Date: 9/14/2013 12:39:17 PM

September 15, 2013                     For Immediate Release



Sunday, Sept 29 (2:00 p.m.) – Buchanan Auto Stores Brawl in the Fall, limited warm-up time at 2:00 p.m. followed by big block modifieds and 358 sprint last chance qualifiers. Features will then proceed with Late Models (50 laps), 410 Sprints (30 laps), Big Blocks (50 laps) and 358 Sprints (30 Laps).





HAGERSTOWN, MD – Qualifying for the Ledo Pizza 7th Annual Small Car Nationals was completed Friday evening at Hagerstown Speedway with the program being completed this evening.  A Dash is needed for the top finishers to set the front rows in both the late model sportsman and pure stock features while the top six will redraw for the front three rows of the four cylinder feature.    

Overall, Paul Cursey was the quickest in time trials for the late model sportsman with a 19.639 second lap while Mike Desch turned the fast time of 22.728 seconds for the pure stocks.

The top two from the three late model sportsman heats; Cursey, Chad Myers, Chaz Walls, Justin Weaver, Andy Anderson and Mike Walls drew for the Dash line up with the remainder of the line up in order: 7.Denny Bonebrake, 8.Rodney Walls, 9.Rick Hulson, 10.Scott Palmer, 11.Billy Farmer, 12.Travis Stickley, 13.Jonathan DeHaven, 14.Wes Bonebrake, 15.John Baker, 16.Will Rowe, 17.Cole Amsden, 18. Curtis Heath, 19.Ray Cicarelli, 20.Dave Friedrich, 21.Keith Walls, 22.Billy Beachler, 23.Elwood Sord.

Charlie Pensinger, Mike Franklin, Kevin Boyer, Mike Desch, Greg Diehl, Craig Parrill, Eric Johnson, Bill Henney, Terry Staton, Mike Corbin, Dave Keiser and Brian Kerns will compete in a 12 lap pure stock Dash and added to the front six rows. The remainder of the field is: 13.Joshn Gustaf, 14.Brian Luttrell, 15.Steve Lowery, 16.Joshn Williams, 17.Chris Ebersole, 18.Doug Bennett, 19.Dicke Tharp, 20.Stephen Quade, 21.Steve Kent Jr., 22.Dennis Collins, 23.Jamie Swank, 24.Mike Warrenfeltz. Two more will qualify from each pure stock consolation. 

The hobby stock line up is: 1.Tom Caravello, 2.Rodney Minor, 3.Dylan Welsh, 4.William Crook, 5.Billy Ecton Sr., 6.Gary Proctor, 7.Jason Sarver, 8.Kenny Thomas, 9.Bryan Neff, 10.Danny Holmes, 11.Jamie Mills

Richard Gwizdale, Frankie Gordon, Kevin Thomas, Cody Kershner, Mike Potts and John Stoll Jr will redraw for the front six positions in the four cylinder feature with the remainder of the field set in positions 7.Ryan Laye, 8.Tommy Whitt, 9.Scott McCartney, 10.Frank Gordon, 11.Gary Dehart, 12.Sonny Williamson, 13.Tracy Linn, 14.Allen Witt Jr., 15.Ronnie Buck, 16.Stacy Crider, 17.Austin Stover, 18.Shawn Patterson, 19.Jason Stoner, 20.William Kessler, 21.Joe Hawbaker, 22.Jeff Rippeon. 

The drivers with guaranteed starting positions won in two Nationals Qualifier events have qualified for the fields and included Andy Anderson and Billy Farmer (Late Model Sportsman), Steve Kent and Kevin Boyer(Pure Stock), Gary Proctor (Hobby Stock) and Ryan Laye and Cody Kershner ( Four cylinders). 

Added to the program was the Advanced Auto Parts Mechanic’s Race Benefit timed event with the proceeds going to Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. Chris Brezler was the pure stock winner with a time of 25.699 and Dave Norris in the hobby stock with 27.263 seconds.

The Nationals event starts at 7 p.m. this evening beginning with the consolations and followed by the features; 30 laps for late model sportsman, 25 for pure stocks, 20 for the hobby stocks and 15 for four cylinders. $2,000 goes to the sportsman, pure stock and four cylinder winners and $500 to the hobby stock cruiser winner. The nights racing will conclude with the 27th Annual Tommy Thompson Demo Derby.

Follow the speedway on Twitter and Facebook. The latest news, results, photos, schedule or rule changes can found be on the speedway’s website:  Also check website for any changes in in weather conditions that may delay or cancel the program or contact the speedway office at 301-582-0640.

Return-to-Hagerstown Speedway News and Results