 13.DarrinYounker, 14.Barry Williams, 15.Nick Dibella, 16.Kenny Day, 17.Brian Swiger, 18.Bruce Leibowitz, 19.Jerry Fifield, 20.Danny Beavers, 21.Dave Stouffer, 22.Brian Kerns, DNS-James Mongan, Michael Warrenfeltz

D&D Auto Recycling Hobby Stocks - 15 laps, 20 Entries, (Lap Leaders – Krazy Kenny Thomas 1-6. Dustin Proctor 7-15) 1.Dustin Proctor, 2.Krazy Kenny Thomas, 3.Gary Proctor, 4..Danny Holmes, (Kline Auto Body & Towing Lucky Seven), 5.Kenny Thomas, 6.Craig Imes, 7.Michael Hyatt, 8.Gary Calimer, 9.Jamie Mills, 10.William Crook, 11.Joe Rodgers, 12.Gary Cekovich, 13.Gary Moreland, 14.Rick Turner, 15.Gary Moreland, 16.Ralph Hansberger, 17.Tom Caravello, 18.Dylan Welsh DNS – Dan Furman, Dave Shatto

National Speed Supply/Padula Motorsports Four Cylinders--15 Laps, 13 Entries, (Lap Leaders Ryan Laye 1-15) 1.Ryan Laye, 2.Scott McCartney, 3.Austin Stover, 4.John Stoll, 5.Gary Newell (J&S Salvage Inc, Hard Charger), 6.Bryan Neff, 7.Rich Newcomer, 8.Ryan Gordon, 9.Matt Williamson, 10.Kevin Thomas, 11.Jeff Rippeon, 12.Kurt Knepper, DNS – Cody Kershner

Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results