Date: 8/18/2013 10:57:19 AM

August 18, 2013                                       For Immediate Release

Sat, August 24, (7:00 p.m.) Small Car National Qualifier (Hagerstown Rules) Late Model Sportsman and Hobby Stock Final Points, Championship Celebration, Pre Race Picnic + Pure Stocks and 4 Cylinder Open

Friday, August 30 (7:30 p.m.) 28th Annual McBee Hays Championship Three State Flyers 44-Lap Late Model + Pure Stock Final Points, Championship Celebration, Pre Race Picnic    

Sat, August 31 (7:00 p.m.) Run WHAT You Brung, All Classes, $1,000 to win Late Model Sportsman (No Aluminum Block/Heads); $500 to win Pure Stock, Hobby Stock and Four Cylinder (Two Barrel Carburetor only for the three stock classes)



HAGERSTOWN, MD – With his last win coming in 1998 in a quarter-midget, Chad Myers got out front in Hagerstown Speedway’s Rhodes Computer Services feature for the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic late model sportsman just before the halfway mark. Looking at the big picture and recalling what happened the last time he was leading and taken out by a rear car, he went through traffic unscathed during the final six laps and saw his first checkered flag by 1.086 seconds over five time winner Andy Anderson. 

“It’s always hard to get the first one,” Myers, of Hampstead, MD said. “Hopefully we can get another one real soon.”

Last year, Berkley Springs, WV’s Darrin Younker didn’t start the Cornett Tribute event for the Ernie D’s pure stocks, but now in his 25th race season, he was victorious in the 18th Annual event that honors the former car owner, engine builder and all around race supporter. After winning his D & D Auto Recycling hobby stock career first several weeks ago, Baltimore’s Tom Caravello posted his second win in the Kline’s Auto Body and Towing feature. .

The late model sportsman feature had two early red flags, on the opening lap when Ray Cicarelli collected the third turn fence and on the second lap when several cars got together in turn one and blocked the track with Elwood Sord having no place to go and contacting Wayne Walls Jr. and Kyle Lear with the others able to pull away. 

Billy Farmer pulled out to lead Tyler Horst from the pole in the late model sportsman feature while third starting Myers moved to third on the lap two and into the runner up spot three laps later.

Myers got around Farmer to lead the ninth lap while Andy Anderson had moved in from the 12th position to take second the next circuit and 10th starter, Justin Weaver was into fourth.

Myers was past his first rear car by the 15th lap while still holding more than a second advantage on Anderson. Weaver took third spot with three to go but needed a caution to tighten the field as Myers and Anderson had checked out.

Myers continued steadfast the final laps and exited the final turns to see the long overdue checkered by 1.086 seconds over Anderson who received the Liberty Auto and Tire hard charger award.  

“I saw Andy on the scoreboard but it was too much of a blur,” Myers said. “This is a brand new car; everything is completely brand new so it paid off. Thanks to Huey, Mom and Dad. I don’t have any crew. I don’t have any sponsors; we do this out of our own pocket.”

Weaver was third with Farmer and James Lichliter finishing fifth. Horst held to sixth over Paul Cursey, Dominic Defino, Rick Hulson and Frankie Plessinger. Heat winners were Ronnie Dennis, Myers and Kyle Lee who qualified but found problems afterward. John Baker was the consy winner.

After time trials and qualifying heats for the Cornett Tribute, Darrin Younker was on the outside pole with Tony Stoneberger on the point as Younker sped topside to take the lead as Stoneberger closed in and the pair raced side by side on the fourth lap and poised to grab the lead on the backstretch when the clutch broke for the third time in this race, the previous times after having the lead. 

Younker then had Charlie Pensinger on his tail for the restart with Tony Catlett, Drew Fitzsimmons and four time race winner Kenny Dillon from 12th trailing. Catlett spun on a 10th lap restart and restarted on the tail.

Kevin Boyer was up from 18th and battled with Dillon until taking the spot on lap 15 just prior to having mechanical issues, spinning and collecting Dillon and defending winner Chris Ebersole in the fourth turn.

Younker continued as Pensinger suddenly dropped out with Brian Miller taking the runner up spot with two to go and finishing there for the second consecutive year, this time 1.167 seconds back. 

“I came close to winning this race two years ago and lost by .45 second,” Younker said. “That was a nail biter. I knew Charlie was back there. I could hear him and felt him a couple times. I didn’t want to make any mistakes.”

Catlett, who earlier had set fast time, was next but failed post-race inspection which moved Fitzsimmons to third with Wayne Hawbaker and Nick Dibella next. Heat winners were Dillon and Catlett.

The hobby stocks were under the green flag until the 13th lap with Tom Caravello speeding past Justin Hansberger after three laps and taking command. Kenny Thomas moved into the runner up spot on lap nine and following the restart, had Gary Proctor take the spot for the final two laps. Caravello won by 1.476 seconds. Rodgers came to the line alongside Thomas to get third with James Mills ending fifth.

The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can be on the speedway’s website: Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook. Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.



Hagerstown Speedway Results

Back to School Small Fry Night


Rhodes Computer Services Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Late Model Sportsman, 20 Laps, 27 Entries (Lap Leaders: Billy Farmer 1-9, Chad Myers 10-20) – 1.Chad Myers, 2.Andy Anderson (Liberty Tire and Auto Hard Charger), 3.JustinWeaver, 4.Billy Farmer, 5.James Lichliter, 6.Tyler Horst, 7.Paul Cursey, 8.Dominic Defino, 9.Rick Hulson, 10.Frankie Plessinger, 11.Ronnie Dennis, 12.Scott Palmer, 13.John Baker, 14.Michael Walls, 15.Courtney Shreiner, 16.Jason Smith, 17.Larry Baker, 18.Terry Flaherty, 19.Will Rowe, 20.Kyle Lear, 21.Wayne Walls Jr., 22.Elwood Sord, 23.Ray Cicarelli, DNS – Kyle Lee, DNQ - Kevin Palmer, DNS – John Welch, Cole Amsden 


18th Annual Cornett Tribute: Ernie D’s Pure Stock Special: 20 Laps,

21 Entries, (Lap Leaders: Darrin Younker 1-20) -- 1.Darrin Younker, 2.Brian Miller (Bill Ecton and Son Hard Charger), 3.Drew Fitzsimmons, 4.Wayne Hawbaker, 5.Nick Dibella, 6.Frank Dibella, 7.Chris Ebersole, 8.Bruce Leibowitz, 9.Kenny Day, 10.Jason Leibowitz, 11.Charlie Pensinger, 12.Kevin Boyer, 13.Kenny Dillon, 14.Lynn Sutphin, 15.Mike Warrenfeltz, 16.Rick Stouffer, 17.Lane Hessong, 18.Tony Stoneberger, DNQ-Tony Catlett, DNS – Steve Lowery, Dave Stouffer


Kline’s Auto Body and Towing D & D Auto Recycling Hobby Stocks, 15 Laps, 13 Entries, Lap Leader: Justin Hansberger 1-3, Tom Caravello 4-15) -- 1.Tom Caravello, 2.Gary Proctor, 3.Joe Rodgers, 4.Kenny Thomas, 5.James Mills, 6.Justin Hansberger, 7.Dylan Welsh (Kline’s Auto Body and Towing Lucky Seven), 8.Jason Sarver, 9.Joe Daywalt, 10.William Crook, 11.Rodney Minor, 12.Charles Stambaugh, 13.Brian Neff

Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results