Date: 8/25/2013 2:26:46 AM

August 25, 2013                                       For Immediate Release


Friday, August 30 (7:30 p.m.) 28th Annual McBee Hays Championship Three State Flyers 44-Lap Late Model + Pure Stock Final Points, Championship Celebration, Pre Race Picnic    


Sat, August 31 (7:00 p.m.) Run WHAT You Brung, All Classes, $1,000 to win Late Model Sportsman (No Aluminum Block/Heads); $500 to win Pure Stock, Hobby Stock and Four Cylinder (Two Barrel Carburetor only for the three stock classes)


Friday, Sept 13 (7:00 p.m.) Ledo Pizza 7th Annual Small Car National Qualifying, Late Model Sportsman, Pure Stock, Hobby Stock, Four Cylinder Stocks 


Saturday, Sept 14 (7:00 p.m.) 7th Annual Small Car Nationals + 27th Annual Tommy Thompson Demo Derby






HAGERSTOWN, MD – For the second consecutive week, a driver was in victory lane for the very first time at Hagerstown Speedway and this time it was Billy Farmer of Odenton, MD. Farmer led all the way in the Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic late model sportsman Small Car National Qualifier feature which guaranteed him a starting spot in the upcoming 7th Annual Small Car Nationals.

“I was just glad to win,” Farmer said. “I’ve been sick all day.”

Other drivers locking up guaranteed starting positions were Kevin Boyer of Harpers Ferry, WV in the Ernie D’s pure stocks, Gary Proctor of Big Pool, MD in the D&D Auto Recycling won for the sixth time and in the National Speed Supply/Dave Padula Motorsports four cylinders, Cody Kershner of Hagerstown took his third checkered. For their wins, each driver also received a two night’s stay at the Hagerstown Ramada. 

The night also determined three first time champions with second generation driver Justin Weaver earning the title in the late model sportsman while Proctor was the hobby stock champion. Ryan Laye of Ft. Loudon, PA earned the four cylinder title. Three feature events were caution free with a single yellow in the hobby stocks for a spin.  

Farmer started from the pole as he quickly jumped in front of Kyle Lee and fifth starter Ronnie Dennis while eighth starter Scott Palmer was into fourth by lap four.

At the halfway mark, Farmer held a 1.75 second advantage on Lee with Palmer taking third from Dennis. Two laps later, Palmer advanced past Lee for the runner up spot

The laps ticked off caution free as Farmer continued to hold a comfortable advantage on Palmer while by the 15th lap, point leader Justin Weaver who had started 15th, passed Dennis for fourth and began closing on Lee.

Farmer opened up his lead to 2.04 seconds by the ending 20th lap with Palmer holding to second while Weaver, (the Liberty Auto and Tire Hard Charger) took third from Lee on the final lap. Dennis ended fifth.

“I haven’t raced late models in 15 years,” Farmer said. “I was racing pro mods.  Rick Hulson got me back in it somehow or another. If it wasn’t for him, I wouldn’t be here and I definitely wouldn’t have won. He does all the set ups. We help each other a lot.”

Tyler Horst was sixth with Hulson, James Lichliter, Frankie Plessinger and Dominic Defino completing the top ten. Lee, Mike Walls and Terry Flaherty were the heat winners with John Baker taking the consy. 

Dave Stouffer Jr. pulled to the pure stock lead while Kevin Boyer maneuvered through traffic and take the runner up spot from Chris Ebersole on the fourth lap. Boyer began to chip away at Stouffer’s lead and he drove under to grab the top spot on lap eleven while Ebersole battled with Stouffer to take the runner up spot on the final lap with Boyer only taking the win by .677 seconds.  Previous week’s winner Darrin Younker was fourth and Mike Warrenfeltz ended fifth. Boyer was the Bill Ecton and Son hard charger. Stouffer and Bruce Leibowitz were the heat winners.  

In the hobby stock feature, Gary Proctor charged from ninth to take over the lead by the second lap as fifth starter Dylan Welsh settled into second. Proctor continued to distance himself from the field and had a 5.486 second advantage on Welsh at the checkered. Joe Rogers, Mark Vegh and Kenny

Thomas was next. Tom Caravello and Proctor were the heat winners.

Scott McCarty led the four cylinders from the outside pole with fourth starting Cody Kershner using the low line to drive past on lap three. Kershner stretched his lead to more than a second by the halfway mark and later sped past the checkered with a 2.03 second win over McCarty. Richard Gwizdale (who was the J&S Salvage hard charger) came from 12th to take third from Tommy Whitt on the 12th lap but didn’t get close enough to challenge for the runner up spot. John Stoll Jr. ended fifth. Gwizdale and Kershner were the heat winners.

The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can be on the speedway’s website: Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook. Also check the website for any changes in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.



Hagerstown Speedway Results


Hoosier Tire Mid Atlantic Late Model Sportsman, 20 Laps, 25 Entries (Lap Leaders: Billy Farmer 1-25) – 1Billy Farmer, 2.Scott Palmer 3.JustinWeaver (Liberty Tire and Auto Hard Charger), 4.Kyle Lee, 5.Ronnie Dennis, 6.Tyler Horst, 7.Rick Hulson, 8.James Lichliter, 9.Frankie Plessinger, 10.Dominic Defino, 11.Paul Cursey, 12.Chad Myers, 13.Mike Walls, 14.John Baker, 15.Matt Murphy, 16.Chaz Walls, 17.Wayne Walls Jr., 18.Courtney Shreiner, 19.Larry Baker, 20.Denny Bonebrake, 21.Ray Ciccarelli, 22.Terry Flaherty, 23.Tim Shelton, 24.Elwood Sord, DNS-Jim Andrews


Ernie D’s Pure Stock Special: 20 Laps, 13 Entries, (Lap Leaders: Dave Stouffer Jr. 1-10, Kevin Boyer 11-15) -- 1.Kevin Boyer (Bill Ecton and Son Hard Charger), 2.Chris Ebersole, 3.Dave Stouffer Jr., 4.Darrin Younker, 5.Mike Warrenfeltz, 6.Rick Stouffer, 7.Charlie Pensinger, 8.Drew Fitzsimmons, 9.Nick Dibella, 10.Bruce Leibowitz, 11.Frank Dibella, 12.Jason Leibowitz


D & D Auto Recycling Hobby Stocks, 15 Laps, 12 Entries, Lap Leader: William Crook 1, Gary Proctor 2-15) -- 1.Gary Proctor, 2.Dylan Welsh, 3.Joe Rodgers, 4.Mark Vegh, 5.Kenny Thomas (Kline’s Auto Body and Towing Lucky Seven), 6.James Mills, 7.Justin Hansberger, 8.John Catlett, 9.Tom Caravello, 10.Rodney Minor, 11.William Crook, 12 Joe Daywalt


National Speed Supply/Dave Padula Motorsports Four Cylinders, 15 Laps, 12 Entries, (Lap Leader: Scott McCarty 1-2, Cody Kershner 3-15) 1.Cody Kershner, 2.Scott McCarty, 3.Richard Gwizdale (J&S Salvage Inc. Hard Charger) 4.Tommy Whitt, 5.John Stoll Jr., 6.Ryan Laye, 7.Kevin Thomas, 8.Gary Newell, 9.Matt Williamson, 10.Austin Stover, 11.Michael Potts, 12.Bryan Neff


Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results